We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Inn to your Saves list
Washington Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Half Off!*
Ranked #15 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We wanted to stay away from Union square and the branded hotels and chose to stay in North Beach at the Washington. The Washington Inn did not disappoint in fact surpassed our requirements. Breakfast, wine and nibbles at 5.30pm, great room and bed and in quiet location. Easy access to Coit Tower and Fisherman's Wharf in one direction, Union square in the other. Public transport was right out front, along with Washington square which was always busy for great people watching. The staff were friendly and helpful, with a couple of entertaining characters as well.
Being right next door to little Italy, the quality of restaurants was excellent.
Thoroughly recommend, we just need another excuse to get back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    76
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
196
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This were a more upbeat review, really I do but this place misses the mark in so many ways. First we had two rooms, 4 and 6. Both rooms were VERY small, so small that there wasn't room for a chair. Not great but the lobby is comfortable (and close) so okay. The beds! Cheap! Uncomfortable! Honestly spend a little money on the beds. I can sleep on practically anything and not wake up sore. These beds are incredibly uncomfortable. The rooms we utilized had NO ventallation. you can open the window for a really nice breeze but you cant sleep thst way As theyre street level. if you book get upstairs rooms so you can sleep with a window open. Youll need it. The breakfasts are fine. For whatever reason you "order" the night before. In the morning when you go down the staff is clueless as to who you are or what you ordered. They will bring breakfast to your room. Not sure why you'd want to eat breakfast in a box though. On the bright side it is clean, lots of Europeans here ( probably more used to b&b like this), they provide breakfast and wine n cheese in afternoon and the location is fantastic. It's not a five star, a 3 at best. I moved them to a two as its evening I went down to get a cup of decaf coffee and was told they couldn't make one. "The kitchen is closed." Really? Can't make coffee? Please. I live San Francisco and will most certainly return, I will not stay here. Just too many mistakes being made at the expense of the traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us. The beds we have are Serta Master Suite beds (Not Cheap!) in fact we have guests commenting all the time how comfortable they are. We have even had guests purchase these same excellent mattresses from Serta. The rooms do have ventilation, our windows are all opening windows and every room has a ceiling fan, bathroom fan, and portable fan. The comments about our staff are surprising; they generally do an excellent job with breakfast service even when we are extremely busy as was the case during your stay. We offer menu cards in the evening so we can be ready for guests that have early departures or dietary requests. Our license for food service is for Breakfast and evening Wine and Cheese. We are not large enough to have full time kitchen staff, but we are surrounded by excellent restaurants that serve late into the evening. We realize you were looking for accommodations that a large hotel offers and even though we try and give lots of detail on our website about the type of property we are (& are not) so that everyone realizes we are just a 15 room Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this was my 3rd recent trip to SF. usually stay in Union Square. wanted to try a new location. This was definitely the right place. situated in the North Beach area of the city the neighborhood has so much going on all the time. great italian restaurants all moderately priced. convenient to buses and walkable to many of the city sights. My sister and I stayed in room one on the first floor. perfect for the morning cup of coffee (which was delicious) as well as the happy hour. we met many nice guests also staying there. the room itself was "over decorated" in the bed linen department. and really could use a vanity to put the necc. items on. it also had a bit of a lack of air. but certainly was large enough. the breakfast was ample during the week but over the weekend (when you might expect a bit more) as most serve brunch there was an absence of hot food. the workers who ran the hotel seem to need a bit more training in dealing with guests needs. they speak "minimal" english and pretty much were unable to give good or any directions to public transport etc.When we arrived (too early to check in) we were greeted with a less than exciting welcome. I would also recommend the hotel update some of the books, magazines menus etc. it was a bit outdated. William the weekend happy hour host was very friendly and helpful and made up for some of the lesser folks we dealt with during the week. I would most likely stay here again, and would hope that the owner would improve on some of the issues I mentioned.It is not inexpensive to stay here, and some of the I's need to be dotted and T's needed to be crossed.... but we had a great trip and thats all that counts in the end.

