We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Summer Promotion!
Ranked #11 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Decided to stay here while my husband was attending a cell biology meeting in December. I was going to be on my own most days so wanted a place that served breakfast and that was within reasonable walking distance for him.

I had read on a few of the reviews to request a room in the back so I did and we got the top floor. It was very quiet and comfortable.

The breakfasts every day were different and absolutely delicious. On top of this, every evening they had wine and hors d'oeuvres and they were delicious. Even though I don't eat gluten, there was always something there I could eat (they usually had 3 items). The breakfast/wine area was like a large living room and very comfortable with a fire going in the fireplace.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to be in the back and preferably the top floor as it's an old building and my g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    226
    50
    19
    2
See reviews for
107
443
36
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the White Swan Inn. The location is excellent. It is in a quiet side street next to Union Square, where the cables car depart. You have all shops and restaurants right at hand. There is coin laundry on the next block plus the National Car Rental Station. It was the perfect starting point for everything.

The rooms were great - big comfortable bed - a big plus was the fire-place. Very clean. We had a room to the street, but I didn't feel it was noisy.

I liked the old victorian charme of the hotel, which somewhat belongs to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Choose one with a fire-place - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This charming hotel is a quiet oasis in a very busy city. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I had a wonderful stay. Service was first class and the front desk staff very helpful. This is a real gem of a hotel and it is really comfortable and homely.
My breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.
The hotel has a good location for touring the city of San Francisco and is a great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome. Andy accompanied us to our beautiful room and gave us such good advice about getting about San Francisco. He told us we could buy Muni passports (travel card for all buses, street and cable cars) at Walgreens pharmacy a few metres down the road. Most holiday makers queue at the Muni kiosks by the cable car turntables and wait ages in line; he was such a help. Our room had a gas fire with real flames you could turn on and off while in bed and there were two easy chairs by the fireplace. We had a fridge in the room with complementary soft drinks and water and a coffee maker. The breakfast was delicious with great choice of food. There was complementary coffee and tea in the lounge all day and complementary wine and hor d'oeuvres for 90 minutes each evening. The lounge was very comfortable and it was lovely to meet the other guests in such a relaxing setting. You could always take your wine to your room if you preferred to stay private. We stayed for 5 nights-cost per night including taxes was about $255 which was good value when all the freebies are taken into account. The location in Nob Hill is great with loads of restaurants, cable car stop and theatres close by. The beds are comfortable but very high-you do need to climb in and there are no safes in the room, but reception will look after valuables. Our room was on the top floor and my husband always insisted on using the historic lift. He loved it. Thank you everyone for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Every guest I spoke to was happy with their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, and for sharing your positive experience with us! Our staff is so happy to see you enjoyed your long stay at the inn. Our team strives to make the White Swan a true 'home-away-from-home' for our guests, and we are honored to share your feedback with Andy and our kitchen staff. We hope to welcome you back for another stay, and ride on our lift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights there recently. We greatly enjoyed the charm and service. Our room was impressively decorated, and the gas fireplace in room added to the appeal. The common room, where breakfast and the social hour are hosted, stopped us in our tracks - the area was incredibly invitingly decorated. Breakfast was much better than we had expected - different every morning with quiche, or scrambled eggs, or pancakes and bacon, plus fruit, pastries, oatmeal, etc.

We encountered 5-6 different staff members at the front desk during our stay - every single one of them seemed sincerely interested in helping us in any reasonable way - dining reservations, recommendations, transportation tips, etc. - and they were knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our team at White Swan. We love to hear that you enjoyed your several evenings with us, and that our staff was able to help make your stay more special during your visit. We hope to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved the White Swan Inn. Beautiful old fashioned environment that really contributed to my relaxation after long days of walking/sightseeing in San Francisco. They treated me great and I liked the late afternoon Wine/Hors d'oeuvres with fellow guests. It was nice to meet other people staying at the Inn.
Great Nob Hill location. I'm glad I got to see that part of San Francisco (and struggle with the steep hills!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My parents treated my husband and me to a room at this hotel as a wedding gift. What a wonderful gift it was!
The building is very cute. I felt like we were in someone's grandmother's home. The old fashioned elevator is an especially nice element. I loved the fireplace in our deluxe king room. We had a separate dressing room with a sink and mirror. I also enjoyed the beverage nook in the room. It was equipped with a coffee maker, sink, refrigerator (with free soda and water!), mugs, and champagne flutes.
We enjoyed the wine hour immensely. In addition to the usual cheese and crackers, they had some delicious banana chocolate chip cookies and macaroni salad. We sat on the couch by the fireplace while we enjoyed our wine and snacks. Maybe we were there on a slow weekend, but there were only four other guests at the wine hour while we were there (which we actually quite enjoyed- we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves!)
Breakfast was also great. They served eggs, bacon, country hash, fruit, scones, croissants, oatmeal, coffee, large tea selection, and juice. As with the wine hour, there was only one other family seated in the dining area. The breakfast is served until 10 AM on weekdays and 11 AM on weekends, so you can sleep in without worrying about missing breakfast!
The location is very convenient to many of the major attractions in SF.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and celebration of your very special occasion. We are honored to have shared it with you and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.