We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clift Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clift Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Clift Hotel San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #64 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at Clift hotel for 5 days on a business trip and it was all perfect.
Location is awesome if you wanna be close to the Union Sq and Market St, which means lots of shopping and restaurants options. Starbucks is right across the street and good breakfast options such as Pinecrest and Cafe Mason are really close.
Hotel is modern, with excellent front desk, check-in/out processes were very fast.
Deluxe room is quite large, with plenty of space for one person or couples. In-room WiFi was included in the rate and it was very fast with no connection issues.
Not a budget hotel, but it sure delivers what you're paying for.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Clift is certainly renowned for our historic charm, uniqueness and amenities and we are delighted that you could paint such a great picture with your words. We hope to continue to offer the same rejuvenating experience for all of our guests for many years to come and appreciate that you feel that we are, as you put it, Awesome! Thank you for your many wonderful compliments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    724
    299
    166
    95
See reviews for
140
764
129
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located on Geary St just a 2 min walk away from Union Square. Lots of food, bars and shopping around. Smallish rooms with large bathrooms. Nicely done up. Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise. Would definitely recommend. Nice, clean and superbly located.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Clift is truly one of the greatest California landmarks located in the heart of San Francisco and offers all of the charm and historical significance of years gone by coupled with luxury and convenience. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and we hope that you weren’t too inconvenienced by the size of the room. Your opinions are extremely important to us and we will be sure to share your feedback with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at The Clift before taking a cruise last weekend. First impressions were good as there was a casually dressed door man who greeted us from the taxi and showed us to the front desk. The unique art pieces of furniture that decorate the lobby are interesting, however, the extremely dark lighting is a little suspicious. Could it be in keeping with the theme of the Red Room lounge at the back of the lobby? (More on this further...)
The whole decor is a little theatrical, from the dark entrance of the lobby to the green, blue or red lit elevators which take you to the dramatic floor/hallways painted in a contrasting silver/lavender. The room thankfully was very bright and each of the 4 walls had drapes framing them; mirrored walls gave the room a larger feel. I didn't mind the decor, but my husband hated the lavender hallway and room. The king sleigh bed was comfortable enough, there was a nice long bench to set 1 piece of luggage on, however the larger 2nd piece had to sit flat on the floor. The single bathroom sink/counter was a little tiny for 2 people so taking turns was necessary. The shower pressure was wonderful and the rum body wash and toiletries were a treat. The closet was a good size but the safe was set too high for my 5'2" height; if my husband wasn't there to reach into it for me I might leave something behind. No coffee machine or internet in the rooms was a miss.

The infamous lounge in the lobby on a Saturday night was quite the busy hot spot, so the indiscretions weren't as visible. On a quieter night, we ended our day with a night cap at the lounge and found ourselves distracted by a "call girl" consulting with a group of men next to us. Really?! Sorry but that just took this hotel to another level for me. Apparently the hotel lounge is known for this. My husband is a smoker, so he spent a lot of time at the front of the hotel observing the zombies (homeless crack heads), begging for money or cigarettes. So unfortunately due to the ambience surrounding the hotel, we will likely try another hotel on our next visit to the beautiful city of San Francisco.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a comprehensive review of your time with us at Clift. It is only through the eyes of our guests that we can learn what aspects of our facility are appreciated and which may need our attention. Our property dates back to the early days of the Gold Rush and spans nearly 100 years of service. It is always such a pleasure when a guest takes the time to share an appreciation of our history. No two rooms are exactly alike, with something for every taste and preference. With that being said, we must apologize if any area of your accommodations fell short of your expectations or if some of the room's features were not completely accessible. The many points you have shared with us here will be in turn provided to our Management team so that we can continue to make adjustments to our services and offerings where needed. We do hope that your overall stay was positive and we value the time you have taken to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed at this vibrant hotel numerous times and have been impressed with the hotel and it's staff. However after my recent stay I had the misfortune to interact with one of the security detail (short and squat). He was extremely rude and belligerent to my group of friends and created a hostile environment in the bar area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of Clift. Everyone here greatly enjoys taking care of our guests and creating the type of experience that inspires a return visit. We must apologize if you felt our security was less than friendly in any way. If there is anything you might need while you are staying with us, one of our associates is always happy to help. Your review has been shared with our management team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great hotel with a very cool atmosphere. As soon as you walk in it has a swanky (almost W Hotel) vibe...but def not over the top. It's ABSOLUTELY worth it to upgrade to a deluxe room as it's almost twice the size. The staff is friendly and the service was quick with everything from clean towels to room service. If you wake up hungover, there's an awesome hole-in-the-wall burger place 2 blocks away called Pearl's.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and def get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
It is such a pleasure to know that we have exceeded your expectations for your recent stay at Clift! It can often be the little things that make all the difference and we are committed to providing exceptional service to all of our guests. From your comfortable guest room to your dining encounter and more, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your glowing review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Granted this hotel has good location, however, it is basically a refurnished old residential building that is poorly kept.

My bathroom had paint peeling off everywhere and there were blood stains on the wall. The decoration is a bit creepy in the rooms as there are mirrors at the foot of the bed as well as the head of the bed.

I checked out a day earlier from my original two night stay..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience and although we are glad you enjoyed the charm of our historic property and the location in which we stand, we never like to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways. It is truly disheartening to know that we missed the opportunity to create a better experience for you. Please know that someone here is always available should any concerns arise as we would be more than happy to provide you with a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Thank you for your time and candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After a super long search, we decided to stay at CLIFT.
couldn't have chosen better: location is perfect to visit the city, everyone is extremely kind and the hotel itself is very stylish and cool. They also provide free bycicles form the guys of Blazing Saddles on Mason, one block away, not bad!
i had read many comments about noise and small rooms, we stayed at the 10th floor and everything was perfect.
thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Every guest room at Clift is indeed unique from the next! Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation for our historic hotel. We are delighted that despite what seems to have been a confusing start to your getaway, we were able to comfortably accommodate your stay. If there is ever anything you need while visiting, our associates are always available to help. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clift Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.