We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been There Done That Will Be Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Been There Done That Will Be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Keep coming back to this place. The staff is great, the location perfect, rooms are clean and cozy with fireplace, great breakfast and win happy hour, what more can be said. This place one of the better values in San Francisco. The only problem, and not the fault of the hotel, was that three ladies staying there used the breakfast as an "all you can eat" venue. The staff did their best to keep up with their growing appetites by cutting more fruit, bringing out more pastries, and baking more quiches. We have suggested this hotel to many and they too have been very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    242
    58
    18
    4
See reviews for
125
499
38
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chennI
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated very near Union Square the Inn provided a very different and delightful experience. We reached early and were obliged by being a room in the Petite Auberge next door which is a paler version of the WSI. We were shifted to a room on the ground floor the next day. I just loved everything about the place. The décor, dated and charming, the wine and snacks provided in the lounge in the evenings and the courteous staff, all add to the Inn being special.
The rooms are of good size, the bedding very comfortable, bath was a good size with very good toiletries.
Just loved this small boutique hotel and it was a wonderful experience staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L, General Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear vidhusagar,

It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our charming oasis in the heart of the city! Thank you very much for your positive comments. I have an incredible staff and we pride ourselves on offering very special and personalized service that only a boutique hotel of our size can provide. I have also taken your “Room Tip” to heart and have ensured that you will be placed in room away from the road for any future stays. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to enjoy our fireside wine hour again soon!

Warmest regards,

Rebecca Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The White swan is a charming place with a thick English Flavour. Location wise its about 5 minutes walk to Union square. There are plenty of restaurants and convenience stores around and it’s a very comfortable location. This boutique hotel is small, efficient, friendly and warm. The rooms are large and come with a fire place. The staffs are friendly, helpful and do their best to keep you happy.

Cakes, cookies and other goodies are always in the lobby for the guests. Wifi is free. I particularly loved the lounge at the basement. It was a cosy place to hang out in the evenings and it did not feel like a hotel at all.

The reason why I pick smaller boutique type hotels instead of large hotel chains is for their warmth, and personal attention to guests. The White Swan scores big time on those grounds.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing rooms. Street noise can be sleep wrecker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L, General Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sagar S,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan Inn and were able to fully explore San Francisco from its prime location. It is such a pleasure to know that you felt at home, especially when enjoying our tasty treats in the lounge. Please rest assured that I have added a note to your profile requesting a room away from the road, for any future visits. Thank you again for your valued feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Rebecca Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a delightful place to stay on our first trip to San Francisco in May 2013. With so many hotels to choose from in the city, we're so happy to have found this gem. From the the helpful folks at the front desk (especially Alexander), to the comfortable room, it almost makes you want to stay in your cozy room, even with all of SF to explore.

Pros:
* Great breakfast including fresh fruit, an egg dish, meat dish, pastries, homemeade bread, juices, hard boiled eggs, and even a crock pot full of hearty oatmeal.
* Very comfortable room. (I was concerned looking at the online photos of all the pillows and ruffles that it could be dusty, but not so. Very clean.) Comfy four-poster bed, *good* pillows (and plenty of them). After a day exploring the city, to come back and take a shower (good water pressure despite the probable age of the building), put on a bathrobe (which we never do) and cuddle up near the fireplace, simple luxury indeed. (Especially the day my fiancé proposed, out of the blue!) :)
* A jar of fresh-baked cookies in the lobby--a different flavor every night--was like coming home, not back to a hotel.
* Not much noise. We were in room 33, facing the inner courtyard and were able to sleep comfortably with the window open. You knew you weren't in the countryside, but the city noise didn't disturb our sleep.
* Great bath products by Lather Apothecary, especially the lavender lime moisturizer (the scent brings me right back).
* Parking is not easy or inexpensive in the city, but the valet service was worth the expense. The car appeared when requested.
* Discrete mini fridge, restocked daily with bottled water and soft drinks at NO extra charge.
* Centrally located, just two blocks from a cable car stop.

Cons:
None!

We would highly recommend the White Swan Inn, and look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuba City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The online photos and reviews of the White Swan Inn were good, but our experience exceeded our expectation.

The decor is very nice, the rooms are all slightly different and charming. The rooms have a mix of interesting and antique furniture along with a Flat Screen TV, classic books are part of the decor. The instant gas fireplace adds so much to evening relaxation. The staff are all very friendly and treated us as family. With only a small number of rooms, the staff know who we are and are very attentive.

There are Deluxe and Luxury rooms. Deluxe are nice, Luxury are just a little more-so.

There are porches and garden area to access for relaxation or social gathering, and a "meeting room" for perhaps a private group conference.

Each morning is greeted with a gourmet breakfast buffet downstairs, prepared by an expert kitchen staff. Each evening there are bottles of fine California wines and delicious treats and the offerings are different each evening.

The background music is always gentle classical, the feeling is comfortable, a cookie jar in the lobby, everything is provided free of any extra charges ...what else can I say?

Within walking distance is about every flavor and type of restaurant. Close to
Union Square. Catch the old SF trolley a block and a half away to Fisherman's Wharf or elsewhere.

This is our personal best hotel stay, anywhere.

Parking a car in San Francisco is expensive, but the hotel has no control over that. They do provide valet parking. Your car disappears and reappears when you want it. In and out throughout the day does not cost any extra.

Room Tip: The ground floor is more convenient, but the ancient elevator is quite an entertaining experience to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff here is really great. They are always ready to help. The people at the front desk always had great suggestions from renting an electric bike for going across the Golden Gate bridge or nightlife that was just what we were looking for that really improved our trip. We had a very early flight in on Friday. We went there expecting to just drop our bags off. They welcomed us in to come have breakfast and by the time we were done, they had our room ready. The food was good. We enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour. My husband gets up much earlier than I. It was nice he could get up and go downstairs to one of the living rooms to read and have a cup of coffee while he was waiting for me to get up. Downsides were that our bed and pillows were not very comfortable and that there was floral wallpaper on every inch of the walls, floral chairs, floral bedspreads, floral... everything. It was a bit much. Overall, a great place that works very hard to provide great service.

Room Tip: The fireplace was nice and worth the small added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend & I stayed there for two days, in general we were satisfied, except that the b/f could be more... rich & healthier.
Positive
- price policy;
- location;
- spacious room;
- great staff;
- free and strong wifi coverage;
- fireplace;
- coffee machine
Negative:
- no tea bags & kettler (we dont drink coffee at all, thougth you can make your tea in the b/f room any time);
- noisy (at least if your room looking out the street);
- no room service;
- old fashioned keys, - very incovenient to use (we could not manage the lock couple of times - had to call for help);
- steps leading to the building's entrance - which makes it hard to drag the luggage;

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.