We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boheme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed for 6 nights at The Hotel Boheme and thought it was fantastic. As we had done our homework and read other reviews we understood that this was a small boutique hotel with no lift and were expecting the rooms to be small maybe noisy if we were on the front.
However, I am not sure if staying in room 208 has a distinct advantage over the rooms but it was perfect. We didn't think the room was too small at all, especially compared to hotels in the Centre of London. We had plenty of natural light on the back and it was quiet. It didn't bother us in the slightest that we had to carry our bags up some stairs.
The staff were extremely polite and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The location is absolutely a plus point, it is safe with plently of restaurants and bars. Washington Square is round the corner, the Beat history on your doorstep and a 20 minute stroll takes you right down to fisherman's wharf and the piers.
The only thing that slightly frustrated us was the noise of the showers when guests woke up early, they were very loud in our room but we used our ear plugs we had bought just in case and we were able to sleep really well.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the noise of the showers
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
121
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wenatchee, wa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Pretty much on par with what you will read on this site. The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are small/cozy and as with many places in San Francisco there is no AC. We have found the nights to be cool enough when leaving windows open. The night cap of sherry is a very comfortable touch.

Location was great for what we wanted to do. We were able to walk to Pier 33 area to the south, Fisherman's Wharf to the north, and a great restaurant called Frascati's to the west. North Beach is primarily Italian restaurants. Also very close to Chinatown if you want to see that.

All and all it was what we expected and served our needs quite well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size/lack of refridgerator/microwave for leftovers :)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at the hotel. Although it is not a plush modern hotel, we certainly thought it was a charming little place.

Yes, there are some stairs and no elevators, but so what.. it is only one floor to climb. We carried our own luggage. Didn't even think twice about it.

We got there hours earlier than our check-in time and thought that we'll just drop off our bags and come back. Since the people who stayed at our room had just left the nice man at the counter took our cell number, prioritized the cleaning of our room, and got us in promptly.

The room was nice. It was small but that is typical of most rooms in a major city, especially SF. The decor was very nice. The bathroom doesn't have a tub but everything was clean. The tv is small but we didn't go there to watch tv shows.

Our room faced the street on the second floor. The neighborhood is great! My favorite in SF. I had a good time just sitting at the window and people watching. The one negative thing is that we slept with the windows open and it was a bit loud.

I thought that the negative reviews were a bit unfair. I don't think anyone should expect this place to have all the amenities of a modern 5 star hotel. If you do, check into a Hilton. This is a hotel of older elegance and it does feel special in many ways. It is also very reasonably priced (considering location). I'd recommend this place and will consider staying here again.

  • Liked — The room, the neighborhood
  • Disliked — A bit noisey at night (weekend) for our room facing the street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I agree with weekapaug...I don't understand the rave reviews for this place. I looked over the hotel's website before booking, and nowhere was it mentioned that there is no air conditioning and there are no elevators. Seems like something people might want to know before booking a $200/night room, especially if they have health or mobility issues.

There is also no parking or valet, not even temporary parking while you run in to get directions to the nearest parking garage. My husband had to circle the block repeatedly while I got the garage directions, not an easy feat in this neighborhood.

After lugging our suitcases up two long flights of stairs, we were hot and sweaty and had only our creaky open window and a small fan for relief. We marveled at the tiny TV, in a size we didn't even think was still manufactured. Then we flushed the toilet, and the flush handle fell off. Yes, fell off. In a $200/night room with no AC. Fortunately the lady at the desk was able to fix it, but I told her I expected a discount, as the hotel was full and we could not be given a different room.

The free sherry in the reception area was no longer a perk after this, but a necessity.

Unless you're the kind of person who enjoys backpacking through Europe, avoid this hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemeSanFrancisco, General Manager at Hotel Boheme, responded to this review, August 28, 2008
We apppreciate that not every hotel is for everyone. Almost every guest loves hotel Boheme and our ratings are almost always excellent. We are a 15 room hotel. Our rates are $174 and $184 (not $200). We are not a 5 star hotel and don't pretend to be. That is why our rates are so reasonable for San Francisco.
We are in a wonderful building. It was built in 1907 and, like most small buildings in this city, has no elevator. The staff helps carry bags when we are able.
The rooms are well maintained and spotless but the unforeseen will sometimes occur such as a toilet handle breaking. This was fixed right away.
We have no airconditioning but have not had a need for it. San Francisco is not a hot city.
Our small staff has been here an average of 6 years and none have been here less than 2 years. We all enjoy working in the best small hotel in the best location in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We just spent 3 nights at the Boheme - the staff are really friendly and helpful the rooms although on the small side are clean the bathroom was excellent. i would definItely stay here again. Great location for anywhere in SF

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was dark
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I really don't understand how this hotel is ranked so high on TripAdvisor. My wife and I (we're in our late 20's) just stayed here at the end of July for 3 nights and were somewhat disappointed. Like other reviews mention, there is no elevator and TON of steps. If you're carrying up luggage, good luck! Check-in was fine, no issues.

I know the rooms were described as being small by other reviewers and even the hotel when booking but jeeez man. They were TINY. With both of our suitcases on the floor we literally had no room to walk. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a terrible view. The hotel has no AC and even though it was not that hot, the room always felt stuffy and warm. The bathroom was also very small and found it difficult to move around in (I'm 6'0, 175lbs).

The location is the best part of the hotel. Within walking distance to most tourist attractions in the city and there are bus stops located very close to the hotel as well. The restaurant located to the left of the hotel when exiting was terrible. I think it was called Calzones. The following night we had dinner at The House which was only 1 block from the hotel. It was by far one of the best meals I've had ever.

Stan, the evening shift front desk person was also very helpful with directions and suggestions for sightseeing and meals.

I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Samll rooms, lots of steps, no AC
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I was disapointed by Hotel Boheme, and for once i don’t share the general opinion of the T.A. reviews .
OK, the deco is great , there is a special atmosphere , and the location is good , even if i prefer Union Square .... but , what else ?
There is no elevator, be prepared if you have heavy suitcases ; our room was small, there was no bathtub , only a shower, no coffeemaker , the TV was a bit larger than a box of matches (bring binoculars if you actually intend to watch it ) , and the room was directly on Colombus avenue , an important street of San Francisco with a lot of traffic night and day , and peole speaking loudly or screaming .. night and day too !
The staff is professional , i wouldn’t say friendly .
The breakfast is not included and even not possible ; ok, there is a big choice of cafes around , but it makes an aditional cost on the bill.
I don’t say it is a bad hotel , but when you evaluate something you have to consider what you get and what you pay : i am sorry , but it is overpriced and for more than 200$ / night without complimentary breakfast there are better deals in San Francisco ; see for example my other review here.
If i return to San francisco it will certainly not stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — The location and the decoration
  • Disliked — Few amenities , overpriced
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Address: 444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.