We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment on Douglas is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Save
You added Inn on Castro to your Saves list
321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Apartment on Douglas is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were two adult couples travelling, and this apartment was a great place to stay. The Douglas apartment is tastefully decorated, with tons of common space in the kitchen/dining area and the living room, one full and one half bath, and two large bedrooms with comfortable beds. Even better, the backyard has a lovely lemon tree. The apartment is in a charming old San Francisco house, with high ceilings, wooden floors, and pretty little architectural details. It's nice to stay in a home rather than a soulless hotel.

The location was great. Castro is a couple of blocks away, and both 18th St. and Castro have plenty of dining options. There's a grocery store around the corner if you want to cook for yourself. We didn't have a car, but that wasn't a problem as transit is very easy to access and there are lots of interesting places to explore in very walkable distances.

When we come back to San Francisco, we'll be hoping to book here again!

Room Tip: We had to check into the Inn itself, and it seemed like a great place to stay for smaller groups, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    81
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
194
82
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very pleasant change from the industrial luxury that the hotel business has generally become. The innkeeper, Jan, has created a small European-style country inn and planted it in the gay heart of, the Castro. The welcome is warm and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean, and the family-style breakfast each morning is done with a creative flair that one might expect, but still feels like home. My one criticisms is minor: the wifi was only about 80% reliable. I hope that's not enough to dissuade anyone from booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Charming place
Charming rooms, clean and quiet
The breakfast is fantastic : fruit, eggs, etc
The owner is very welcoming and kind
A place to stay when you sent to visit san Francisco
The tramway is just next to the B&B

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the first five nights, starting Christmas night, my daughter and I shared 90 Casselli, a two- bedroom apartment rented thru the Inn. Reasonably priced, well-appointed, wi-if included, but we didn't care for most of the artwork....rather depressing.. Bathroom upgraded to a rain shower, but the water pressure could have been stronger. Very nice neighborhood; easy walk to my daughter's home.

Last night spent in the white room at the Inn; really lovely. Jan, the host, very nice, and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Choice of two hot items, mushroom scramble, or apple pancakes' that morning. Plenty of fruit, cereal and nut bread.

The traffic and trolleys were a bit loud in the morning, but this is a city neighborhood after all. The Inn is just above the intersection of Market and Castro...just perfect for a quick trip to the Creme brûlée cart.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Douglass St 2-bedroom apt over 2012-13 New Year's holiday. Very quiet location, yet within walking distance of Castro commercial area. Facilities very spacious for 3 adults. Able to host 9 for drinks before dinner out without feeling cramped. A full 2 baths would be a plus (& a higher room rate) but for 3 adults the smallish 1 1/2 baths sufficed. Unrestricted street parking available a short walk uphill. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've been regular visitors to the Inn on Castro for about 10 years. Always a great experience and we look forward to seeing and conversing with Jan. The rooms are comfortable and in great shape. Excellent views of the city and bay from some parts of the building. Very convenient location for the Castro neighborhood and on major transportation routes for getting around the city. Always an interesting variety of other guests (gay and straight) making for great conversation over Jan's delicious and varied breakfast. We recommend the Inn highly!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a terrific location on the "quiet side" of Castro, across Market St. Mere steps to the subway/bus the area is bursting with clubs, restaurants, stores - you're smack dab in the middle of The Castro, the navel of the known gay world! Interestingly, Inn on the Castro attracts a variable crowd in addition to a loyal gay clientele - straights, Europeans, world adventurers, etc. Makes for lively, interesting conversation around the full breakfast served each morning. Minor qualms; rooms were too warm or too cold a lot. Couldn't get any hot shower water one morning (guess everyone was showering at once.) A tad pricey as well but this is after all San Francisco, not the land of bargains. Still, a great find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Castro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.