We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb self-catering apartment on a quiet street near the Castro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Save
You added Inn on Castro to your Saves list
321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Superb self-catering apartment on a quiet street near the Castro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My mother, husband, and I stayed at the Caselli apartment run by the Inn on Castro. It was a perfect, beautiful getaway - a spacious, clean, and well-appointed two bedroom ground floor flat with living room, lovely bathroom, and full kitchen. I was impressed on how many thoughtful details the owners had included.

For example, the kitchen cabinets had some coffee, creamer, sugar and sweetener -- two kinds of instant coffee -- oatmeal and granola -- several soups -- and multiple herbs and spices to help with cooking. There is a fine local natural foods grocery store 3 blocks away, which made it easy to prepare meals and snacks. They also left a comprehensive list of nearby restaurants, and there were shelves of fiction and nonfiction books.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    81
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
194
82
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay got off of to a slightly bumpy start as our rooms were not ready at check-in time which was difficult because we had plans and needed to change and leave. We were given a very helpful introduction to SF with a map and suggestions of things to do and transport options. We stayed in one of the apartments but it was not clear when we booked that this was at a different location which is a 10 mins walk. Luckily our bags were transported over there otherwise we would have had to call a taxi. Not quite so close to transport but a lovely, quiet SF street. No breakfast for us. The apartment was a great size. Bathroom modern. TV was in one of the bedrooms which was a bit of a pain. We enjoyed staying here as an option for two friends rather than a twin room as we had two generous sized bedrooms. That being said the rooms could definitely do with a lick of paint and an update as they haven't been decorated for quite awhile and there was a dead caterpillar in the middle of one of the bedroom floors!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I are big supporters of B&B's. Needless to say, we've had our fair share of the good, bad and ugly of this aspect of local hospitality.
The short version: If you want a delicious ( organic) breakfast, a great location, a spacious, clean room - look no further.
The long version: We were in SF for 5 days and were so in love with this place:
SWEETEST host: Yong was such a delight! He is truly an old soul from another lifetime and we had such great conversations about life and travel. He knows the city really well and will help you get about most efficiently!
- AWESOME location: on the corner of Market/Castro - across the street from the Castro Mkt MUNI), a block from a bunch of great restaurants and bars, and the tram service that takes you virtually everywhere in the city
YUMMY breakfast: Freshly made hot entree, HEALTHY without being bland, organic, complemented with generous portions of fruit, yoghurt, baked goods, juice/coffee/tea
GREAT service: We requested our shower head to be change and it was taken care of within the hour!
I mean..what more can you ask for! Don't waste your $$ on an impersonal, overpriced hotel chain. Come here!!

Room Tip: The Biblioteca is right at the back, has a king bed and is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I had a perfect weekend here. It's like having your own home base in the fun Castro area. Stayed in the white room, amazing view. Bonuses: Decanter of free whiskey and a little fridge stocked with free drinks. Lots of books to borrow. Epic breakfasts. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: White room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had several days of business in the Castro and wanted something close and convienient. The Inn on Castro met all my needs. Easy walking distance, good public transportation and accomodatring staff. Charming old inn, the real San Francisco expierience. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay at the Inn whenever I travel to San Francisco. The location is great and the food and service are excellent. I Highly recommend it to anyone traveling to San Fran. It is like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having lived in the Bay Area prior to my visit back this last weekend, I knew of the Inn on Castro. However, I did not know how lovely it is inside. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the food, the other guests, the owner, and the patio. This place is a great value in a great location!!

Room Tip: Loved the Patio Room...spacious and with use of the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro Street, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Castro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.