We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I came for business but also spent a fair amount of time on pleasure and so I was able to enjoy the ambiance of the hotel.

The hotel is located exactly one block from Union Square and there are no red flags that you need to be aware of. The hotel is clean and in the vicinity of some nice dining options as well as the shop-filled area of Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    99
    50
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
83
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coloorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off I think the staff is great, friendly and accommodating. They upgraded my room to a king size room upon request, greatly appreciated (and at no additional charge). Since I booked during a busy week of conferences, I already ended up paying more than $300 a night for a room. So at that price of course I would be disappointed. But even at $150 a night I would have been. This is why.
First off it's a boutique hotel which generally means small, cramped rooms. The bathroom has less room to move around than the closet. And that's ok because it's about what you expect from a boutique hotel. The problem is that other boutique hotels around the same area offer lovely extra amenities, such as aveda hair/body products, iPod docking station for music, 5pm wine tasting or 3pm tea and scones/cookies. This hotel doesn't offer any of that. Nor is there a workout facility, which is generally the case with boutiques, but with nothing else offered, just makes this a really bad value for the $. The furniture in the rooms is run-down, super old, not fashionable. The lobby fireplace is awesome, btw. but the room decor, size, amenities makes this one of the worst boutique hotels I've stayed in around Union Square in SF. If they just tried a little, it could be near the top.. Given the price and location, go stay at the Villa Florence (aveda products, iPod docking station, free wine tasting) for the same price. Plus since this place doesn't have a restaurant, you also can't have room service, which other hotels do offer. With such little amenities offered at still premium price. I have to rate this poorly despite the great and friendly staff (which is super important btw). A plus though is free wi-fi at a decent speed.

Room Tip: roosm are small, but so far they seem quiet (I face a garden). but there is a bit of unit noise so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is really good value for money. Room was larger than I expected albeit still of a moderate size. It's more homely and traditionally decorated. Bathroom is small but it is clean with good water pressure in the shower. The staff were all very friendly and helpful which helps to make the stay. It is ideally located close to Union Square and all of the shops. I'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the front desk to the bellmen and chambermaids the staff here are all first rate and the guests' needs and comfort come first! It is evident that the hotel is well run and well managed on all fronts and in a big city that's a great plus.
There are those who will nit pick over the size of a closet or a decor they don't like, but in truth every chain hotel boasts that sort of amenity. It is the feel of a place, not always the glamour that keeps a loyal clientele year after year. Yes, the room (714) was small as was the bath, but I felt valued and cared for each time I came back through the front door.
No request was too trivial or inconvenient...and we had several, all met graciously and efficiently. Coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning is a nice touch...as is the free newspaper and cheery fireplace and business center. Will we return? In a nanosecond!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, small rooms with local flavor of San Francisco, great beds. The front desk tends to be a little snooty as if you need to be a certain class to stay there. Having travelled the world extensively for years for business, I was a bit surprised to be treated like a hobo (with a reservation) that walked off the street. When I wanted to stay an extra night, they quoted me a price that was double the actual price. Very strange. I changed hotels that was two blocks away - not worth the attitude.

Room Tip: Request outside room unless you like darkness (may cost extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel with charming rooms and attentive staff. I really liked the fireplace room downstairs. Rooms are on the smaller side, but are charming and clean. Great stay while on a budget. No breakfast, but they serve coffee in the morning.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here first week in December 2014. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are tiny but very clean. Plus they welcome dogs and cats too! Union Square is only a block away. The cable cars are only a few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.