We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Square Inn to your Saves list
Washington Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bon Voyage Parting Gift
Ranked #18 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Trion, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband & I have grown fond of bed & breakfasts in our travels, and we weren't disappointed with our stay at the Washington Square Inn. Here are a few perks: an ideal location for walking to the Ferry Building, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Coit Tower, Telegraph Hill, City Lights Bookstore and other points of interest (we walked 40 miles over five days--verified by a pedometer); numerous Italian restaurants for every budget; views of Washington Square where we enjoyed watching the Chinese ladies do their tai chi exercises while we ate breakfast; and I must stress, a SAFE neighborhood environment. When I made our reservations there was only one room left for our window of opportunity---room 14 on the second floor. It was slightly inconvenient that the private bath was across the hall, but this is an old restored structure and you just have to understand that. I was never bothered by noise. In fact, I thought the structure was well insulated because when we went outside our room, sometimes there was loud music playing in the room across the hall but we NEVER heard it or any other hall traffic in our room. And yes, the room was small, but we were only there to sleep because really, who comes to San Francisco for a vacation to sit in their room??? My husband & I visited almost all the little neighborhoods of SF and we both agreed that we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The proprietors Maria & Daniel and staff were also very pleasant and helpful. Don't be put off by the negative review, this is a wonderful place to stay IF YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE GETTING. It is NOT a new, plush hotel. But some of us enjoy the feel & history of a beautiful, old building. In a heartbeat, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the individual room descriptions on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review, we really appreciate your insights on staying at the Washington Square Inn and all your comments on our neighborhood and dining experience.

Best Regards, Maria, Dan and the staff at WSI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    86
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
211
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay here. Granted, the rooms are small - they are more like standard European rooms. If a large room is important, this is probably not the place to stay. But if you are interested in a great location surrounded by fabulous food and enjoy personalized service (William you are top notch!) and enjoy walking to all the sites in San Francisco, this is the place to stay. You can walk to China Town and the water front. There is a cable car stop a few blocks away. The park in front of the Inn is a great place to people watch and enjoy the atmosphere.

Washington Square Inn has a lot of little extras: Excellent breakfast (yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh pastries, granola and cereals, etc.) There is 24 hour coffee and teas available. There is wine and cheese (gourmet cheeses) and cookies in the afternoon. The staff is very helpful.

The area is safe to walk at night. When I return to San Francisco, I will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived and were greated with a glass of wine to the moment we departed everything was excellent. Our room was beautiful and lacked nothing. The whole property is warm and inviting. The service and attention was top drawer. We would look forward to being a guest in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We wanted to stay in the North Beach area. Everyone said stay here. It was definitely a convenient location for this area, but we would never stay here again. The staff was nice. The rooms were clean, but dark and to be honest a bit stale in decor. If you stay here make sure you don't get rooms on the first level, try to get rooms upstairs. Our first room was smaller than a postage stamp (not kidding - we were SO bummed), I believe that was room 6. And, when you are spending that much money, you want a bit more. They were nice enough to move us to room 4, which was a pinch larger. We were so unhappy that night. Thank goodness there was another room available for the next night across the hall, which was a larger (room 2). This really is a B & B and not a hotel, which we did not realize, even though it says Inn in their name, how silly of us! If someone comes home late at night they must ring the bell to get in. I heard the bell every time somebody came home, because our room was located on the first level right above the main room. This main room is where you register, eat breakfast (which was very nice by the way) and hang if you don't want to sit in your room. The main room is the only communal area of the hotel. If the sofa is occupied, there is the dining room table you could sit at which would be somewhat awkward or there is a small set-up near the sofa with two nice chairs and table. My husband slept through the night time bell when it rang, lucky him! I am a light sleeper, so I heard everything going on in the main room. They have a nice spread of wine and cheese in the afternoon. There is one dining room table, so if you are shy, you do share the breakfast table with other guests, which we did not mind. You could have breakfast in your room. They leave a breakfast card in your room every night for you to fill in for what you want for breakfast the next day. You must choose a time as to when you want to eat. It was nice when we sat down at the table, our breakfast was ready and brought to us at that time. We would not stay here again. Feel badly writing this but wish we had known all of this when we booked the room.

