We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great value for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I've stayed here twice, one year apart, each time for about three nights. I love the location, steps from great shopping, movies, public transport, some good restaurants. They do not serve breakfast but there are two wonderful diners around the corner. The rooms are nicely appointed, beds and bedding clean, comfortable and contemporary, bathroom good size, a little ragged around the edges but nice. The front desk staff are very helpful. The concierge, not so much. I wouldn't bother asking him anything, honestly. The Union Square area is very pricey and if you book enough in advance, this hotel is a bargain for the area. As a woman traveling alone, I want to be sure I'm in an area that's safe at night. I've stayed at others in that price range and had to move, the room was so bad. That's how I found the Kensington Park and I was delighted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Greetings!

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us at the Kensington Park Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope that you see us on your next trip to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    385
    77
    29
    17
See reviews for
135
376
47
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have recently stayed in San Francisco for 3 nights in the kensington psrk. Accommodation was really good. Bed very comfortable, bathrooms s bit dated, but charming at the same time.
the hotel is a few yards from union square and the trolley exchange. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a one night layover. The hotel is steps away from Union Square and the best shopping, filled with details and old world charm. The staff was very helpful and nice. The room was perfect, bathrooms were a bit old but overall we had a great experience. I would highly recommend the Kensington Park Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and would recommend us to other travelers. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Location of this hotel is very good just few steps from Union Square. The building is old and everything is arranged in old style, it was very nice and pleasant. Room was clean and service was very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings Mateus K,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First trip to San Fran and am happy to say that I will be back.

The room is cute and cozy, and even has a closet to hang my clothes and open the suitcases. Bathroom is a good size. The decor is very cool! Concierge was always very helpful.

The hotel is very well located.It has restaurants and retail at a block distance. I walked to most tourist attractions, except the Golden Gate. If you enjoy walking you can go to the Piers and enjoy the sight seeing walking.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Sear's is great! If you enjoy a good beer don't miss "Rogue Pub". It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear CarolCoronel,

Thank you very much for staying at Kensington Park Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in San Francisco,

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for 4 nights on our "mini-moon" in San Francisco and it was absolutely lovely! We were upgraded to a king room with a view on arrival, and I purchased the "celebration package" as a surprise for my wife. Though it wasn't ready upon our arrival, we went out for dinner and did some shopping and returned to our bottle of champagne chilling in the very unique top hat ice bucket and a selection of Ghirardelli chocolates. The beds were very comfortable and the room was actually a bit bigger than I had anticipated as I have stayed in similar styles of hotel in other big cities, so I was impressed with that. The hotel is old but very well kept, it feels charming and unique with age, rather than run down and dingy. The lobby area is very cool, from the art, to the piano, to the tea and sherry service, to the old key slots behind the front desk. The staff were great, the rooms were clean, and the location can't be beat!
It's easy to get to bus stops, muni stations, and the cable car turnaround, and it's steps away from plenty of shopping (Macy's, Tiffany's, Victoria's Secret, Nike, and much more are across the street - Bloomingdale's, Urban Outfitters, Nordstrom's, etc. are a short walk away). Perfect for a San Francsico getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Carly17,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Kensington Park Hotel during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the location, and amenities. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The best thing of this hotel is its location right in the heart of San Francisco. The price is really fear. Rooms are large and fairly good considering the old age and style and clean. No facilities and luck of bteakfast could be a problem. Someone should ask for a room over 10th floor in order to avoid some small noise from outside since you are just in the center.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear kalimeraaaaaaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Kensington Park Hotel. We are happy to read that your stay was a positive one. Unfortunately we do not provide breakfast; however we do serve complimentary tea and water throughout the day. Please note that our guests have the ability to use our sister property’s gym facility which is open 24 hours a day.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.