We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clift Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clift Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Clift Hotel San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #64 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Elwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The room was pretty and clean. The hotel staff were very nice. Nice sized bathroom and comfortable bed. For the money, it was nice but not outstanding. Good location, walk anywhere from here in the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    724
    298
    166
    95
See reviews for
140
761
129
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Clift hotel is are short walk from everything in Union Square and is right next to several theaters . Nice rooms and great service and a fun bar area . There is also a great little sandwich place right across the street

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We'd had drinks with friends before in this joint's exquisite bar, but had never stayed here until this past Sunday night. Following a destination wedding weekend that had us in the beautiful wine-and-redwoods milieu of Mendocino County, the quirkily luxurious Clift was exactly the counterpoint we needed. Everyone, and I do mean everyone we encountered on staff seemed utterly delighted that we'd chosen to stay here. Checkin was effortless. Our corner room with city views in two directions could not have been better. We loved the minimalist-yet-luxe decor, the subtle colors, the whimsy. The bed was heavenly. The water pressure in the shower, even more heavenly. Put all this in a location only steps from the pleasures of Union Square and Nob Hill, and you have a place that beckons return. Oh, and the complimentary morning coffee equals bliss in a paper cup!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with city views. Rooms with courtyard views would be kind of dreary, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time your in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had one great night at this hotel in SF. Had a Jr suite and it was awesome. Spacious, great lay out, comfortable bed, sitting room, desk, great lighting. Really enjoyed my stay. It was a little noisy outside being that I was only on the 4th floor but you're in SF and there is a club downstairs so it kind of makes sense.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on Geary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel. Were extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. The hotel is very well situated. The room service is very well priced with American size portions so don't over order! My only criticism is it is like a coffin! Very dark, which is a shame as it is lovely inside. Many Europeans we spoke to said the same. You don't want to sit in the lobby without a torch!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to our hotel. Our hotel design and decor is very unique. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Clift at the beginning of a driving tour of CA. They were so welcoming, the hotel had a lovely vibe, peaceful and calm in the day, and at night the Bar area was the place to be. A few minutes walk to Union Square to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by, situated in a classy street full of beautiful independent art galleries....A few minutes walk from the Open Top Bus pick up. The bedroom we had on the 16th floor was outstanding - stunning views of SF skyline, comfortable, quiet, every mod con you could wish for. All in all a perfect stay and will certainly be back. Oh, and the breakfast in the Velvet room was wonderful - all fresh, organic foods, and again peaceful and polite service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, so it is quiet, and upgrade to Executive room as they are much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response. We are extremely excited that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We randomly got this hotel on a hotwire deal. Overall I am happy with it. The location is very good. We originally rented a car at the airport for part of our trip up north, but returned it downtown prior to seeing the city since we didn't want a car in SF. The car return was basically one block from this place- so it was very convienient to return the car and walk to the hotel. You are in downtown here, so if you are shopping you couldn't ask for a better location. Also this hotel is very near to theaters, so if you are seeing a show and need a place to stay, this would be a good pick. Easy walk to China Town from this hotel as well. Other areas can be easily accessed by the good bus/train/streetcar/ BART system in the city. I always felt very safe in this location. Staff at the hotel was very helpful. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, the bed was very large, which was great. Bathroom- this is my one problem. you can see mold/mildew on some of the tiles/ walls. It could be cleaned with a little elbow grease. However, for the price of this hotel, you should be seeing no mold/mildew at all. Also the shower did not drain well. I was in standing water for the duration of my first shower. When told, staff did send someone to fix it. However, I had the same problem the next day. I forgot to mention it to staff this time. On the third day the shower seemed to be working better at draining- so I'm not sure what happened between day 2 and 3. Besides that, I am happy with this hotel and I feel comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clift Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.