We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a nice room, clean and tidy. The room was one of the smaller ones but suited our needs. Right by Union Square so a great location for everything. Friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Greetings SF Traveller,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    352
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
125
348
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We picked this from a short list provided by the SF operator/air line.
A great choice for location, staff and definitely elegant style.
Unfortunately old style elegance doesn't allow for all modern facilities in the rooms , e.g. fridge, AC etc. Great bed and hot shower tho.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: get room on floors 10 to 12 with views - if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and all the antiquated charm that Kensington Park Hotel has to offer. We hope to see you upon your next visit to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, the hotel is nice, very small rooms,it has charm and character. Bed was comfortable & clean. Great Location, close to BART station, & just off Union Square. I would stay here again, just for the location. Maybe needs to improve room
Service dining, as there is any after 9pm.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear DeeDev11,

Thank you for taking the time to post review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you felt the hotel was nice, charm and character.
You discovered one of our gems and it’s the comfort of our beds and clean rooms.
We are disappointed to hear you felt our rooms were small. We do have a variety of rooms; our rooms range between 275 sq ft. to 325 sq ft.

Overall, we are glad you enjoyed our location is which is unbeatable.

We appreciate your suggesting and we assure you that we most certainly be taking into consideration with future developments.

We take our guests feedback very seriously and thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can best improve the quality of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located next to Union Square and steps away from the trolley. The hotel does a great job of creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere. They have coffee and tea available in the mornings, and sherry available in the afternoons (all complimentary and self-serve). A pianist performs in the lobby every day in the late afternoons. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds. The hotel is part of a theater and there are patrons coming in before the showtime. This wasn’t an inconvenience at all and if we had more time I would have loved to check out the show. We would definitely stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank You for staying with us! We are so glad to read that you enjoyed the amenities and comfortable beds offered at the Kensington Park Hotel. We hope that you think of us next time you vacation to San Francisco.

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for 3 nights. The location of the hotel is excellent being only 1 block from Union Square, shopping and various restaurants. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds, although the room is a little small the accommodations are quite comfortable and very quaint. Quality over quantity. There is no air conditioning in the room, but you don't need it. The room stays cool with the window open and fan going. The hotel staff made you feel very welcomed and offered much appreciated tips for getting around to all the touristy spots. The hotel offers free fruit water and tea during the day and sherry at night. There are several breakfast spots located nearby like Sears and the coffee shop next door. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a higher room away from post street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank You so much for the positive and thorough review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Kensington Park Hotel. We hope that you consider staying with us upon your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I've stayed here twice, one year apart, each time for about three nights. I love the location, steps from great shopping, movies, public transport, some good restaurants. They do not serve breakfast but there are two wonderful diners around the corner. The rooms are nicely appointed, beds and bedding clean, comfortable and contemporary, bathroom good size, a little ragged around the edges but nice. The front desk staff are very helpful. The concierge, not so much. I wouldn't bother asking him anything, honestly. The Union Square area is very pricey and if you book enough in advance, this hotel is a bargain for the area. As a woman traveling alone, I want to be sure I'm in an area that's safe at night. I've stayed at others in that price range and had to move, the room was so bad. That's how I found the Kensington Park and I was delighted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Greetings!

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us at the Kensington Park Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope that you see us on your next trip to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have recently stayed in San Francisco for 3 nights in the kensington psrk. Accommodation was really good. Bed very comfortable, bathrooms s bit dated, but charming at the same time.
the hotel is a few yards from union square and the trolley exchange. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#83 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.