We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
San Mateo, California
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in November for his birthday. Not only was the staff wonderful and accommodating (they even were polite when another guest complained about the noise of our loud talking late at night), they left red velvet cheesecake in our fridge for my husband's birthday. So sweet - who does that these days?! We enjoyed the wine/appetizer reception and pretty much everything about our stay. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    237
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
122
480
36
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent five nights and highly recommend our stay. The hotel is located two blocks from the cable car and four blocks from Union Square making it quite easy to get to practically anywhere from Fisherman's Wharf to Union Square to the Embaradero. The hotel is decorated with a British motif. We stayed in room 37 which was located in the back and very quiet even with the windows open at night. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Complimentary water and softdrinks were provided each day. Yes, the hotel is dated, but we found that to add to its charm. A full breakfast is provided. We found a slight variation in the menu each of the five mornings we were there. Since I was awake early, I found the library to be an excellent place for morning coffee and the newspaper. We were only able to be in the hotel one afternoon in time for the wine and hors d'oeuvres. It was a beautiful setting, though it seemed a bit warm for there to be a fire in the fireplace. We found the persons at the front desk to be very attentive and recommended restaurants that we found to be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room 37 which was very quiet. King size bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice cozy hotel, with a early 1900's charm still intact. Rooms feature fireplace and nice tiled bathroom. Breakfast is rich, and wine tasting at 5pm. Great for couple getaway, but not a family hotel due to size of rooms (we had to add 2 foldable bed for the kids )
Perfect location and very helpful and kind personnel
On the expensive side

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here with my husband whilst on holiday. Location is handy for all the sites of San Francisco.
Our room was on the top floor and quite big. Felt very stuffy. As soon as breakfast was being cooked the smell permeated all the way up to our room. Nice fireplace. Bathroom was average, although had nice toiletries. Main problem was outside noise as the windows are single glazed.
Breakfast is included in the price and was ok. Hot food was very greasy, croissants a bit stale.
In all a pleasant hotel and v good value for money. I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise and stuffiness.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a small friendly boutique hotel. The rooms are very large for San Francisco and very well maintained. You are within walking distance to Union Square and a large number of stores, restaurants and wine bars plus ready access to the buses, cable car and street cars. Overall, it is a perfect location. Breakfast is included and changes each day. The quality is quite high considering it is included in the price. Overall, the hotel is great value. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found this hotel on-line and were not dissapointed. It is a small, older boutique-style hotel which is both quiet and comfortable. Our room was surprisingly large and clean. The staff was accomodating and the building was secure (they issue you a key to the front door). Bush St is 2 blocks away from the summit of Nob Hill so good locale for walking to North Beach as well as shopping around Union Square. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Bush St. are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September & loved every minute of it. Our room was available even though we were 2 hours early & our bags were taken care of with no trouble by a young man Sam. Front desk staff & all employees were very helpful & informative even late at night on a couple of occasions. Our room overlooked Bush Street & contrary to other reviews traffic noise was no problem. Breakfast varied each morning as did afternoon cookies & canapes at afternoon wine reception.(what a nice touch) The sodas & bottled water in our refridgerator each day was very acceptable.Our room was clean & spacious & bedding very comfy. Spent quite a lot of time researching accommodation in SF & this boutique hotel was certainly worth the effort. Would recommend The White Swann Inn to anyone visiting SF in the future & hope to return ourselvelves someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;