Room Tip: The Park Tavern Restaurant is right next door. Make a reservation. The Pork Chop was absolutely del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
But we would like to address a few statements you made; our front door is always locked for security of our guests, but - every guest’s room card also opens the front door which everyone is told at check in.
The Washington Square in is an older building and we only have 15 rooms, all in different sizes and we list the dimensions on our website under each rooms description, so that guests can know the exact size of the room. In fact you probably should have looked over our website a little better as we have a lot of information about our Inn, from the room size to the breakfast, the wine & hors d'oeuvres to all the events and attractions in and around the entire city as well as the fact that we are NOT a hotel.
We are an Inn, not a hotel and not a typical Bed & breakfast either. We try to make it very clear that we do not offer the services of a big hotel - although unlike many other Inns we have a 24/7 staff and offer many amenities for the size of our property. Throughout our website you will also find the words "Bed and Breakfast"
Lastly, all our rooms are equipped with ear plugs, as we well realize guests coming from a quieter area are not used to all the noises of a bustling city.
We try very hard to give our potential guests all the facts prior to their making the reservation, both verbally (as much as we can) and we always refer them to our website where so much more information is listed. We want our potential guests to know who and what we are because we want all of our guests to feel comfortable, happy and knowing that we care. (Which we really, really do) Future guest please hesitate to ask us any questions you might have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Given many prior good reviews, this may be redundant, but I enthusiastically concur. I would take issue with a previous negative comment regarding breakfast. I found it to be very good and if you ask to have it in your room it will arrive on the minute you designate. The staff is excellent and the location is incomparable.

Room Tip: I will not reveal my favorite room since I've never been able to book it even several months in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, our staff really appreciates your comments on our service and we appreciate you mentioning us as an alternative to the big hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you really want to get a feel for San Francisco there is surely no better place to stay. This was our second trip to SF and being based in the Washington Square Inn was just perfect: this establishment not only met my high expectations but exceeded them on every level.

Having been entombed in the twilight world of intercontinental travel, the rather rarefied atmosphere of departure lounge, twelve hours in the air, passport control (!) and then ferried out to the centre of town via shuttle without our feet touching the ground, we had no doubts we had arrived in San Francisco the moment we got to 1660 Stockton Street. We had barely rung the bell when the ever exuberant, and utterly brilliant, William embraced us and drew us into this wonderful establishment. Within minutes, we found ourselves on a comfortable couch with a generous glass of wine in hand. We were on holiday and were in no doubts from this point in!

The Washington Square Inn is a very special place. The location is brilliant, in the heart of North Beach/Little Italy, to my mind, the very best of this wonderful city. The hotel itself is quite charming, the rooms, whilst not the biggest (mind you, in this city, the last thing we wanted to do was to be sitting about in our room), are spotlessly clean, well-appointed and furnished with furniture with character and charm. However, above and beyond this, what makes this so special is the “quirky” little features. The breakfast around the communal table where you can pick up tips and ideas from other guests, the central meeting area but most of all, the evening wine and nibbles: another chance to catch up with your fellow guests and learn of them and their day. In the latter case, we were lucky to have this overseen by the inimitable William for much of our stay: a superb host and raconteur with extraordinary energy. He was a real high-point and memorable feature of our two week sojourn to California.

To all intents and purposes, this is a perfect place to stay in one of the friendliest and most wonderful cities in the world. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washsquare, Owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciation for William’s enthusiasm to serve our guests...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

San Francisco was our first stop on our 30 day holiday. After a 25 hour flight it was a godsend to have arrived at the Washington Square Inn. Fantastic location to walk to everything, no need for a car. An authentic San Francisco experience. Rooms were always clean after we got back from a long day of walking to all the sights. From the start William made us feel so welcome I hope the employers appreciate what an asset they have here. We are goimg to miss the chats at wine & cheese time! Next time we'll stay longer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#15 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,109 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,163 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#75 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#52 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.