We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If looks matter to you, you won't want to get to know the hotels personality ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If looks matter to you, you won't want to get to know the hotels personality ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What originally drew my partner and I to this hotel was its location, the affordability, and some room features our hotel, at the time, didn't have (iron/ironing board/coffee facilities etc).
The Front Desk/Concierge Staff were the only staff we encountered, and they were lovely and willingly, helpful people. Nothing but friendly.

What we didn't expect was the dank, dark and aged appearance of the rooms. We had a standard room right up on the top (8th) floor, which was just a bedroom and bathroom. It was TINY.
The double bed was narrow, and the mattress felt old and worn. It sunk in, and the springs squeaked with every small movement. The pillows were thin, flat and square! (We speculate it's a trick to make the tiny bed look bigger).
And only ONE small bedside table. The other side of the bed had nothing on it.
There was a coffee facility in form of a small coffee machine! I was hoping for a kettle! The machine required coffee pods, only two kinds provided (I don't drink coffee, I wouldn't know) and a "condiment" packet (inc. sugar, powdered milk, stirring stick).
NO BAR FRIDGE!! That was the biggest surprise.
No Room Service (only a Bar in the Lobby).
No AirCon - just ceiling fan.

The bathroom had a shower over the bath, a toilet, small rectangle mirror and sink vanity. One small, narrow glass shelf above the sink was the only storage. Bit frustrating with nowhere to put beauty products without getting them wet, as the shallow sink basin splashed upwards when used. There was no exhaust fan either, just louver windows to open when showering to let the steam out. Bit chilly in the classic San Francisco foggy mornings.

In general, the hotel is an Old one trying to keep up appearances. The place has been painted and painted, again and again and it shows. It's rough and messy in places, and the aesthetics aren't very pleasing up close. The sash windows in the bedroom are very stiff and hard to open/close. There is nothing between your room and the floor hallway to block out noise. Especially with you bedhead on the adjoining wall, next to the doorway. You hear EVERYTHING! ALL the Noise, 24/7. Even your neighbours, and their activities... The cable car bells, the fire trucks, the garbage man, I kid you not, every noise will be heard.
Very little, restful sleep has been had over the one week I stayed here.

An Average experience for an Average Hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    63
    15
    16
See reviews for
22
96
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel, staff and city were amazing. Would go back again tomorrow. It is in a perfect spot for a short walk to all sights. It is close to a trolley bus stop. And just around the corner from the vibrant Union Square. We only stayed for 3 days, now we wished we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Amazing hotel & city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is well located, a few steps from Union Square. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean.
My bedroom was small and very dark, with a view on the very close next door building. I had to turn the light on, even on a bright and sunny day. The bed was comfortable though. The bathroom was old but clean.
No minibar in the room and no breakfast served in the hotel. Restaurants and cafés close by.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had tickets to the orpheum theater and chose our overnight stay at this hotel as it is walking distance of the theater.

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms were cute, semi clean, but very small (10 feet by 12 feet). The bathroom was even smaller, you had 3 feet of room between the bathroom door thresh hold and the tub/shower. The rooms, like most older hotels, was in need of some upkeep (dings, scratches, broken tile) but otherwise was acceptable if you don't mind the lack of space. However, they do offer "Junior Suites" that we took a look at, for almost double the price of the small rooms. The junior suites had a larger master bedroom, a very large bathroom and a nice size sitting area that can also be used as a bedroom with a pull out couch/bed. Since we were just staying overnight, we opted to keep the smaller rooms.

Near the hotel (2 block radius) there were a number of nice eateries, bars and such, so one did not have to venture far to find decent food and night life. However, once you left the 2 block radius, you found yourself in a very nasty, dirty and not safe parts of the city.

Our walk from the Hotel to the orpheum theater took about 15 to 20 minutes. To our dismay, this part of the city was full of closed businesses, folks claiming to be homeless aggressively asking for money and the streets and sidewalks were covered in garbage, food debris, human feces and urine. Folks were openly using drugs in the public, from smoking marijuana and other substances, to injecting other substances to their arms and feet. In short, not a very safe area to be walking into.

I would suggest that folks take a taxi or other public transportation to get to this theater from this hotel to avoid putting you and your family at risk.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 4 days staying in this hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff were very helpful and the room was very clean. The location is quite central and i would recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellente location (a block from Union Square, in front of a Walgreens and Seven Eleven, several Diners, and the Cable Car stop), spotless lobby, helpful staff, rooms (and bathroom) are a bit old and a little small, but the large closet made up for it.

Room Tip: pedir habitacion que NO de a la calle Sutter (imagino que son mas ruidosas). Yo tuve una habitacion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is older but the staff is great. The area that the hotel is in has every thing you want. Restaurants, Walgreens, CVS, 7-11, dry cleaning , shopping and more. Plus the Powell Cable Car is in walking distance.Everything is easy walking distance
The next time we come to San Francisco we will stay here.
It reminded us of a European hotel. If you have to have upscale this not the hotel for you. It is safe,and clean. The staff is the best. We like staying here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.