We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, clean tidy room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel Boheme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, clean tidy room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived on my own in San Francisco for a few days before I met up with a tour group to travel the down the coast. This hotel was in the perfect location with only a 15/20 min walk to Fishermans Wharf. The hotel does not include breakfast but there are so many cafes and restaurants to choose from at any time. The staff were very helpful in telling me the best ways to get to and from Fishermans Wharf, Union Square etc. They gave good but honest restaurant suggestions which was fantastic. The room is basic and albeit a little dark due to the lighting but it was very clean.

I had to move to a Best Value Inn close in Union Square to meet with the group and was so glad I had chosen the Boheme hotel for my first few days as it gave me the best location and made me feel safe for my first few days on my own. All in all, brill hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    84
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
16
150
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landisville, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for nine days and really enjoyed our stay. Great location - lots of stores and restaurants right out the front door. Within walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square and Fishermans Wharf. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room. Bathroom a little small but we didn't mind. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you mind street noise request a room in the rear of the hotel - Columbus Avenue can be a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during October, This is a lovely little boutique hotel in fantastic location in san francisco. The customer service was excellent from checking in to leaving. Always helpful. The sherry was great :)
There is no safe in the room, but there are safety boxes with reception which we used free of charge.
The toiletries are lovely (lemongrass).
We had a room right on the front over the road and having read the reviews, took ear plugs and as a result there was no problem with noise at all.
Although the room was small it was quaint and very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but the only drawback for me was that there was no breakfast and I thought it was expensive ($240 a night before tax). I felt paying predominantly for location.
I did return to SF as part of this trip but chose to stay in alternative accomodation for less money with breakfast included (location was not so important this time around as knew the area).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location in North Beach.
Hotel is very clean and tastefully decorated , our room was quite small so difficult with 2 large suitcases.Beautiful art deco bathroom with lovely towels and soaps.
The staff were over and above helpful, dealing with airline issues and arranged inexpensive transportation to the airport.
They also had recommendations of where to eat.
North Beach has lots of restaurants/cafes/shopping - easy walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf, Telegraph Hill etc.

Room Tip: No elevator so you need to carry your bags up stairs. Lots of street noise on a Wednesday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotels location is great, North Beach is a great place to spend a few quiet days. Its an intimate small boutique hotel quite romantic. The beds weren't all that great but for 3 days it was doable, we mainly went out and took to the sites.For a few days away from it all, it's ok.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Public areas uniquely quirky boutique in the heat of North beach which is known as Little Italy. However, this hotel could move up a half a star rating if they invested in better mattresses and bedding. Rooms are very tiny. Colour scheme not relaxing. Ceiling is a toned down lime colour with dark salmon walls. Room feels claustrophobic. Bedspread looked soiled. Wicker arm chairs with cushions need new Upholstery. No air conditioning. Bathrooms are clean and look recently renovated with new fixtures. A lot of Italian restaurants near by. Walls are paper thin, so noise travels. As a woman, I would not feel comfortable staying here alone. Lots of girly bars near by. Free Internet.

W

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel had great location,nice staff,but you feel as if time has stopped once you enter the hotel.A very small entrance welcomes you,immediately after you go up the staircase to the first floor,if you are lucky you get a room on this floor or it is another round of stairs to reach the second floor and so on.The rooms are rather small but suit the purpose,Free WIFI is great.The disadvantages are NO LIFT,NO A.C.,NO PORTER TO HELP WITH THE SUITCASES,no extra electric sockets for use,no tea or coffee.I would have preferred to stay at a modern hotel with updated facilities for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#118 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#63 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman...
#70 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,188 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#86 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#62 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Address: 444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.