We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker Guest House
Save
You added Parker Guest House to your Saves list
520 Church Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (The Castro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My partner & I just stayed 3 nights at the Parker Guest House, we had a wonderful time. From the time we arrived the staff was outstanding, they really make you feel welcome. The place is beautiful & well maintained, with lovely landscapes & outdoor spaces. We had the room that includes a private bathroom but it's down the hall. Which worked for us just fine. The breakfast in the AM & wine hour in the PM were great, we met some nice people. Location was great. We really enjoyed our stay & will do it again. Wonderful place. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    105
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
326
127
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamont-Achel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Parker Guest House is a truly great place to stay: nice rooms, extremely friendly stuff, and great common areas (with books, fireplace, piano and drinks served during the wine special), steam room. Castro with all its bars/shops/Castro theater/the historical F tram is just a few minutes away. A protected parking place is available (charged separately) and Ferrero Rocher chocolates in the room as the finishing touch.

The place is gay-owned, and the vicinity of Castro makes it to the ultimate place for gay people visiting San Francisco. However, I guess that everybody would enjoy the atmosphere in the Parker Guest House.

The rates are on the high side but you get great value for your money.

I've indicated "average" for the fitness center and the swimming pool, since there are none.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker520, Owner at Parker Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We appreciate them very much. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. - Parker Guest House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Travelled with my partner with a full itenarary from for a long weekend get away. We wanted to learn as much about San Francisco over a 4 day weekend and the Parker Guest House was a great choice. It did not take long to learn our way around. The staff was excellent and attentive to our needs. The first night we stayed in the larger King suite which was a very nice room and reasonably priced for San Francisco. We booked late and spent the remaining 3 nights in a Queen room with a private bath off the hallway. This accommodation was just fine as well. It did face to the street and was just fine. Could barely notice the street noice as the room had double pane windows. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Another stay at this fantastic well-kept B & B in a Deluxe King room. Staff are lovely, place is incredibly well maintained and location is awesome and there’s something magical about this place just love it! Room was large but could’ve done with a touch up and was at the front of the house so could hear the trams but still very very comfy. There is no other place I would want to stay in San Francisco: )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Solo or with someone special this B&B is well worth the money. Lovely rooms, well appointed and cared for. Bit smallish but then the two buildings are rather old and from another era so smaller size of rooms is something to be expected. Overall a clean and bright property.

The staff make the place work in a way that includes each and every guest. The overall feeling is one of being home away from home. Simple, appealing breakfast and great late afternoon wine gatherings make for pleasant company and social appeal that does not happen anywhere else that I have staid, well not as nicely done as this.

The location is easy enough to appreciate. Trolley runs outside the front gate and Bart is just a few blocks away. Access to eateries and shopping is easy and close.

The negative part was the number of homeless that seemed to be everywhere in the city. The B&B was off the beaten path and generally free of this situation. But perhaps that is about the City generally having little to do with the Parker Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I wish I could take this B&B on every trip I take.

ROOM: The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and well appointed.
PLACE: The cozy living room with a fireplace and brandy was warm and cozy. There are several outdoor patios to enjoy the nice weather.
BREAKFAST: The food was healthy and delicious.
SERVICE: The staff could not have been more efficient and welcoming.
LOCATION: Within walking distance of dozens of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The grounds are lovely, the staff is friendly, the rooms are beautiful and it is near all the public transportation one might need in getting around San Francisco. The sunrises are amazing from any of the front rooms and the garden rooms are just as tranquil and peaceful. I highly recommend you see for yourself what a gem this B&B is. You'll love the breakfast and atmosphere, it feels like family. Or if you are a lone wolf there is plenty of cute places to enjoy your breakfast or the wine social. Check it out. You'll be glad you did.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Address: 520 Church Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.