We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Oven” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Oven”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arriving after midnight, the night manager was nice but difficult to understand. I took the ride up in the ONE elevator to the 8th floor to find a room that was no bigger than my walk in closet at home. And it was hot - looking for an AC, I realized that the room only had a ceiling fan - no AC - in 2015. I had the choice between street noise and death by overheating. Obviously I only slept for about 3 hours.
I am mad at Orbitz for their rating of this place between 3 and 4 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid room 809
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    103
    55
    14
    16
See reviews for
21
88
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would not recommend any area in this hotel especially if you don't have any work in the same area.. Parking is a pain ... the parking is extra in this hotel.. That too, outside the hotel.. The rooms very very antique... With fans & and lights with a pull down rope on the fan.. The rooms were also very small... Driving into this area is also a big pain...

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite the 3 stars I gave, I was quite pleased with my stay here. The hotel has a perfect location nearby Union Square. This is not a chain hotel, fortunately. Hotel's long history is still visible and gives an original feel and character to it. I like it.

The room was small and there was a tiny bathroom and walk-in closet. The bed was actually really comfortable. Although my room was on the 7th floor and the back side of the building, there was still a lot of noisy. I also missed two things in the room: mini fridge and safety box.

The staff was awesome and extremely friendly.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel during a work-related conference held at the Moscone Center. The place was very conveniently located. Right near Union Square, many restaurants, a cable car stop, and the Center itself, it seemed that most things were in reach.
The room itself was clean (but very small). As long as you understand that this is meant to be a place to base yourself and to spend most of it out the room, it is fairly good. Not big on amenities; there is an instant coffee machine, and a tv in the rooms; mornings downstairs there is coffee, etc, at the nice lounge area with sofas and a fireplace! But other than that, meals must be sought elsewhere. Now: I stayed in the 2nd floor (that is, 1 up from ground), so street noise did filter in at night. No view at all (brick wall out the window); but, although this is no criticism of the hotel, I found the night-noises difficult to get used to; either, banging buses, homeless people, construction, and odd sirens and things- I found noise cancelling earphones very useful. The economic gap in SF (and probably America in general) is much, much larger than Australia; there are homeless on every street corner with little support (and recall- in winter when I visited, there can be a homeless-population migration to California from other states); and there was also unfortunately a spate of armed jewellery robberies during the stay- on occurring only a few shops down from the hotel; but I think this is unusual. The weather at this time of year was warmer than I expected, around 20 C most of the time with sunny alternating with cloud/rain. Overall I rate this hotel fairly good for what it claims to be. It does the job, and nothing upset me or caused an issue so I am satisfied; but you also have to look elsewhere for most amenities; which was fine as most of my time was spent at the conference and doing tourism things (like visiting Pier 39, etc).
There is also a convenient airport transfer.

Room Tip: Above level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our experience at the Hotel Cartwright. It's located in a very safe/popular area of Union Square. The Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly (special thanks to Concierge Kevin). I had read reviews knocking the size of the rooms. They were definitely small, but I had to admire the efficient use of space. The rates were very reasonable and I loved that they could use the space creatively to accommodate a lower price. Parking also seemed to be the most reasonable in the area. We were able to walk with ease to the Ferry Building and Fisherman's Warf. The BART train to the airport was also very easy (we only had a car for a couple days). Very clean and up-to-date rooms. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel allows dogs, so all night long doors were banging with a lot of barking going on. ?Rooms were dark and dim and the bathroom was really small. we used a lot of points for this room with the only amenity, 2 bathrobes. Steam heat was noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only stayed at the Cartwright for one night, but I'd definitely go back if I'm ever in SF again. My room had twin beds and a low price to match, making it an excellent value in a great location by Union Square. My room looked out to an ivy covered outdoor space and was really quiet. Free wifi was good, but the best part was the helpful hotel staff. They treated me to a cup of tea after a long day walking around the city and scheduled pick up by an airport van for me. Thanks Hotel Cartwright!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.