We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Inn to your Saves list
Washington Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Half Off!*
Ranked #15 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant BnB. The room was clean well decorated. The wifi was reasonably functional, and he breakfast was continental with an Oatmeal option. The best part was the Bellman who was able, helpful and knowledgable. The desk clerk was simply doing a job.

We were easily able to walk to fishermans wharf and the piers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    76
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
196
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights this month and had a great time. Lovely welcoming staff, excellent location and very comfortable beds.

Lots of choice for breakfast but would have liked a cooked option, at least at weekends. But that is a small quibble. The afternoon wine and cheese nibbles were welcome and gave us an opportunity to exchange stories with other guests. We would definitely recommend this unique place.

Other recommendations for your stay in San Fran - book a big bus tour through the hotel. If you are lucky you will have guide Layla and driver Harold who are a great double act and help you get a flavour of the city including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. We used Tower Tours for our trips out of San Fran to Monterey and Carmel and then Muir Woods and Sausalito. Other highlights are the De Young Gallery in Golden Gate Park, the wonderful Pier district where you can pick up a street car down to Union Square and the fab shopping on offer including the enormous Macy's store! Also take a stroll round China Town and visit the fabulous City Lights bookshop. Don't forget to pop up to the Coit Tower which is up the hill from Washington Square Inn and you'll love Tony's Pizza at 1570 Stockton a block away from the WSI. Too many other things to mention!

Room Tip: We had room 9 for the first two nights which was rather small for the price but moved to room 10 aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

So glad we chose Washington Square Inn, we had one of the larger rooms towards the rear of the property with tons of room, so to those of you who complain there are larger rooms available. The area is central to all, the restaurants are to die for had two great meals, only a block away. The bed & pillow really nice, very generous with the wine and nibbles, breakfast in my pjs in room, priceless. Not cheap, but so much better choice than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay very much. Although the rooms are small the great location more than makes up for it. We were within walking distance to Fisherman's wharf, Lombard Street, China Town, Coit Tower and many restaurants. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning in the front lobby although we were given the choice of having it delivered to our room. We enjoyed meeting some of the other guests over wine and cheese each night and getting their suggestions about possible places to visit and eat. One night we were awakened by some noise on the street below our room but it only lasted a few minutes so not a big deal. All and all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsabd, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

All, The Washington Square Inn is an excellent choice for a stay in San Francisco. Location is right in the heart of Little Italy and about 6 blocks from China Town. The staff (especially William) were outstanding. Parking is nearby in an indoor facility. Breakfast in your room is a treat, as is the people watching out the window while having your morning coffee. Afternoon wine/cheese was fun and we chatted with some fun/interesting folks. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visit San Francisco every June to celebrate our wedding anniversary. At first we tried different hotels for variety. Then we found The Washington Square Inn and we've been going back every year. The owners, Maria and Daniel, are always available to accommodate our special plans and go beyond any traveler's expectations to ensure their guests receive the best service.

This year Maria added extra goodies for breakfast, which was already spectacular. The dining room table overlooks Washington Park, so you can "people watch" and enjoy your meal at the same time. Make your dinner reservations late so you don't miss "Happy Hour" from 5:30 to 7:00PM. The assortment of foods and wine, along with good conversation with other guests is a wonderful way to start your evening.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet room, ask for Room 5. It overlooks the courtyard and you never he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We wanted to stay away from Union square and the branded hotels and chose to stay in North Beach at the Washington. The Washington Inn did not disappoint in fact surpassed our requirements. Breakfast, wine and nibbles at 5.30pm, great room and bed and in quiet location. Easy access to Coit Tower and Fisherman's Wharf in one direction, Union square in the other. Public transport was right out front, along with Washington square which was always busy for great people watching. The staff were friendly and helpful, with a couple of entertaining characters as well.
Being right next door to little Italy, the quality of restaurants was excellent.
Thoroughly recommend, we just need another excuse to get back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach , Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.