We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker Guest House
Save
You added Parker Guest House to your Saves list
520 Church Street, San Francisco, CA 94114 (The Castro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very enjoyable. Met some great people from around the world. Enjoyed getting to know them during the wine social and over breakfast. Close to many great restaurants and vibrant cafés. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    105
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
326
127
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A pleasant B&B, great breakfast spots and shops close by and train stops right out front. The staff were discreetly attentive, we wanted for nothing. Extremely quiety and immaculately clean. Gorgeous grounds (terrace / patio area) and there was always plenty of hot coffee at breakfast time to bide the time until we could go to Starbucks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was just so great. The staff welcomed us warmly and helped us with parking and unload our bags. They were all very attentive. They have a wine social in the evening and complimentary simple items available for breakfast in the morning in the full kitchen. The hotel consists of two buildings side by side with a very nice private courtyard between them for hanging out or even sunbathing if the weather permits. Walking distance to so many things. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Parker. A faultless stay in a delightful property. Walking distance to the excellent cafés and restaurants in 17th and Valencia. The staff were always helpful and friendly and went the extra mile. I was even able to shower 7 hours after checking out to freshen up fit a long-haul international flight.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Parker Guest House can be used to set the standard for all guest houses or hotels.
Beautifully decorated with early 1900 decor, but renovated & upgraded in the important bedrooms & bathroom areas.

We had a room with an ensuite bathroom, but other rooms had shared bathroom facilities. There is a shared large kitchen area, shared lounge areas & a back sunroom area, where you can mingle with the other guests. This normally happens at the "afternoon" social, where the guest house puts out free wine & nibbles. There is also a sauna, if you want to mingle wearing only a towel. Many a good time was had by all, at these socials.

You cant fault the staff, they are all very charming, very helpful, and very accomodating.

The breakfast served is a perfectly adequate juice,cereal,fruit,bread, coffee affair.

There is a coin operated laundry a few doors up from the guest house, which is really useful for those still travelling.

The guest house is very close to "MUNI" (municipal transport) buses & trolley cars, for those trips into town.

The guest house is within walking distance to the famed gay Castro area of San Francisco, so gay men make up the bulk of the guest list.

The only negative aspect is that is is not close to the "BART" (Bay Area Rapid Transport) train link from the airport. Sure you can get from the BART onto a trolley car, but who wants to carry luggage onto a trolley car. So you may need a taxi from the airport.

In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the guest house, we had a great stay, met many interesting people & I would whole heartedly recommend the "Parker Guest House" to others.

Room Tip: The single rooms, with shared bathroom facilities, in the original guest house, are adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Could not have picked a better spot for our stay in sf. Great location, adorable interiors, and fabulous service! We were able to hit the best shopping and restaurants -- Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a late arrival on Friday night and was met by Scott at the front gate and he was most welcoming. After a brief tour of the property he showed us to our room which was in the 2nd house on the ground floor. ( Luckily as we had been travelling for a month and suitcases were heavy and Scott was helping us with them getting up the stairs).
The room was spacious and managed to fit a trundle bed for when my cousin joined us for the last 2 nights of our stay. The breakfast was great and plenty to choose form and was always being replenished for those coming to breakfast at little later in the morning. The 2nd house also has a kitchen in which you can make your own tea/ coffee or take a tray for breakfast and have there if there is no room in the main house.
The location was great and easy to get downtown on the F BRAT straight up Church street to Market st. A few blocks either side had plenty of restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed the Castro district and the history of the Gay community visiting the museum and the Harvey Milk sights.
The Parker was recommend to us by our travel agent and we will be advising her to recommend all clients visiting San Fransico should be staying at the Parker.
We thank all staff for a great stay ( especially Scott)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Address: 520 Church Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.