We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice start to our holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Nob Hill Inn to your Saves list
The Nob Hill Inn
1000 Pine Street, At Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice start to our holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived in San Fran after a 28 hour journey from Australia and were delighted when we finally made it to our first destination and it turned out to be such a lovely one! True, the rooms are a bit on the dark side but I loved the features and character of the place and all the essentials (friendly staff, clean room, comfy bed) were a tick. Would always return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
76
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had three days here after a coach tour of California. What a splendid place. A lovely contrast with the corporate hotels on our tour. Charming staff and a very convenient place (especially for the cable car). Nice, light breakfast. Like staying at my old granny's place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stay away from room 11 unless you have a fetish for small rooms with no windows and no natural light. I know it is the city of Alcatraz, but that was stretching the theme too far. The room had a big bathroom though, which offered some respite.
We did complain about the room, but of course there were no other rooms available. The room was advertised as Queen's room, but there was nothing royal about the room.
Breakfast was boring and budget tight; one of the waitresses was the nicest ever though and we looked forward to seeing her each morning.
Front desk staff were very nice and helpful, so nothing bad to say there.
As for location, it is up there on top of a San Fran hill, so a 1/3/5 day pass for the trolley is a must unless you have your own car.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights at the Nob Hill Inn. I loved staying in an inn that was not in the heart of tourist district. The Inn was quiet and peaceful and well located near the California cable car line and Bus 1. We went everywhere in the city without a car.

The front desk staff were nice and helpful. Alway smiling and chearful.

The room was very clean, well decorated and the bed was comfortable.

My only negative was the poor quality of the breakfast, the coffee and the bath amenities. I just felt for the price of the room that all of these items need to be improved.

In the future I doubt if I will stay at this Inn again. I will stay in the neighborhood and stay in a VRBO for a lesser cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Nob Hill Inn for one night, and it was just what we were looking for. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn was beautifully decorated and very clean, and the location couldn't be beat. The only drawback was that our room (#5) was very small and had only a very small window to the outside, but we knew this in advance, and we spent very little time in the room, so it didn't really bother us. The bathroom was roomy and had a lovely tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my sister. We had a lovely time. The room was cozy and the bathroom was very cute and old style types. They have a vintage elevator also which makes the place very cute. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

All in all my sister and I loved it and we don't mind going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

we booked this "hotel" as we had read good reviews on trip advisor. When we arrived we greeted warmly by staff member. We paid in cash and had worked out the cost and yet her additions were over by 4 pennys so made a big whoop over it which was a bit silly. Our room was very disappointing. It was room 5 and it was very small. There were no windows to speak of and the room was totally dark with no natural light. The bed was very small, pushed against the wall and had an ugly bedspread on it. Only saving grace for this room was its bathroom, this was spacious by contrast to the bedroom and had a lovely iron free standing bath which was great for a bath but you could not shower properly.
The breakfast was average, you had a choice of one item muffin/croissant/bagel with yogurt and fruit if they had it. Yogurt served in unnessesary old fashioned glasses, trying to create illusion of a fancy breakfast.
The place is located in a quite area with no ammenities close by so a stiff walk down or up hills is required to get to anywhere, this would prove a problem for people not able for hills as there is no transport to this location.
On checking out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay, but pointed out "weirdly there is still 2 pennys due on your account ha ha ha" I looked at guy in disgust gave him the 2 pennys and left.
There are some nice rooms at this place but we were unfortunate to get one of the few rooms that should not be rented, it is not a hotel as it does not have the qualities required to call it that, and will only appeal to a particular generation who appreciate the free "tea & sherry" in the evening that is offered.
I would not recommend staying here as the price is not worth the discomfort and cheap attitude of staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nob Hill Inn

Address: 1000 Pine Street, At Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Nob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nob Hill Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nob Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.