We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an average price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location for an average price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you're considering to stay on SF downtown, this is the right place. The room is clean and comfortable, the staff is polite and always available if you need any information or any help. There's free Internet access inside the room and in the lobby as well. For a quick breakfast, you can drink a coffee in the morning. Also, you're a few steps from the famous historic Powell/Hyde cable car line and a block and half from Union Square. If you need to take a bus, there's a bus stop right in front of the hotel where you can take route 30 and go from Pier 1 to AT&T Ballpark. In case you're hungry, there's a diner on the corner of the street, a Walgreens on the other corner and a 7-Eleven in front of. Definitely I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest you choose a room at the highest level because Sutter St. could be very noisy some times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    80
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
71
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at the Cartwright Hotel for 4 nights in April 2014. My stay was absolutely great. The location is wonderful, a block form Union Square and great shopping and dining; as well you are on the Cable Car line to Fisherman's Wharf and Market Street. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice; and ensured that my stay here was outstanding. I must say I agree with certain reviewers that the hotel room is rather small especially the bathroom; but the upkeep of the hotel and rooms was great. I would not hesitate staying here again. With this hotel you get to be right in the middle of Union Square within an easy walk to all the attractions, shopping, chinatown, the ferry building, the F Streetcar line, Westfield Mall Center, one of the hugest Macy's I have every seen with a Burger Bar and Cheesecake Factory located inside as well as within walking distance to the embarcadero and the financial district.

This is a great boutique hotel to stay at within the city that will not break your budget and had a lot of character.

Room Tip: The hotel is four blocks off the Muni / BART rail lines on off of Powell and Sutter Street. Once you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a great location for Union Sq & only a short cab/tram ride from the usual attractions. Whilst the public areas were more highly polished than the bedrooms they were still clean and satisfactory if not a little small (not a problem for 2 nights). Vouchers for the next door Lori's Diner meant breakfast was cheap and set us up for the day and the free coffee's avaialble in the reception area of our hotel were welcomed. Stay were friendly and knowledgable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Awful place. Dirty, dilapidated. Room didn't even have an aircon! The palce evidently hasn't seen a penny of investment in decades. The room was covered in dust, the furniture was tatty. windows wouldn't close fully and are single-glazed, so the room is noisy, too. I would have walked straight out again had anything else been free for the night in downtown. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was amazing we were really impressed. The rooms were adorable and the bed was so comfy.

Staff were friendly and helpful. So close to everything you need to see or near public transport to get to what you need to see.

Lost one star because of the shower. Not sure if it was broken but confusing to use and could not get it to stay on a desired temperature and if you turned it too far one way you lost the heat??? Very frustrating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cartwright Union Square for three days during a visit to San Francisco. The location of the hotel was great. Great rooms, good price and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, NB
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We took advantage of a travelzoo deal and were thrilled to see how lucky we were! It was our first trip to San Francisco, so did not know, really, where in the city to stay! This location in Union Square could not have been more convenient. We took the train from the airport, and literally got off at a stop that was a few blocks from our hotel. The famous Streetcars ran 1/2 block from the hotel and took us right to Fishermans Wharf area.
The hotel is full of character. It's dated for sure, but lovely. Our room reminderd me of my grandmothers house...2 cute, comfy single beds. Cannot complain about anything. We would definitely stay here again. Perfect location...right in the shopping district, lots to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.