We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clift San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clift San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clift San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive up to 25% off
Ranked #87 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We'd had drinks with friends before in this joint's exquisite bar, but had never stayed here until this past Sunday night. Following a destination wedding weekend that had us in the beautiful wine-and-redwoods milieu of Mendocino County, the quirkily luxurious Clift was exactly the counterpoint we needed. Everyone, and I do mean everyone we encountered on staff seemed utterly delighted that we'd chosen to stay here. Checkin was effortless. Our corner room with city views in two directions could not have been better. We loved the minimalist-yet-luxe decor, the subtle colors, the whimsy. The bed was heavenly. The water pressure in the shower, even more heavenly. Put all this in a location only steps from the pleasures of Union Square and Nob Hill, and you have a place that beckons return. Oh, and the complimentary morning coffee equals bliss in a paper cup!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with city views. Rooms with courtyard views would be kind of dreary, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time your in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    603
    262
    156
    89
See reviews for
115
664
110
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had one great night at this hotel in SF. Had a Jr suite and it was awesome. Spacious, great lay out, comfortable bed, sitting room, desk, great lighting. Really enjoyed my stay. It was a little noisy outside being that I was only on the 4th floor but you're in SF and there is a club downstairs so it kind of makes sense.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on Geary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel. Were extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. The hotel is very well situated. The room service is very well priced with American size portions so don't over order! My only criticism is it is like a coffin! Very dark, which is a shame as it is lovely inside. Many Europeans we spoke to said the same. You don't want to sit in the lobby without a torch!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to our hotel. Our hotel design and decor is very unique. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Clift at the beginning of a driving tour of CA. They were so welcoming, the hotel had a lovely vibe, peaceful and calm in the day, and at night the Bar area was the place to be. A few minutes walk to Union Square to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by, situated in a classy street full of beautiful independent art galleries....A few minutes walk from the Open Top Bus pick up. The bedroom we had on the 16th floor was outstanding - stunning views of SF skyline, comfortable, quiet, every mod con you could wish for. All in all a perfect stay and will certainly be back. Oh, and the breakfast in the Velvet room was wonderful - all fresh, organic foods, and again peaceful and polite service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, so it is quiet, and upgrade to Executive room as they are much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response. We are extremely excited that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We randomly got this hotel on a hotwire deal. Overall I am happy with it. The location is very good. We originally rented a car at the airport for part of our trip up north, but returned it downtown prior to seeing the city since we didn't want a car in SF. The car return was basically one block from this place- so it was very convienient to return the car and walk to the hotel. You are in downtown here, so if you are shopping you couldn't ask for a better location. Also this hotel is very near to theaters, so if you are seeing a show and need a place to stay, this would be a good pick. Easy walk to China Town from this hotel as well. Other areas can be easily accessed by the good bus/train/streetcar/ BART system in the city. I always felt very safe in this location. Staff at the hotel was very helpful. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, the bed was very large, which was great. Bathroom- this is my one problem. you can see mold/mildew on some of the tiles/ walls. It could be cleaned with a little elbow grease. However, for the price of this hotel, you should be seeing no mold/mildew at all. Also the shower did not drain well. I was in standing water for the duration of my first shower. When told, staff did send someone to fix it. However, I had the same problem the next day. I forgot to mention it to staff this time. On the third day the shower seemed to be working better at draining- so I'm not sure what happened between day 2 and 3. Besides that, I am happy with this hotel and I feel comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The place is very funky and has a cool vibe. The staff seemed eager to help and were friendly. On the small negative our room was a little tired, and one more thing that could have improved our experience would have been a wine list for room service, so we didn't have to to bar and buy on to bring up. The location is great.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It is our goal to set and maintain a specific atmosphere for our guests during the duration of their stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and were able to fully appreciate the "cool vibe" we hope to exude in our decor throughout the hotel. The design of the room is intended to emphasize the historic aspects of our property along with pull together many notable features of San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The other reviews are pretty much spot on. The hotel is conveniently located, trendy, has very modern appointments. I honestly did not perceive the bathrooms as small though. Our first room actually flooded due to a problem with the walk-in shower. Sleep in our second room on the 7 th floor was not as easy due to street noise. The staff however were the mist noticeable part of our visit. From being greeted at the front door, to the courteous desk staff, and particularly the very impressive concierge staff - this team has guest services well honed. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Clift. Despite the unforeseen flooding and San Francisco street noise, we as a staff are so pleased to hear the positive effect we were able to have on your stay. It is our pleasure to provide an exceptional lodging experience and look forward to seeing you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clift San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift San Francisco Hotel

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift San Francisco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Clift San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clift San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.