We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - but overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Queen Anne Hotel to your Saves list
The Queen Anne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average Hotel - but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family and I stayed here in August - paid over $1,000 for 2 rooms for 2 nights after booking it a month before we arrived. Seems San Francisco was busy that week so we had little choice. we stayed at several hotels across the states in Grand Canyon, LA, Vegas, mammoth lakes, Yosemite and Phoenix and the queen Anne was the most expensive by miles and the worst of all rooms. I have heard of shabby chique but this was just shabby in my opinion. For that amount of money it was not worth it. The cookies and sherry don't make up for the noisy clunky lift that seems to shake the whole hotel and the average rooms. Our shower had a sloping roof and so we had so bend our knees to stand in it and I am only 5'10". I don't get claustrophobia normally but this seemed to bring it on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    199
    55
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
242
25
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's nothing wrong with sherry and cookies in the afternoon. This is a very friendly hotel. It's comfortable, in a great neighborhood and is full of character which you'd expect in a city like San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is filled with Victoriana and Edwardian furnishings and accessories.There is something to explore at every level. Gas fires in the lounge, chandeliers, historical artefacts. It is geared to old world charm and comfort and does it with style.
Tea and coffee are always available in the lounge and an added touch of luxury is the sherry and biscuits in the afternoon.
The breakfast is good and wholesome.
The staff are extraordinarily friendly.

Room Tip: This part of Sutter is mot a busy road, so most parts have a quiet overview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago while visiting San Francisco. Staff made a wonderful first impression. The guy checking us in was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the process. The female concierge showed us around a bit and told us about things that went on at the hotel. Very friendly touch. Felt like we were arriving at a friend's house for the weekend as opposed to a hotel. They even upgraded our room because they weren't that busy the night we checked in.

The hotel has a really cool feel. Antique furnishings and decor that really work to take you back to an old SF feel. Loved it.
Room (King) was not huge but not cramped either. Extremely clean and well put together. Bathroom was nice as well. Windows (in both bathroom and room) actually open, which is nice. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the linens were clean and comfy.

Location is nice and safe, but it's a bit removed from the heart of the city. Easy access to public transportation though, and the concierge was great about calling us cabs.

Would absolutely stay here again should I return to San Francisco, and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a unique experience at a good rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Headed up to San Francisco for a day of exploring this magnificent city. Chose the Queen Anne Hotel and room 410, because one of my many special interest is paranormal investigation, and photography. Although I didnt get to spend as much time as I would have liked exploring, it was still a very pleasant stay. The day was very full and busy. Even though the night was relatively quite, I did have some small activity inside the room. Some K2 hits and a couple of evp‘s, which I couldn‘t make out, was about all I was able to come out with. Room 410, which has been known for such activity, was very fashionable and clean. After it was all said and done, this is a place I will diffidently make a return visit too! Oh yes, great staff. Thanks Darlene!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was wonderful. This hotel is not the cheapest but is worth every penny. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom and closet was very spacious. Every inch of the hotel is beautiful. The location is great for exploring most of the city by bus or cab. The continental breakfast was just that, so I only ate there once. A 5 minute walk west is Sweet Maple where I had arguably the best breakfast of my life!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Queen Anne Hotel had a very old-timey victorian feel to it. The room itself was nice and so was the entry room, but the interior seems to be in need of a rennovation. There were holes in the wall in a couple spots in my room, the carpet looked old, and the worst part was that there was mold in the corners of the shower. It was black and it made me feel really uncomfortable. Luckily I only needed to use their shower once. The stairway is nice looking, and the breakfast was light but just what i needed. My mother in law paid about $400 for 2 rooms which I think was not worth it. I'd try a different place if you are looking for luxury at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Anne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.