We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True San Francisco living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“True San Francisco living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on Castro over the holidays. This was our first stay and we were very impressed. Due to the timing, we stayed in the Yellow room for a couple of nights, and then switched to the Brown room for one night.
Each room was well equiped, comfortable and had a private bathroom. I was very impressed by the complimentary wifi, water and sodas. Also, breakfast was included in the rate.
The Inn is located very close to the Castro Muni station. It is also conveniently close to various restaurants and bars.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also provided a map when we checked in, which was very helpful.
The Inn comes highly recommended, and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The Brown room has a nice view with lots of windows. It can become a bit noisy with the station clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    68
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
170
71
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my first time staying at the Inn on Castro, stayed in an apartment separate to the inn. This was a great experience cos it made it feel like you lived in san fran like a local. The apartment was in a great location and had everything you needed provided. It was great for the price, i have paid more for a hotel room. Excellent experience and value for money, would definitely stay again on next visit, loved it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the Inn on Castro, and it was every bit as excellent as the first time! We love the location near the Castro, BART, and Light Rail. Jan and the team really do a great job from the moment you check in, to breakfast every morning, to sharing information about local restaurants and attractions. In both cases, our room was comfortable, clean, spacious and nicely decorated.

We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We like both the Red and Brown rooms, but I hear the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Inn on Castro, and surrounding area was the highlight of our trip. In the city, close to the mission district and more, the vibe is chill and relaxed unlike more congested areas of san fran. The Inn itself was artsy, clean, comfortable and loaded with extras that you would not find elsewhere for this price. We should have paid triple the price for the service we received. Staff was very helpful to us as we tried to navigate the city, and they gave a list of recommended restaurants and etc. The green room was absolutely precious-there's just no other way to describe it-and the host, Jan was more than helpful, and cooked a delicious breakfast.
The only downfall to our stay was that we didn't book every night at the Inn on Castro...
I highly recommend staying here, and I feel lucky to have found this gem for our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We rented a self cattering apartment, the one on Douglass Street. It's almost a little house, bigger than what we expected.

First, the location: perfect!
At a walking distance of all commodities (supermarket with organic food, post office, café, restaurants, cable car line,...), the apartment is still very quiet. It is amazing that the location is so central and we were able to enjoy a great night of sleep without hearing any noise around.
Plus the houses in the neighborood are beautiful, surounded by beautiful scented trees and flowers.
Now the home:it is very charming, decorated and furnished with taste. The beds in both bedrooms are very comfortable, The bathroom is small but very functional and enjoyable. Fresh towels and big bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided.
The sitting area is beautiful, with antique furniture and a fire place, and windows offering a nice view on Douglass street.
The kitchen is fully equiped and the cabinet was full of condiments, coffee, tea, pasta,... everything you may need in case you arrive starving or tired and/or with a kid and just want to eat pasta, take a bath and go to bed!
Oh, and there's a washer, a drier, and a dishwasher!
The outide patio and the garden are very nice, and what a luxury to have a fig tree and an orange tree in your backyard in San Francisco!
Finally, the owner is very accomodating and nice.
Really, I can't say enough about this place, a jewel in the heart of San Francisco.
I am not gay, I stayed there with my kid, my mother and grandmother, and we had the time of our life, and couldn't have picked a more friendly, beautiful, central neighborhood in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was in SF for a conference and stayed through the weekend to visit family. My husband and I stayed here about a year ago and we were happy to see there were rooms available for this trip! We stayed in the Green Room. The room is spacious and the bed is really comfortable. There was a decanter of scotch in the room and bottled water and pop at no charge. There's a great library with a variety of books and magazines.
A huge bonus is the Inn is just 1/2 a block from the Muni station, which made it really easy to get to my conference at the Moscone Center and go sightseeing around town. There is a grocery store a couple blocks away and tons of great restaurants, shops, and even a Philz coffee in the neighborhood. Jan makes an amazing breakfast too - don't miss it! This is my favorite place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Inn on Castro. Jan was an excellent host and breakfast was totally amazing. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for Jan or any of his staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending Inn on Castro to any guest.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. We chose the 'white' room which had the king size bed, but any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Castro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn on Castro to your Saves list