We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent location literally two hundred yards from centre of Union Square, San Francisco. We paid the second highest room rate and received a nice boutique style room with a quality view of Union Square and the San Francisco skyline. Didn't find the Reception Staff very helpful on arrival and had to wait over forty minutes for room to be ready on arrival day plus the express check out facility as we were leaving at 5-30am on our departure day was a complete waste of time as we still needed to complete administration at main reception and the receptionist provided us with the incorrect paperwork! The rooms were maintained well, very clean and the hotel was reasonably quiet and provided the 'cute' provision of sherry, tea and coffee in the lobby each day at 4-30pm in the lobby. Location is the key for this hotel as you are a very short walk away from an abundance of restaurants, cafés and top shopping! Recommend Lauries Diner for breakfast and Lefty O Douls Irish Bar if your looking for a good laugh and a friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms has a view of Union Square and higher floors receive sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    373
    76
    29
    17
See reviews for
133
366
47
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The building that houses this hotel was constructed in 1925. The hotel's historic ambiance and architectural details provide ample charm. Top that off with some complimentary sherry or tea at 4:00 while you listen to the grand piano in the lobby. It feels it bit like living in a movie set.
Our double room faced the street but the glazed windows kept out the noises of the city. The room maintained all the charm of an old hotel, except it was beautifully quiet and appropriately updated. The beds were modern, comfortable, and like a down nest. The shower pressure, even on the 11th floor, was hearty and provided a fantastic, refreshing shower to go along with the complimentary morning coffee or tea.
The hotel staff was gracious, accommodating, and friendly. The Farallon Restaurant next door is handy - and delicious. They have a great happy hour, too. You'll be close to Union Square, but you'll far away from the bustle. We enjoyed our stay at the Kensington Park very much.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review to share with other travelers! It is so important for us to know what made your experience so special. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the charming amenities that the Kensington Park Hotel has to offer. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you want to be in the heart of San Francisco just off Powell on Union Square but not pay $400 a nite, this friendly boutique 4 star '20s hotel is a great choice. They serve Sherry nitely in the Lobby and tea and coffee in the am, plus the hotel is connected to one of San Francisco's best Seafood Restaurants, Farallon and great breakfast spots too. Front desk and Bob the concierge and Thai the houseman were great!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Patricia C.,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the full luxuries that the Kensington Park Hotel has to offer. We hope that you think of us on your next trip to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles. CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Small boutique hotel that puts you pretty much in the center of San Francisco, a block from Union Square. Building has been there since 1924 and the hotel has the top floors with the San Francisco Theatre sharing the bottom floors. Staff goes beyond the call of duty to help and make your stay comfortable.

Those are the pluses. Our room had very bad plumbing that seems to have not been touched since 1924. Staff repairman did the best he could but still not too good. Room very small, didn't expect too much but a bit stifling. Windows had to be open since no air conditioning and that meant loud street noise most of the night and beginning in the very early morning.

Sorry to say I would not recommend the hotel although everyone tries really hard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Ritas Torrance,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that our staff has left a good impression on you.

We would like to take this time to apologize for the inconvenience that the plumbing situation has caused you. We are actively making constant renovations on the building and its’ facilities. Due to San Francisco’s fluctuating weather conditions, we encourage our guests to utilize our ceiling fans and keep the sound proof windows closed to minimize the disturbance during the evening.

We hope that if you visit San Francisco again, you will give us another chance to impress you.

Kind Regards,
Samantha Dark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The lobby is small but lovely.and afternoon sherry and tea is a nice touch. The hotel staff is courteous, parking is easy and everything is within walking distance. Unfortunately, the room was very small for the 3 of us and none of us slept well. I recommend this hotel for one to two guests, but no more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the positive review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. Next time, let's book a larger room for better comfortability. We hope you think of us when planning your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Loved our stay at the Kensington Park Hotel! Fantastic service and great location (right across the road from Union Sq). The beds are the most comfortable beds ever. Loved the afternoon sherry with the beautiful piano player. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Greetings Traveller,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience, enjoyed the comfortable beds, and all the amenities offered! We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warmly,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Was there in july for business, from the outside it looks like a very old and stingy, that very misleading, althought the lobby has a old feel, the decor is eclectic and nice, this will not appeal to all visitors is ok for me, the front desk staff was very friendly. I got a high room towards the street and it was relatively quiet from the street noise, the neightbors were a different story! Very loud!
The rroom was a queen size bed well decor! Nice size! The bathroom was very large for hotel standards!
The second and third floor are a theather! I never felt any crowd at the hotel even though i was there days that included weekends and there was a play showing. The rest attached to the property is very good although i didnt went this trip,
I will stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review to share with other travelers! It is so important for us to know what made your experience special. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.