We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Anne Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Queen Anne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen Anne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a Victorian style property. Unfortunately while we were there they were remodeling the outside and scaffolding was up around the hotel, so we really couldn’t see the beauty.

I had emailed before we arrived asking for an early checkin, and we were allowed to do that. We really appreciated this. The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The hotel was very clean. There were some things that were pretty worn out in our room though (i.e. vanity in the bathroom had some wood that was pretty worn). The bed was ok, the pillows were not the best though.

The breakfast is fairly basic. Toast, bagels, muffins, waffle station, cereal, etc.

This was a pretty good location. We used mass transit for our entire trip and we were able to catch the buses very nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    179
    47
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
215
22
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our first trip to San Fran. The room was nice in size. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. Overall the room was fine. It was dark and not as clean as I would like. Breakfast was included and was very poor in quality and quantity. I would look for another place to stay on a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night in a Victorian Queen room at the Queen Anne. The hotel is at this date in the middle of a sprucing up--when we arrived they were painting the outside on the street side--something you might want to consider if you are going to this hotel in the next month or so. We had asked in advance for a quiet room after reading other reviews here, and found that ours was WONDERFULLY quiet.

Overall, this is an old hotel, but nicely kept up. I would imagine an upgrade of the interior is also planned as there are some chips in the paint on door frames, etc. but those are all minor details. I also hope they are planning on replacing mattresses soon as ours seemed old.

Service was great--front desk gal was very helpful and friendly. I'll stay here again sometime, no problem. Next time, however, I think we'll upgrade to one of the fireplace rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Beware that this hotel is a historical landmark. Which translates to constant tours throughout the hotel on a daily basis from 9am-10pm daily! This includes a self tour of the hotel including all the guest room floors! Because this is an old hotel this noise volume is high especially with the tours stomping through the hall ways.

The service is lack luster at best.. There is no ice machine available to guests. You have to take you I've bucket down stairs to the front desk and hope you get a helpful front desk employee. If you get the gentlemen, he will say sorry I can't leave my desk to help you get ice. Just walk to the back yourself and ask someone back there?! Really? The person in the back will then tell you sorry guests are not allowed back here.. So I ask you, who is supposed to give the guests ice? Apparently, no one!

If you stay on the weekend, make sure you ask for a room that is not directly over the breakfast area that doubles as a party venue rental. If a party happens to be booked.. Expect extremely loud music and noise until 10PM. Forget complaining at the front desk because they will simply tell you that they have the room rented unt 10PM and "if we don't like the noise we can just check out," direct qoute from, Ronaldo the hotel concierge. Never mind that you are renting a room too.

So buyer beware.. Poor service, old rooms, rude front desk & concierge staff, constant tours daily.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I just arrived home yesterday after staying at the Queen Anne for a week, we were on our honeymoon/first year wedding anniversary (we didnt take a honeymoon right after we got married ) ! We loved SanFran and we LOVED The Queen Anne ! Not your "normal" Hotel .It was decorated for Christmas and It looked wonderful ! The beds were comfy , the room was clean , ya they are doing some renos outside but it didnt bother us at all ! The staff were all great ! VERY helpful and we got to know them very well !It is in the perfect area ,felt very safe ! My husband and I bought a MUNI pass to explore the city , it was well worth the money and it helped us see a lot! There is a little store right across the street that was helpful for snacks and drinks etc.We had such a great time in SanFran and at the Queen Anne we said every 10 years on our anniversary we will be back and will stay at the Queen Anne ! We have been home for a less than a day and we already miss both !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Me and my wife spent one week in the city of San Francisco, what a beautiful city! We booked the Queen Anne hotel and it was as beautiful as the city! Our room was more than big enough, the staff went beyond and above to help us while we played tourists. The cookie and sherry in the PM was a nice touch sitting by one of their fireplaces. This Victorian style hotel is a gem, located perfectly to access any of the tourist things to do. The complimentary breakfast was great too. We highly reccommend The Queen Anne hotel to anyone who is coming to San Francisco! Laura and Joey will make sure your stay is a good one. Thanks Queen Anne Hotel and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Location: The location was really nice and quiet. It felt safe. There wasn't really any stores or restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but it was possible to walk to some in about 10-15 minutes.

Rooms: The room was really nice and the bed was great. Big and confortable.

Staff: The estonian girl who served morning breakfast was fantastic. She was very helpful and accomodating. The rest of the staff varied between lazy and rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at The Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow! You are tough but generous critic. The most important thing; you had a good sleep in a on a very comfortable bed in nice room. This is the best news. However, you found all but one of our staff to be either lazy or rude. Very very sorry you felt this way as we all work hard to create a great guest experience. In the end, you benevolently granted us 4 out of 5 stars so you are indeed a kind soul. Hope to see you again sometime and impress you with our best service...worthy of 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Anne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.