We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip, chic, a little on the small side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clift Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clift Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Clift Hotel San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #87 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very hip, chic, a little on the small side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I just spent the long weekend at the Clift hotel and will say that the staff was extremely nice and the decor in the lobby is super chic. The rooms on the other hand, are small (and this is coming from someone who lives in Manhattan).

The pros
Great location
Nice staff
Clean rooms
Room service was awesome

Cons
Small rooms
Fitness center is lacking serious cardio equipment
Pricey

I would probably stay here again if I got a great deal. I wish I had asked for a bigger room because that literally would be worth the price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a bigger room. I stayed in a king room (standard) and it was tiny and hard to move a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hey mountainview,

All of us here at Clift appreciate the review and we are happy you found our service to be welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is made to be your home away from home, an escape from reality. We have many different room options and next time you stay with us please ask the front desk for some additional information on those rooms.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    624
    268
    160
    89
See reviews for
117
685
110
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Tremendous visit last week to my new favorite hotel in SF. After a previous bad visit back in September of 2012, I reached out to the front desk manager (who had reached out to me after reading my negative review). The Front Desk manager was seemingly horrified about my review and AWESOME in her response...said "give me a yell next time you are back in SF". For my recent vist, I did exactly that and was treated to first class treatment upon my arrival. I received an upgrade to a "loft" room...and a nice note in my suite. Trip Advisor WORKS!!! The Clift is my new favorite. Thanks guys

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello scootermc,

I am so happy we could turn a negative experience into a positive. That is what we are all about here at Clift, making sure the guest maximizes their stay in SF while coming "home" to a comfortable bed and a unique hotel experience. I am happy we won you over and please continue to visit.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the hotels "mini-suites" and were delighted with the decor, space, hotel amenities and especially with the room service, My wife recounts calling room service, hanging up the phone, immediately followed by a knock the door - without our order. We were in town just prior to Christmas when there was a congregation of Santa clad individuals filling every restaurant and bar seat in the area. While many establishment chose to close during the Santa raid, including the bar and restaurant at The Clift, it was an exceptional property at a great value inthe heart of a great city. We will be back.

Room Tip: Go with a suite. It's worth the cost and standard rooms can be very, very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey Kevin T,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I am happy you enjoyed yourself and I hope the "Santas" did not get in the way of your trip! Please come again soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we just went for my birthday on january 7, service was slow and terrible at the restaurant, bathrooms old: bath tub brooken, toilet didnt flush, bell boy never showed.... so expensive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dont recomend!!! terrible

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Monica O,

I am so sorry for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you, as it sounds like we failed you on multiple levels. I see that the bathroom was not in the shape we would expect and the restaurant was not up to our standards..How was the service from the front desk?

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm a bit remiss in this review, as I had the pleasure of staying at the Clift for a conference last August. I had been in contact with their manager, David, prior to arrival, and he ensured that everything was brilliant for me from checkin to checkout. The location was perfect for walking trips to Union Square and The Embarcadero, jaunts by trolley to Fisherman's Wharf, car service to Sausalito (I use Uber!), and public transport to Golden Gate Park. The room was clean and comfortable, with very little outside noise pollution. There was ample space to unpack and get comfortable for my week stay, and everyone I encountered on the staff was extremely friendly. The bathroom was small, but clean, and I even enjoyed a bath or two without trepidation! This was one of the most relaxing experiences I've had in a hotel, and I have to say much of it was due to great management. Thank you David, and thank you Morgans Hotel, for yet another great experience. There's a reason why your chain is one of my favorites, and I look forward to staying at the Clift again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get up higher and more "interior" to get away from street and lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Tara C,

Thanks for your thoughtful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and I am beyond excited that you found everything to be up to both of our expectations and standards. Please come again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lijiang, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I just spend Chirsimas in San Fransisco with my family, this was the second time we stayed in this hotel, and when we return to the Bay City area we will probably stay there again, as we were very happy during our stay on both ocasions.

It is a very stylish hotel with a very unique and conventional look and feel, the feel of the long hallways with mirrors and designer chairs, and even the decoration of the rooms gave me a feel that reminded me of a David Lynch or Stanley Kubrick movie, now that is not exactly cozy and it may not appeal to everyone, but if you are looking for a unique hotel with it's own personality and feel this is a good place.

The bar is amazing just being there makes you feel like you are hanging with the jet set, I must say that all the hostesses were gorgeous and a bit flirty that was probaly the main reasons that kept me coming back to their watering hole, but drinks were very good and they had some very nice original concotions, and the place was always packed with what seemed as very cool and fashionable people.

The location is unbeatable and e service is quite good, all in all a very nice high end hotel, my only complaint was the restaurant, we went there for dinner one day, and the food was very mediocre, not terrible or anything but not good especially not worth it for the prices you pay, I was quite disappointed as last time we were there the restaurant Asia de Cuba used to be there and it was really, really good, unfortunately it is gone now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello David R,

Thank you very much for your great review on our unique property. I am happy you enjoyed yourself and it seems as if the Redwood Room treated you well. We all hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was very clean, stylish and well located.
As an animal lover I found it ironic that pets of all shapes and sizes are welcome, yet the lobby area has massive pieces of dead animals skins, etc displayed....hmmm.
Although the restaurant atmosphere is absolutely stunning with a fantastic ambience, my friend and I got food poisening from the eggs we ate at breakfast. There were three of us and two ate the eggs, shortly after we were very ill.....all day riding the porceline train in the bathroom!!
Needless to say, the staff acknowledged our complaint and knocked off about $150 from our bill on checkout.
I wouldn't let the egg experience ruin such a lovely stay though, and you couldn't ask for a better location either!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hey Chilli,

Thanks for your review! I am happy you enjoyed yourself. I am sorry about the eggs and I am completely shocked to read that, but I am happy we worked everything out and you found the service to be up to both of our standards. I hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter, Splendia, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clift Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.