Room Tip: room one is the handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank You for taking time to review our Inn, Your comments about our staff"s lack of transportation knowledge was a little suprising to us because they all take San Francisco"s public transportation everyday and are quite knowledgable regarding this subject. Maybe it was their accents that were the problem for you. A large amount of our guests our from outside thre US so we really appreciate the Languages that all our staff speak.. We do not serve brunch at the Inn but The restaurant next door"Park Tavern" , "Original Joe's "and" Mama's"do an excellent brunch. We are happy you enjoyed your stay
and hope if you stay with us again and have any issues please ask for us and we will try are best to assist you. When we are busy you might not always see us but just ask the front desk.

Best Regards, Maria & Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ark va
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Inn is located conviently for seeing the various places in San Francisco. The #39 muni bus to fishermman's wharf stops across the street, and two city tour bus companies stop in front of the Inn. It's two blocks to a cable car to fisherman's Wharf or Union Square and downtown. A six block walk past sidewalk cafes and shops puts you in China Town. Our room was on the corner of the second floor and was roomy enough for two, nicely furnished with a modern bath. In the corner of the room was a setee with two windows overlooking the park, one window looking at a beautiful cathedral (Joe Dimagio and Marlyn Monroe got married there) and two windows looking at Coit Tower and the type of houses SF is famous for built up the hill. Large continental breakfast in the dining room or delivered to your room. The neighborhood is quiet and full of restaraunts with sidewalk dining and local shops. Be sure to meet William, a character in his own right, who is the weekend do it all, and maiter d for the wine and cheese buffet every day at 5:30. Can't say enough good things about this place and it's staff, my wife and I enjoyed our stay sooooo much, if you come to SF, STAY HERE.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the streets are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Washington Square Inn, the first three nights of our honeymoon trip around California.

We stayed in Room 11, a spacious room with bay window looking out onto Filbert Street, a quiet street with very little traffic. The room was very clean and comfortable, beautifully decorated and furnished with antique pieces, and the bed was super comfortable.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and served at the time you request (half-hour slots), which we found helped us to plan our day well. The choice was extensive, varying a little each day, and the food fresh and well presented.

The guest area downstairs is a really inviting space; it serves as the breakfast room, guest reception and sitting-room and is organised so that you can meet and chat with other guests or find a quiet spot to sit and relax. Every evening complementary wine and nibbles are served, all local produce and of very high quality.

The staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful. We hired bikes while we were staying there, and in the evening they were happy that these were stored in the private courtyard - a huge help to us. They were also very happy to help with restaurant reservations.

Washington Square is a great place from which to explore San Francisco too. Away from the touristy areas and chain hotels, it is peaceful but not without life. Only a few steps away there are great restaurants, cafes and bars, and in the evening the square is beautifully lit up and very inviting.

We fell in love with San Francisco and will definitely return, and without hesitation we will stay at the Washington Square Inn.

Room Tip: Room 11 suited us very well. We had quite a bit of luggage but didn't struggle for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located in Pacific Heights in the centre of Little Italy, you can walk to Fisherman's Warf or the Ferry Building. If you walk to dinner by taking the Coit Tower (Filbert St.) steps you'll have earned your calories and it's a walk through charming gardens with nice views. We stayed here six years ago and came back on a recent return trip to California. The rooms are comfortable and the windows open but they don't have central air. We took an interior room this time because the area can be noisy 'til late on a weekend. They put on a nice afternoon wine and cheese spread and there are a number of good restaurants in the neighourhood. Many of them have patio seating and you can get an espresso etc. at almost any time. This is a terrific base for a visit to San Fransico.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A wonderful little boutique hotel in the heart of Little Italy. We had the one and only first floor room, just off of the main lobby. We were a little concerned that it would be too noisy, but we never heard a thing. The afternoon complimentary wine and snacks were very good, we chose to have breakfast in our room every morning, which worked out very well. They don't offer a full breakfast, just very high quality continental, but it was plenty. Every morning we walked out to the park across the street to watch the senior ladies practice Tai Chi. You don't get that at every hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach , Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.