We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tiny rooms, but very nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old and tiny rooms, but very nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Well, I have mixed feelings with this hotel, when we arrived I was devastated by the look of our room, it was soo tiny I felt I cannot breath, but then I got used to it...And that is because of the wonderful staff and the whole atmosphere of the city...:-)
Hmmm.. The parking options are insanely expensive.
The beds are sooo tiny I got repeatedly kicked off by my bf...
The location is the best so far, the area is safe but little bit noisy in the evenings..
So don't expect any fancy stuff, this is an old hotel, but beside that, it's "bearable".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    86
    44
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
77
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is older but very clean and comfortable, location is just perfect. Union Square is about 2 blocks away, the cable car is just a walk down the street on Powell, shopping is close by, there are restaurants everywhere. The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. There is no a/c, but you don't need it, at night it cools down quite a bit and you can open windows and turn fan on. There is also a couple of computers to print out your boarding pass. Overall this is the best hotel we could have chosen, we were very pleased with our trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a really nice hotel in the heart of San Francisco's shopping and theatre district. It's very handy for transport - just a 10-minute walk from Powell Street BART station (for the airport), the cable cars stop at the end of the road, and it's on numerous bus routes.

The building is quite old and the rooms fairly small, but none of this was a problem for us as they've furnished the whole place to a really high standard.

As the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, they gave us vouchers for 20% off at Lori's Diner a few doors down - which was a real bonus, as the food there is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are wanting an older hotel experience, this is the place. We enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. The bathroom was small, but we didn't mind too much. I would recommend this place. The rooms are small, but big enough for two people. It is a nice place to stay, if you plan on using your room for sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on a conference in San Francisco. Check-in was quick, front desk people were friendly and set a nice atmosphere. The room itself was very small, a bed, desk and two night tables but considering how much time was spent in the room it was fine. The bathroom was very small but really, how much room do you need?

The location is excellent, within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, cable car stops, etc. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf to catch the ferry to Alcatraz and took the cable car back. Next morning I did my run from the hotel down to the Wharf and back - which included some hill work!

I recommend the Hotel Cartwright and would definitely stay here again on a return trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I loved the location of the hotel as well as the historic charm of this location so I was prepared for the small size of the rooms. I was there during 3 very warm days and the lack of an A/C unit was uncomfortable at best. Staff were very friendly and always went the extra mile and the central location to Union Square was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I found this hotel very last minute and I got an excellent rate for a single overnight. It is a block away from Union Square and half a block from a Trolley line stop. The line will take you all the way down to the pier area and wharf.

The hotel is nicely equipped with all you need. The staff was quite friendly. Parking is nearby but expensive...but that's about all one can do if you drive there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.