We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was amazing we were really impressed. The rooms were adorable and the bed was so comfy.

Staff were friendly and helpful. So close to everything you need to see or near public transport to get to what you need to see.

Lost one star because of the shower. Not sure if it was broken but confusing to use and could not get it to stay on a desired temperature and if you turned it too far one way you lost the heat??? Very frustrating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    119
    68
    16
    18
See reviews for
23
111
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cartwright Union Square for three days during a visit to San Francisco. The location of the hotel was great. Great rooms, good price and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, NB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We took advantage of a travelzoo deal and were thrilled to see how lucky we were! It was our first trip to San Francisco, so did not know, really, where in the city to stay! This location in Union Square could not have been more convenient. We took the train from the airport, and literally got off at a stop that was a few blocks from our hotel. The famous Streetcars ran 1/2 block from the hotel and took us right to Fishermans Wharf area.
The hotel is full of character. It's dated for sure, but lovely. Our room reminderd me of my grandmothers house...2 cute, comfy single beds. Cannot complain about anything. We would definitely stay here again. Perfect location...right in the shopping district, lots to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It's definitely an older style hotel and the rooms reflect that but it has everything you need and is close to all. Quite small and the bathroom is tiny but wasn't an issue for me. Not to far from Union square and close to cable cars and transport to get a round the city. There was No air-con but not really an issue as it was quite chilly and the fan served its purpose to lower the temp if need be.
The bed and pillows could have been better but wasn't a deal breaker.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Well, I have mixed feelings with this hotel, when we arrived I was devastated by the look of our room, it was soo tiny I felt I cannot breath, but then I got used to it...And that is because of the wonderful staff and the whole atmosphere of the city...:-)
Hmmm.. The parking options are insanely expensive.
The beds are sooo tiny I got repeatedly kicked off by my bf...
The location is the best so far, the area is safe but little bit noisy in the evenings..
So don't expect any fancy stuff, this is an old hotel, but beside that, it's "bearable".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is older but very clean and comfortable, location is just perfect. Union Square is about 2 blocks away, the cable car is just a walk down the street on Powell, shopping is close by, there are restaurants everywhere. The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. There is no a/c, but you don't need it, at night it cools down quite a bit and you can open windows and turn fan on. There is also a couple of computers to print out your boarding pass. Overall this is the best hotel we could have chosen, we were very pleased with our trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a really nice hotel in the heart of San Francisco's shopping and theatre district. It's very handy for transport - just a 10-minute walk from Powell Street BART station (for the airport), the cable cars stop at the end of the road, and it's on numerous bus routes.

The building is quite old and the rooms fairly small, but none of this was a problem for us as they've furnished the whole place to a really high standard.

As the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, they gave us vouchers for 20% off at Lori's Diner a few doors down - which was a real bonus, as the food there is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.