We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Inn to your Saves list
Washington Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Half Off!*
Ranked #14 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roskilde
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fantasic little B&B - or Inn - in the middle of the North Beach area.
Very kind and helpful staff - it's like comming to an oasis in the middle of the metropol.
Delicious breakfast - served either on a tray in your room - or in the dining-room.
Tapas and wine every day at 7:30 PM - where you have opportunity to meet other guests.
Just go there .- give it a try.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    76
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
197
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our 5th stay in the Inn and once again we had the best of times. We cannot recommend this inn highly enough. We have stayed in many of the rooms over the years from the suit through to the inner courtyard rooms. The location is wonderful as you are in the heart of Northbeach so you get all the atmosphear of the area at night without having to travel out of it to get to your hotel. We find the location is also very good for walking to Fishermans Warf as well as China Town and then on into the city itself.
The resturants are great and Mamas is a must as the food is out of this world. We have found over the years that many of the little cafe's serve food as good if not better than some of the resturants so give them a go.
The hotel staff are very attentive and the owner and his wife are delightful. We are already planning and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent, but the rooms overlooking the park are the best as you get to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My niece once lived in the North Beach community so she heartily recommended this inn for our first visit to San Francisco. It is also given a page in Karen Brown's California Guide Book so we looked no further.The location and charm were as perfect as both had described! We arrived very early, left our bags in the lobby, and set out for the day arriving back around 7pm very tired. The wine and cheese was about to be cleared away and I could sense our arrival caused a short delay with that task...did manage to quickly partake, however! Room 10 was vey nice and extremely quiet all night long...very comfy bed and linens! The view of facing an inner light well as stated online is accurate. The next morning an attractive and very yummy breakfast basket was delivered to our room with all the selections we had made the night before.Then we set out for a day tour of the city, Muir Woods, Sausalito with Dylan's Tour (see review). Because we were changing rooms our second night (which I knew we would have to do when I booked), we had to ring (once again) to be let in the front door and then were asked if we had forgotten our key! I would like to suggest that the inn have some keys made that they can give to guests to enter the front door but do not function as a room key. This would certainly help those that arrive before check-in and come back later in the day for their key or for those changing rooms and therefor can not be given a key while it is still occupied by someone else. That evening we had time to really enjoy the wine, cheese, and other delicious goodies while chatting with guests by the fire. Room 11 was also very nice and it had a large bay window/cushioned seats overlooking Filbert Street. The shower was a tiny stall so this might deter some folks but we were fine with it. The street noise started very EARLY (street cleaner, recycle truck, trash truck, bakery deliveries) so be aware that can happen if you hit the "right" day :) Our stay at the Washington Square Inn was great and we would be happy to recommend this special place to others.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Judy,

Thank you for your time reviewing the Washington Square Inn. We appreciate your comments , also about issuing a key for the front door only, as you know the room key also opens the front door but our keys are time dated so they expire an hour after checkout. We have someone at the front desk 24/7 so there is always someone to let you in, though as you stated it can take a little longer if our front desk is busy attending to guests. We invested in an access system for the Inn that gives our guests security but also is simple for our guests to use.

Best Regards, Maria , Daniel and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a charming and centrally located bed and breakfast inn in the north beach section of San Francisco. Directly adjacent to Washington Square Park and perfect for strolls around Little Italy.
The nearby North Beach Restaurant, and the Beach Blanket Babylon musical show are no more than a 5-6 minute walk away, the Cobb Comedy Club about 8 minutes away, and a walk down Stockton Avenue to the Pier 39 shops and Fisherman's Wharf no more than 10 minutes away. If you walk south, Chinatown was less than 10 minutes away and Union Square is about 20 minutes.

We stayed in Room # 8 and this room has a beautiful bay window with a great view of Washington Park and Saints Peter and Paul Church. The long and wide bunk seat in front of the window was great for relaxing, views, and a perfect spot to sit for morning breakfasts. The bathroom is a little small but good enough, and we did hear some outdoor noises during the morning, but it was negligible, especially as a tradeoff for the great view.

We only wished that the owners would cut a deal with Mama's on Washington Square, a terrific breakfast spot which is kiddie corner from the Inn, and serve their guests with a Mama's daily breakfast choice!

All in all, this Inn is a great choice while staying in North Beach of San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I really love this place. I've just visited for the third time and it was still as good as the last 2 times! Its quite unusual for SF- sort of old style B&B wtih antique looking furniture but done very well. Very clean, and perfectly equipped. The bathrooms have lots of little toiletries that you dont usually get in B&B's. They offer breakfast downstairs or in your room on a little tray - basic but good (bagels, cereals etc..). They have a wine and cheese hour every day where you can have complimetary wine, cheese and cold meats. The location is perfect - right in the middle of North Beach surrounding by tonnes of restaurants and bars, but still within walking distance to good shopping (Union Square). Staff are really friendly too. Check our the room you want, they are all different. If you are a light sleeper choose something on the side of the building (nearer the Coit Tower) rather than overlooking the square as it can get a little noisy at night - it didnt bother me but my partner woke a few times. I would go back over and over again!!

Room Tip: See above, pick a room NOT overlooking the square if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for eight nights in mid-July. For me, Shabir (on the desk) and William (social director, bellman, jack of all trades) made the difference, extending the warmth and atmosphere of their b and b. These two professionals demonstrated kindness and courteousy; sensitive to the needs of travelers, they ably answered any/and all questions I had about traveling in, and around, San Francisco. From the inn, I walked to Fisherman's Wharf (the sea lions), Coit Tower on Telegraph Hill, Lombard Street, China Town, City Lights Bookstore, and the Ferry Building (where I crossed to the island of Tiberon). A minute's walk across Washington Square, and I caught a bus to Market Street, where I could quickly make a transfer that took me anywhere/everywhere in the city by the bay. I enjoyed my breakfast time with the other guests, and looked forward to the wine and cheese interlude before supper, but my best memories of San Francisco will always include the devotion of the staff at Washington Square Inn, toward making my holiday relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant BnB. The room was clean well decorated. The wifi was reasonably functional, and he breakfast was continental with an Oatmeal option. The best part was the Bellman who was able, helpful and knowledgable. The desk clerk was simply doing a job.

We were easily able to walk to fishermans wharf and the piers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach , Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.