We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like it ...as good as it gets.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Fall Rates!!!
Ranked #7 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Tuba City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing like it ...as good as it gets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The online photos and reviews of the White Swan Inn were good, but our experience exceeded our expectation.

The decor is very nice, the rooms are all slightly different and charming. The rooms have a mix of interesting and antique furniture along with a Flat Screen TV, classic books are part of the decor. The instant gas fireplace adds so much to evening relaxation. The staff are all very friendly and treated us as family. With only a small number of rooms, the staff know who we are and are very attentive.

There are Deluxe and Luxury rooms. Deluxe are nice, Luxury are just a little more-so.

There are porches and garden area to access for relaxation or social gathering, and a "meeting room" for perhaps a private group conference.

Each morning is greeted with a gourmet breakfast buffet downstairs, prepared by an expert kitchen staff. Each evening there are bottles of fine California wines and delicious treats and the offerings are different each evening.

The background music is always gentle classical, the feeling is comfortable, a cookie jar in the lobby, everything is provided free of any extra charges ...what else can I say?

Within walking distance is about every flavor and type of restaurant. Close to
Union Square. Catch the old SF trolley a block and a half away to Fisherman's Wharf or elsewhere.

This is our personal best hotel stay, anywhere.

Parking a car in San Francisco is expensive, but the hotel has no control over that. They do provide valet parking. Your car disappears and reappears when you want it. In and out throughout the day does not cost any extra.

Room Tip: The ground floor is more convenient, but the ancient elevator is quite an entertaining experience to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    261
    63
    18
    4
See reviews for
133
536
39
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff here is really great. They are always ready to help. The people at the front desk always had great suggestions from renting an electric bike for going across the Golden Gate bridge or nightlife that was just what we were looking for that really improved our trip. We had a very early flight in on Friday. We went there expecting to just drop our bags off. They welcomed us in to come have breakfast and by the time we were done, they had our room ready. The food was good. We enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour. My husband gets up much earlier than I. It was nice he could get up and go downstairs to one of the living rooms to read and have a cup of coffee while he was waiting for me to get up. Downsides were that our bed and pillows were not very comfortable and that there was floral wallpaper on every inch of the walls, floral chairs, floral bedspreads, floral... everything. It was a bit much. Overall, a great place that works very hard to provide great service.

Room Tip: The fireplace was nice and worth the small added expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend & I stayed there for two days, in general we were satisfied, except that the b/f could be more... rich & healthier.
Positive
- price policy;
- location;
- spacious room;
- great staff;
- free and strong wifi coverage;
- fireplace;
- coffee machine
Negative:
- no tea bags & kettler (we dont drink coffee at all, thougth you can make your tea in the b/f room any time);
- noisy (at least if your room looking out the street);
- no room service;
- old fashioned keys, - very incovenient to use (we could not manage the lock couple of times - had to call for help);
- steps leading to the building's entrance - which makes it hard to drag the luggage;

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff are helpful, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the breakfast is nice and creates a very sociable atmosphere between the travelers. Next time we head to San Francisco we will stay here again as it was incredibly close to transport and within walking distance to most attractions. Great value for money too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There were 4 of us in our party and we had 2 really nice rooms. Queen beds, fireplace in the room, & a mini frig. with complimentary sodas. Breakfast was good & filling. Evenings snacks were delicious. Plus cookies in the lobby. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just returned from the bay area for the Amgen tour of California where we stayed at the white swan inn for 3 nights. It was a very plesant stay, the room was quite large for SF, very clean with a comfortable king bed. If you are booking, note in the name 'inn', this is not a modern chain hotel. We love the old world ornate charm of this place that may not be right for everyone. For example, we were on the 5th fl and did not mind taking the stairs since the bird cage elevator is rather slow. So if you don't want to climb stairs, make sure you ask for a lower room. Also, we live in a city so city noises don't faze us, but you may want to request a room in the back off the street. Breakfast had plenty of choices and the baked goods in the lobby are a nice extra touch as well as the afternoon wine. Valet parking was reasonable for SF at $32 per night. Great location too, close to union sq. and a local bar that my husband wanted me to mention - the summer place. Overall it was a lovely stay at the white swan.

Room Tip: Off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in town for the Bay to Breakers. We stayed at the White Swan for two nights.

The hotel features impeccable service, spotless rooms, fabulous breakfasts and afternoon tea/wine reception. There is a very quiet little deck located just off the meeting room that is a great place to get away from the bustle of the city. This hotel will take you back to the time when flawless service was the expectation combined with 21st century friendliness. Thank you to Rebecca, and the staff.

BTW, the location is perfect - a short walk to good restaurants, cable car, bus or China Town gate, and a little farther to the embarcadero. Just enough local foot traffic to feel safe, not too noisy, and not deserted on a weekend like the Financial District. Try Borobudur just up the street for great Indonesian food.

Room Tip: I always ask to look at the room first. We had a beautiful King Suite overlooking Bush street. Sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.