We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time out hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel Boheme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Beirut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time out hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel had great location,nice staff,but you feel as if time has stopped once you enter the hotel.A very small entrance welcomes you,immediately after you go up the staircase to the first floor,if you are lucky you get a room on this floor or it is another round of stairs to reach the second floor and so on.The rooms are rather small but suit the purpose,Free WIFI is great.The disadvantages are NO LIFT,NO A.C.,NO PORTER TO HELP WITH THE SUITCASES,no extra electric sockets for use,no tea or coffee.I would have preferred to stay at a modern hotel with updated facilities for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    78
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
139
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are moderate travelers, so when we stay at the same place 3 times, it's meaningful. The Hotel Boheme on Columbus Ave. in the heart of North Beach is the sort of place where you genuinely feel you have left "real life" behind and gotten away. it's not Shangri-La, but comfort, narrow corridors, color, "sherry at 5" and a sense of the past. We go to one of the cafes, then browse for hours at City Lights Bookstore - which IS Shangri-La for readers.

Room Tip: Looking out upon the Avenue with its giant "broccoli trees" and vivid cafe life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has character and I can imagine people will either love it or hate it. This family was split down the middle! Grown ups liked the location, decor and friendly staff (but not the stairs!), kids disliked the lack of a big TV and the "small and gloomy" room. We had good recommendations for food and really appreciated being in the middle of an historic SF neighbourhood. Would stay again (but on our own next time...)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I love the Hotel Boheme; it is steeped in history as well being in the perfect location. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The only downsides are the lack of lifts so you have to carry your suitcases up the stairs and the rooms are quite small compared to the 'chain' hotels. But you can't beat it for location; there is a multitude of restaurants on your doorstep as well as bars which were frequented by the Beatniks. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi en Route
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The location couldn't have been better when we were dropped of by the airport SuperShuttle outside the door of Hotel Boheme...right in the heart of the Italian section of North Beach. Next door the sidewalk tables of Restaurant Calzone filled with relaxing,imbibing diners enjoying the afternoon sun...the neighborhood has a wonderful atmosphere.
Boheme has the personal touch of a boutique hotel. Pulling heftily from associations with the Beat Gen, it doesn't need to be modern. The rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable...who needs a TV when you are just in this locale for a couple of nights. Could have done with a couple more wall sockets for charging the electronic paraphenalia though. A nice touch of complimentary sherry's after 5 at reception.
A really pleasant stay in a fabulous part of the city. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 702 had the aircon noise from the neighbouring restaurant which did give a distracting backgrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Boutique, cosy. Actually tired and small. Staff were great but gave us poor advice about where to eat. Don't eat locally - go right out of the door and second right down Stockton where there are loads of quality places to eat.
Location of Boheme is great. We walked to Union Square through China town and it's an easy walk to Peir 39 too. Just don't go left and left again unless you want a smutty style experience.
Overall not bad but we had a pokey room and there were no tea/coffee facilities which was not consummate with the charges (plus tax!!).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are up for history, especially the beat generation, Alan Ginsberg's old hangouts are all within walking distance. The deco brings back the beat generation days. If you like Italian cuisine, Chinese food, and even Spanish and French cooking, you could not have been at a better location. Free sherry every night offered by the hotel. I can look outside my window and watch the diners and waiters next door.
The place does not have an elevator and the screeking noise of the wood stairs of this old Victorian house may feel haunted, although that is part of the charm for me. Some may be bothered by the traffic noise from Columbus, although I enjoyed sitting by the window and watching the world go by.
Financial district is a little bit of walk, which I enjoyed. Fisherman's Wharf is also within a pleasant walk away, passing by tons of restaurants, gelatos, coffee shops and Washington Square along the way. Buses and taxis are easy ways to get around if walking is a problem.

Room Tip: If you like people watching and don't have problem with traffic noise, pick a room on the Columb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Address: 444 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.