We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic English B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Winter Rates!!!
Ranked #5 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic English B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am from England but now live in California and I love this cosy place. We were upgraded upon arrival to a large king room with a fireplace and flat screen tv. In addition to the bathroom there was a dressing room with a vanity area sink and closet, and another separate area with a fridge, wet bar and tea/coffee making facilities. The fridge contained complementary water bottles and sodas. Our room was at the back and was quiet. The windows etc are old but it adds to the charm. There is tea/coffee and home baked cookies available most of the day and we enjoyed the 5pm wine and snacks, so nice after a busy day sightseeing. Wine was of a good quality and snacks were different each day. A pasta dish, cheese and biscuits, and cake one day and vegetables, dip and apple cake the next. Enjoyed talking with other travelers and there are plenty of interesting items on display around the hotel. Breakfast buffet was nice. The two guys at the front desk were nice and friendly, the female not so much. Parking is difficult, as with most of San Francisco, the first day we arrived was a Sunday so we did free street parking but had to move the car 7am Monday morning. We found the least expensive undercover parking lot was a city one a few blocks away. We spent a total of $28 on parking rather than $32 + tax valet per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    294
    69
    19
    5
See reviews for
164
601
46
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in November for his birthday. Not only was the staff wonderful and accommodating (they even were polite when another guest complained about the noise of our loud talking late at night), they left red velvet cheesecake in our fridge for my husband's birthday. So sweet - who does that these days?! We enjoyed the wine/appetizer reception and pretty much everything about our stay. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent five nights and highly recommend our stay. The hotel is located two blocks from the cable car and four blocks from Union Square making it quite easy to get to practically anywhere from Fisherman's Wharf to Union Square to the Embaradero. The hotel is decorated with a British motif. We stayed in room 37 which was located in the back and very quiet even with the windows open at night. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Complimentary water and softdrinks were provided each day. Yes, the hotel is dated, but we found that to add to its charm. A full breakfast is provided. We found a slight variation in the menu each of the five mornings we were there. Since I was awake early, I found the library to be an excellent place for morning coffee and the newspaper. We were only able to be in the hotel one afternoon in time for the wine and hors d'oeuvres. It was a beautiful setting, though it seemed a bit warm for there to be a fire in the fireplace. We found the persons at the front desk to be very attentive and recommended restaurants that we found to be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room 37 which was very quiet. King size bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice cozy hotel, with a early 1900's charm still intact. Rooms feature fireplace and nice tiled bathroom. Breakfast is rich, and wine tasting at 5pm. Great for couple getaway, but not a family hotel due to size of rooms (we had to add 2 foldable bed for the kids )
Perfect location and very helpful and kind personnel
On the expensive side

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband whilst on holiday. Location is handy for all the sites of San Francisco.
Our room was on the top floor and quite big. Felt very stuffy. As soon as breakfast was being cooked the smell permeated all the way up to our room. Nice fireplace. Bathroom was average, although had nice toiletries. Main problem was outside noise as the windows are single glazed.
Breakfast is included in the price and was ok. Hot food was very greasy, croissants a bit stale.
In all a pleasant hotel and v good value for money. I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise and stuffiness.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a small friendly boutique hotel. The rooms are very large for San Francisco and very well maintained. You are within walking distance to Union Square and a large number of stores, restaurants and wine bars plus ready access to the buses, cable car and street cars. Overall, it is a perfect location. Breakfast is included and changes each day. The quality is quite high considering it is included in the price. Overall, the hotel is great value. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found this hotel on-line and were not dissapointed. It is a small, older boutique-style hotel which is both quiet and comfortable. Our room was surprisingly large and clean. The staff was accomodating and the building was secure (they issue you a key to the front door). Bush St is 2 blocks away from the summit of Nob Hill so good locale for walking to North Beach as well as shopping around Union Square. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Bush St. are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and BookIt.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.