We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quaint boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Winter Rates!!!
Ranked #4 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional quaint boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

On our return from a 2-week Hawaiian paradise vacation we paused for a day in glorious San Francisco to wrap up the trip with a wine tour before returning to Dallas. Upon searching for hotels with a wine tour bus pick-up, I chose the White Swan after reading glowing past reviews. After an early morning BART excursion from our Oakland airport hotel, we arrived cold and damp at 8am at the front door of White Swan, where we were warmly welcomed, given our room immediately, and invited to enjoy an abundant delicious French breakfast (superior to fine restaurant quality) before the tour bus arrived. While the wine tour was fun, we were excited to return to the White Swan, which provided a fabulous wine reception. Our 5th floor suite was beautifully decorated with floral wallcovering and also had a gas-log fireplace further adding to the romantic setting. The high-quality bed and bedding gave us a well-rested final vacation night. What a perfect finale for a trip in paradise. Absolutely loved this hotel, the staff, the food, the decor, the location....the overall ambiance! Would definitely stay at White Swan on all future trips to San Francisco and have already told friends to stay there. WOW!!!!

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor room and enjoyed using the stairs, which we chose to do for extra exercise. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    289
    68
    19
    5
See reviews for
158
594
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Chose to stay at the White Swan Inn during a business trip, as I was tired of all the standard chain hotels and had heard great things about this place. Spent two wonderful nights here, and would certainly return in the future.

Pros

1. Fantastic location in Nob Hill/ Union Square. 3 - 5 minute walk to Union Square, easy access to various buses, great safe neighborhood.

2. Large rooms! Room is covered in dizzying florals from head to toe (on practically every surface) adding to the charm of the historic inn, however the size is great. My room featured a queen sized bed, a window reading nook, two lounge chairs, and a wonderful fireplace that worked with the flip of a switch.

3. Hotel features really great extras, such as free wifi, fresh baked cookies in the lobby, coffee/tea available 24/7 in the dining room, free soft drinks in the in-room mini fridge, free wine and snacks each evening, and free breakfast each morning. As some of the others have commented, the breakfast wasn't exceptional but it was beyond your standard "continental" breakfast and was quite good. Also a really friendly staff that was more than willing to provide suggestions and meet your needs.

Cons

Really not many here at all - the hotel is older so you will not be getting a top-of-the-line luxury bathroom. While the elevator works, it is truly an antique, so it was often faster for me to take the stairs than wait. The wifi can be a little slow at times, but it often is at hotels, so that is nothing new.

Overall a really fantastic hotel with lots of charm, will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a higher floor - did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the white Swan Inn in April. The Union Square location is perfect and we were amazed to find this type of accommodation in the centre of a big city. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the common areas downstairs were lovely. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was very good and the wine and appetisers and cookie jar were great! If I'm lucky enough to visit San Francisco again I would definitely stay here again. The Anniversary gift was a lovely touch- thanks Alex and all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel had it all for my wife and I. Each morning was launched with a terrific breakfast. The central location, means all the transit, restaurants were in easy reach. The hotel has an encompassing atmosphere, that made you feel welcome and at home at the same time. Great to stay at, easy to recommend.

Richard and Helen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First I found this place because it was a great price -- especially when you include parking ($32 vs. $50), and then I looked it up on Trip ADvisor and low and behold, people loved it. Also, it was number #13 in SF and the room pictures looked better than average! Wow....let's go!

We were not disapointed in anyway, the room was largeand even had a parlor space for my wife to set up her stuff. Although it is a refurbished structure, it was great! Its NOT new but it is very classy. We will be staying there again....and again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a fireplace and dressing room opposite the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 5 days at the White Swan Inn. Yes the place is old and in some ways--none critical- shows it age, but it is very convenient and clean and has a helpful and friendly staff. Our room was homey, quiet (in the back of the property) and quite large. The downstairs "common rooms" are wonderful: coffee, tea etc were available all day--very welcome additions to the excellent cookies which appeared each afternoon in the front foyer's cookie jar. These rooms- with their comfortable chairs, couches and decor - encouraged lingering--especially during the early evening "happy hour" when wine, munchies and pastry are laid out. We spent several evenings chatting with other guests during this time: a great way to meet interesting people from all over and to exchange ideas about things to do, restaurants to visit etc... A good breakfast (fruit, hot dishes, pastries, hot and cold cereals) was served each morning. The only negative (not the Inn's fault): I had essentially no signal from Verizon while I was on the property. Overall--given its location and the amenities provided, the White Swan Inn is a tremendous value. If you don't mind a squeaky floor here or there and other such signs of age, one can't go wrong. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I liked the old fashioned elevator with manual doors. You have to hold the button a full second for the relays to flip. Other decor also being dated is really the only downside. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The morning breakfast is very good, and the afternoon 5-6:30 pm snack with wine is outstanding. A room in the rear of the hotel was quiet except for the inevitable ambulance siren.
The staff arranged a Gray Line tour to Muir Woods and Sausilito, which was very nice. We returned via the Powell-Mason cable car which is only two blocks away. (Bush Street is not an official stop, but the operator let us off there upon request)
The Petit Auberge inn next door is a sister hotel and is served by the same desk and staff.
We arrived via taxi from the airport; upon departure we rented a car from a Hertz local location about four blocks away and then traveled to Napa and Sonoma. While in the city, it is best to use taxis or public transport because parking is expensive and often not available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.