We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location convenient to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Inn to your Saves list
Washington Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Half Off!*
Ranked #14 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location convenient to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this was my 3rd recent trip to SF. usually stay in Union Square. wanted to try a new location. This was definitely the right place. situated in the North Beach area of the city the neighborhood has so much going on all the time. great italian restaurants all moderately priced. convenient to buses and walkable to many of the city sights. My sister and I stayed in room one on the first floor. perfect for the morning cup of coffee (which was delicious) as well as the happy hour. we met many nice guests also staying there. the room itself was "over decorated" in the bed linen department. and really could use a vanity to put the necc. items on. it also had a bit of a lack of air. but certainly was large enough. the breakfast was ample during the week but over the weekend (when you might expect a bit more) as most serve brunch there was an absence of hot food. the workers who ran the hotel seem to need a bit more training in dealing with guests needs. they speak "minimal" english and pretty much were unable to give good or any directions to public transport etc.When we arrived (too early to check in) we were greeted with a less than exciting welcome. I would also recommend the hotel update some of the books, magazines menus etc. it was a bit outdated. William the weekend happy hour host was very friendly and helpful and made up for some of the lesser folks we dealt with during the week. I would most likely stay here again, and would hope that the owner would improve on some of the issues I mentioned.It is not inexpensive to stay here, and some of the I's need to be dotted and T's needed to be crossed.... but we had a great trip and thats all that counts in the end.

Room Tip: room one is the handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank You for taking time to review our Inn, Your comments about our staff"s lack of transportation knowledge was a little suprising to us because they all take San Francisco"s public transportation everyday and are quite knowledgable regarding this subject. Maybe it was their accents that were the problem for you. A large amount of our guests our from outside thre US so we really appreciate the Languages that all our staff speak.. We do not serve brunch at the Inn but The restaurant next door"Park Tavern" , "Original Joe's "and" Mama's"do an excellent brunch. We are happy you enjoyed your stay
and hope if you stay with us again and have any issues please ask for us and we will try are best to assist you. When we are busy you might not always see us but just ask the front desk.

Best Regards, Maria & Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    76
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
197
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ark va
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Inn is located conviently for seeing the various places in San Francisco. The #39 muni bus to fishermman's wharf stops across the street, and two city tour bus companies stop in front of the Inn. It's two blocks to a cable car to fisherman's Wharf or Union Square and downtown. A six block walk past sidewalk cafes and shops puts you in China Town. Our room was on the corner of the second floor and was roomy enough for two, nicely furnished with a modern bath. In the corner of the room was a setee with two windows overlooking the park, one window looking at a beautiful cathedral (Joe Dimagio and Marlyn Monroe got married there) and two windows looking at Coit Tower and the type of houses SF is famous for built up the hill. Large continental breakfast in the dining room or delivered to your room. The neighborhood is quiet and full of restaraunts with sidewalk dining and local shops. Be sure to meet William, a character in his own right, who is the weekend do it all, and maiter d for the wine and cheese buffet every day at 5:30. Can't say enough good things about this place and it's staff, my wife and I enjoyed our stay sooooo much, if you come to SF, STAY HERE.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the streets are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Washington Square Inn, the first three nights of our honeymoon trip around California.

We stayed in Room 11, a spacious room with bay window looking out onto Filbert Street, a quiet street with very little traffic. The room was very clean and comfortable, beautifully decorated and furnished with antique pieces, and the bed was super comfortable.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and served at the time you request (half-hour slots), which we found helped us to plan our day well. The choice was extensive, varying a little each day, and the food fresh and well presented.

The guest area downstairs is a really inviting space; it serves as the breakfast room, guest reception and sitting-room and is organised so that you can meet and chat with other guests or find a quiet spot to sit and relax. Every evening complementary wine and nibbles are served, all local produce and of very high quality.

The staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful. We hired bikes while we were staying there, and in the evening they were happy that these were stored in the private courtyard - a huge help to us. They were also very happy to help with restaurant reservations.

Washington Square is a great place from which to explore San Francisco too. Away from the touristy areas and chain hotels, it is peaceful but not without life. Only a few steps away there are great restaurants, cafes and bars, and in the evening the square is beautifully lit up and very inviting.

We fell in love with San Francisco and will definitely return, and without hesitation we will stay at the Washington Square Inn.

Room Tip: Room 11 suited us very well. We had quite a bit of luggage but didn't struggle for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located in Pacific Heights in the centre of Little Italy, you can walk to Fisherman's Warf or the Ferry Building. If you walk to dinner by taking the Coit Tower (Filbert St.) steps you'll have earned your calories and it's a walk through charming gardens with nice views. We stayed here six years ago and came back on a recent return trip to California. The rooms are comfortable and the windows open but they don't have central air. We took an interior room this time because the area can be noisy 'til late on a weekend. They put on a nice afternoon wine and cheese spread and there are a number of good restaurants in the neighourhood. Many of them have patio seating and you can get an espresso etc. at almost any time. This is a terrific base for a visit to San Fransico.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A wonderful little boutique hotel in the heart of Little Italy. We had the one and only first floor room, just off of the main lobby. We were a little concerned that it would be too noisy, but we never heard a thing. The afternoon complimentary wine and snacks were very good, we chose to have breakfast in our room every morning, which worked out very well. They don't offer a full breakfast, just very high quality continental, but it was plenty. Every morning we walked out to the park across the street to watch the senior ladies practice Tai Chi. You don't get that at every hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at WSI for 3 nights. We chose it because it was close to an apartment which our son and his family had rented for a week. If we return to San Francisco we would definitely stay at WSI. Its location is just great. A relatively short and interesting walk through Chinatown to the Union Square area and close to the Fishermans Wharf area. Public transport is at the door. Breakfast is served at a large table with a wonderful view of the park opposite and the entertainment of watching the tai chi exponents go through their morning rituals. It also offers the opportunity to meet and talk to other guests which is always interesting. The hotel is in the heart of Little Italy with lots of dining options nearby. We had a very comfortable room on the side street with views from the window seat to Coit Tower in one direction and the cathedral in the other. Coit Tower is a steep walk up the street but affords wonderful views of this charming city. And it has free wifi which works! Our daughter also stayed in the room which is described as not being not for tall guests but she found it more than adequate. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a pleasant place to stray and so close to everything. You would feel very safe staying alone here with lots of dining options outside the front door. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. Across the street, Washington square park was brimming with activity. In the morning there were many people practicing Tai Chi . The inn is close to Chinatown and the cable cars. We walked down to fishermans wharf from the hotel. The rooms are very clean and pretty. Ours was small but we had a king bed I would definitely stay here again because the location was awesome. Parking cost $25 a night. You choose your breakfast time and food choices the night before and it's already for you in he morning...in your room or at the shared dining table facing the park

Room Tip: They give a pretty good description and pictures online but saying our room, #10, had a courtyard vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to review us and thank you for pointing out that our room description needed a correction. We changed the wording from inner court yard to light well, even though it is a large open space we want to make sure our guests can rely on our room descriptions being accurate before booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach , Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.