We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Winter Rates!!!
Ranked #4 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Australia and wanted a hotel with a San Francisco atmosphere so chose this older style hotel ( though it was really a more english atmosphere). We stayed at this hotel for six nights in room 46 in mid december. Breakfast was included and was very nice, the hot choices were different everyday we stayed there. Afternoon wine and nibbles were also provided. The snack food was often delicious and the wine supply very generous, they brought out more bottles when wine ran out. The lounge area is very comfortable and cosy. Supper of delicious home made cake was also waiting in the lobby when you returned in the evening. Our room was very cosy with a lovely fire place. The main down side was no safe in our room. The curtains were also very warn and the lounge suite faded. Our room was sunny and quiet as it was on the side of the hotel. The lobby looks very ordinary don't let it put you off. The antique lift is very interesting and was avoided by most people preferring the stairs. The hotel is a short walk to union square we liked the location.

Room Tip: Dont get a street room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    290
    68
    19
    5
See reviews for
158
595
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed four nights over new years weekend. Staff was great although there is no assistance from the street to the counter. If you arrive by car; you'll most likely have to double-park and lug your way in and up the stairs to the counter for check-in. Old building, the rooms are adequate with a very comforable bed. The floors squeak terribly so book the upper floor. Forget about wifi, it was absolutely terrible! Bush street side rooms are very noisy from street & pedestrian traffic. The included continental breakfast was impressive considering that many others just toss out a few donuts or cold cereal. The stay here ended-up as the most disappointing part of our trip to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Book top floor off street because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overland park, kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

something you would find at your elderly aunt's home. Trying to do all that is critical to an
excellent stay without all the glitz & glamour of chain hotels. My husband and I stayed 4 nights
the first week in Dec. and I would return again tomorrow. The room was adequate with a nice
area for coffee, tea & fridge fully stocked with bottled water and soda...(at no charge.) Small
bathroom, small closet, nice large windows that were left open most of the time. At night the
working gas fireplace fired up to keep the chill off with just a push of the button by the bed.
It was pleasantly cool in SF and the fireplace both in our room & in the common areas was
perfect. The evening wine reception was the best...self serve and delightful selections of California wines, both red and white. Nice appetizers that served a couple of evenings as dinner. Breakfast was the same, different selections every morning, from quiche, sausages, pastries, cereal, juices, coffee, hot choc & tea. I must say something about the lift (elevator)
that must have been imported from some old English hotel. You must be fully engaged to
operate but you will find it another of the charms of this place.

The location was great though it did take an exceptionally long time to get a taxi in the evenings
at dinner times. Walking is certainly the way to go if you can take the hills. Out the door to the right about two blocks and down about 2 blocks to Union Square with every fabulous store
and back up the hill. Take good walking shoes for certainly San Francisco is a great town for walking. It doesn't seem too far to any area.

My 13 yr old granddaughter joined us one evening and slept on the sofa bed in the room which
was horrible. Curtains were torn and carpet was worn, bathroom could have used a really good scrubbing & wifi was sooooo slow. If any of these concern you, maybe the Omni or
Marriott is for you but I wouldn't miss the charm of this place for anything. Hopefully, I can
talk my husband into going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This charming hotel came highly recommended by friends who spend a lot of time in SF. What a great choice. Convenient, excellent location close to some great restaurants and great shopping. Rooms are well done and the warm fireplace only adds to the charm. Staff is exceptionally competent and friendly. Morning breakfast was a treat and although the afternoon wines were not "top shelf" it was great to meet our fellow travelers.
One suggestion is to book a room at the rear of the hotel.....off the street and much quieter.

Room Tip: Book the larger room, upper floor, in the back of the hotel. Much less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a week here while at a conference in SF. There is over the top English chinz, but you know that when you book the place.

The location is excellent, a short walk to Union Square, Chinatown and Nob Hill. Cable car right there to go to Pier 32 and the wharfs.

Only a short and cheap taxi ride to the Moscone centre, so i recommend it if you are at a conference as its a cheaper hotel in a better location with very large rooms.

You get heaps of space here which is why I like the hotel - fireplace, lounge area with wingback chair in your room, couch. There is no desk, but you can use internet from a coffee table. Bed is huge. Bathrooms old English style but comfortable and clean and large enough.

Reception desk is helpful and attentive.

Dislikes:

(a) the breakfast could be a lot better. Basically had toast with marmelade every day as the other choices like powdered eggs, weird ham and cereal was not appealing. Coffee at breakfast is not nice, you are better off making it in your room with the coffee supplied and go to breakfast with it.

(b) the building is old and the floors wooden. This means that if there are noisy or large/heavy people upstairs from your room - you know about it when they walk around. A couple of days during my stay there seemed to be a herd of elephants upstairs at 6.00 am!

I would certainly stay here again if in SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as it is quiet and there is no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and thought this place was sweet. It so reminded me of little inns in England and Ireland, and was correct right down to all the details. We had a nicely appointed, decent sized room, plus clean bath with nice products on hand. the location of this hotel is terrific, just a couple blocks off Union Square, so we spent our weekend walking around the Square, and over to Nob Hill to catch the Powell/Hyde cable car to Ghirardelli Square for Christmas shopping. We loved the fresh cookies in the lobby and coffee in the afternoon. We found two drawbacks to this inn: no parking nearby and no valet when we arrived, but we found a pay lot 1.5 blocks away that allowed overnight parking. And while the inn itself was so quiet we literally didn't think there was more than one room filled, but found out at breakfast that the place was quite full, the street noise was considerable until around 2:00 a.m., even with windows shut and earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I booked four nights at the White Swan Inn in San Francisco to celebrate his birthday. A few days before our trip we both became ill with bad colds accompanied by horrible coughs. The White Swan staff was excellent, understanding and very patient with us as we tried to decide whether to cancel or not. When we did make the decision to cancel, they were very accommodating and wished us good health. A few days later we received a delightful, hand written get well note saying they hoped we were feeling better and that we could reschedule in the near future. We will definitely make the trip in 2013 and plan on booking with The White Swan. In this day of impersonal E mail correspondence, we were so impressed with the extra care this establishment took to make us feel welcome. Good job, indeed!!! Kathryn Brown

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.