We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clift Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Clift Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Clift Hotel San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #88 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a corner suite on the 15th floor, overlooking Union square and the bay, to the West we look at Knob Hill a gorgeous view. The room was quiet, we chilled in it, bed was perfect (coming from someone with back problems). The cleaning service was delightful. We enjoyed the bar area with the portraits with the eyes that moved(?) the different areas to sit. The front desk people where gracious with a smile to go with it.. If you want to be near down town this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
What more could we ask for in a review? Thank you so much for sharing your praise for Clift. You have captured the true essence of our hotel with your kind words. From your experience in the room, the bar, and with hotel staff it truly seems as though you make the most of your visits and for that we are grateful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again as one of the 'places to go.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    641
    272
    162
    92
See reviews for
120
701
112
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Clift for the week over New Years. I live in SF, but had a few friends in from out of town and we opted for a hotel to be nearer the action. Great location, fabulously helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed and cozy, plus we loved the shower - incredibly powerful and tons of hot water.

I also loved the valet service - it's a pain to have to pay an extra $60 for parking, but they were quick to return my car and helped pack and unpack luggage with a smile.

Two complaints that prevent this from getting 5 stars: 1) paying for wifi (just add it to the price of the room, then we won't feel nickel and dimed) and 2) our room was next to the service elevator, which meant we could hear the door opening and closing in the early morning hours. It woke us up until I bought ear plugs the next day.

Otherwise, great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Exceptional guest service is our top priority at Clift. It truly pleases us to read a review such as yours and know that we have succeeded in creating a great experience for a valued guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your conference stay and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable. Our valet will love to hear the feedback that you left for them, and will be sure to pass off this information to them. Thank you for your most gracious feeback, and we are looking forward to your next visit to Clift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just stayed there after the NYE. Not nearly as extravagant as other Morgan hotels we stayed in, ridiculous lime green stool by the entrance, mixture of styles wanting to look eclectic, the lobby is way too dark. Carpeting is a little worn out, but the floor looked great, light and specious with uplifting colors. The room was comfortable, with a lot of mirrors and curtains, but no readily available electric outlet. Bathroom was adequate, but the tub/tiles need some freshing up. Loved the bed and the bedding. The area is fantastic, with amazing Mason Cafe around the corner for breakfast. Overall found the stay pleasant until I found a $70 charge on my credit card. The hotel was pre-paid and we used the mini-bar only as a refrigerator for the champaign we brought with us. Asked for wine glasses (which should be there anyway), but did not consume anything. Called the hotel to inquire about the charge, got transferred twice to the accounting, left voice mails, no response. Person answering the phone had no desire to talk. Extremely poor customer service, will not stay again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor not to hear a club and a yard room to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
While we are delighted to know you choose to stay with us,. It is always our desire for guests to leave our hotel impressed at every turn as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests. We were quite disappointed to read that you were not fully impressed with our accommodations and that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Clift for four nights during NYE. It is a very modern hotel, hip and in a very central location. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. They helped us with numerous reservations and recommendations for places to eat. However, their rooms need some updating. Unfortunately, our room was right by the service elevator and we constantly could hear the staff coming and going from the elevator, as well as hearing the elevator itself. We complained and they gave us a discount, however it did hinder our stay. Further, our bathroom was very dirty and the tiles seem to have mold, which was concerning especially since this is an upscale hotel. Further, our room was very tight and there was a desk by the bed that led to the bathroom which made it difficult to pass by if someone was sitting at the desk. The room had a lot of curtains which I am still unsure why. Overall we had a fairly pleasant stay but I wish they would have given us a room in a better location that was roomier, especially since we had two double beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at Clift. We are delighted you enjoyed some aspects of your stay in our historic hotel. As you mentioned, we are located only a few blocks away from union square, and are pleased that you could enjoy the area.

I however find it troubling to know that you did not completely enjoy your room. As previously mentioned we are an older hotel, with many different rooms to offer.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, so that you may have the opportunity to experience one of other many great room styles. If you are so obliged to stay with Clift again, please reach out to management so that we can arrange an amazing stay for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very central and near Union Sq and the trams. We were on business so a short walk to the financial district. Lovely rooms and very chic. Nice ambience all around the hotel although they do not seem to value people who are staying at the hotel as we could not get a table and the bar was packed. We went out to eat and drink in the end but did return for a late drink. Many were queuing to get in as one of the in places in San Fran!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms were very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
What could be better than a quiet respite from the business of the city? Clift focuses on providing our guests with superior service and luxurious accommodations and we are glad to have been able to create such a memorable experience for you.

It is truly disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay as we would have hoped. Redwood room is upon the most popular bars in San Francisco, and can be very busy on weekends. While we would like to accommodate every guest, sometime a reservation is useful. I urge for your next visit, that you contact the Manager on Duty.

We are honored by your thoughtful comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed for only one night and book through Priceline and got a great deal of $150 per night. The bathroom was TINY and was difficult to move around in without knocking things over. The rest of the room was spacious so I'm not sure why they couldn't have made the bathroom slightly bigger?
The bathroom wasn't all that clean either. I can't complain too much, I wasn't there for much time. If I hadn't been traveling alone I would have hit up the very loud bar in the lobby which seemed very busy and loud when I arrived from dinner around 11 p.m. The location was very good, about 2 blocks from Union Sq.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello SoxGirl414,

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to fully detail your stay with us. When a guest provides a review such as yours, it allows us the opportunity to learn not only about what has brought enjoyment but also any areas that we may need to address. We will be sure to share your comments with our associates. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to fully impress you with all we have to offer. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel itself is very central - about a 2 min walk to Union Square and about 5 min to the trams/train stations. This is great if you are in San Francisco for business/ only have a few days in the city and are wanting to have easy access to shops/sights. Staff were friendly and they were willing to look after our luggage until our flight on the day that we checked out so that we did not have to carry it all over the city.

The rooms however are outdated and in need of refurbishment - pastel/white decor does not match the rest of the hotel at all. The bathrooms are old and tiny and I was very dissapointed that there was only a shower over the bath tub and not a proper one - I expected more for the price of the room. On the one day we were there, there was a function in the breakfast area which meant we had to eat in the bar - it was not pleasant as no proper tables.

Overall, a very average hotel and I am sure you can find something better in the same area/for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up as the rooms on the lower levels are quite noisy. Higher up rooms also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at Clift. We are delighted you enjoyed some aspects of your stay in our historic hotel. As you mentioned, we are located only a few blocks away from union square, and are pleased that you could enjoy the area.

It is however very troubling to know that you did not completely enjoy your room. As previously mentioned we are an older hotel, with many different rooms to offer.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, so that you may have the opportunity to experience one of other many great room styles. If you are so obliged to stay with Clift again, please reach out to management so that we can arrange an amazing stay for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clift Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.