We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Miami Lakes, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

an excellent place to stay in union square is a true gem we really love it, it is real room are small as the restroom but are really comfy and clean, staff members were really nice always whit a smile, hotel is located just one block for union square, two block for china town and three blocks for market street heart of the city and to catch the cable car is just a few steps i will be back to this hotel next year without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    80
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
70
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

From where to start. I have arrived at the hotel and in the reception there was an old Chinese man who was very serious not even welcoming me or even smile.
From that time I said "What a horrible place this is?"
The room was tiny it was more like a single room and not a double room.
It is an old building that needs renovation.
It looked like my grandmothers old home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's not cheap, but average SF hotel rate. Older hotel and with that smaller room, but felt safe and friendly staff made the place welcoming. Love how wifi included. Great location. I'd stay again. Cute spa next door that I took advantage of: Pure Organic Spa (very nice, pleasant escape)- highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding vs the Fairmont not hard to figure why. Price was average for S.F.. Rooms are on the small side and so are the bathrooms but overall we enjoyed our stay. Place was clean, desk staff were very nice and helpful. They actually acted like they were my mom making sure I had everything thing etc. That part was very helpful. They have coffee and tea on the main level however my wife said the coffee was awful. They do contract with a parking garage one block over so be prepared to do some walking. They also warn you that it can take 30 to 45 minutes to get your car if you're using valet parking so my suggestion is park it yourself if you're able to save money and time. The location is great and if you're interested in shopping Union Square is right around the corner and they're close to the cable car lines. Some good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in and they'll accomadate you if possible and ask for a larger bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If retro is your thing and you don't mind smaller rooms, this centrally located hotel is a good choice. Smiling and helpful staff (ever rarer these days), comfortable bed and a good chair to sit and read (almost non-existent in hotels these days). Street noise can be intrusive at times, so light sleepers/day nappers need to pack earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and I am really growing fond of it. Let me say I am an old house nut so the age and style is perfect. I also like the smaller size and easy going attitude. While rooms are small, they're comfortable. The lounge area is lovely - nothing like having your morning coffee in front of the fireplace. Also, great and convenient location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After travelling by train from Chicago, which lasted for three days and two nights, we arrived in San Francisco and went straight to the artwright Hotel, which I had booked from Australia on the Internet.
I had asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel as we wanted a good nights sleep before returning to Australia the next day. We were greeted very warmly and told that we had been upgraded to a suite. We had booked a king size room. The suite was more than comfortable, very clean, very pleasant and on the 6th floor, and very quite although it did face Sutter street. Our choice could not have been better. Very comfortable bed and lots of clean fluffy and new towels etc in the large bathroom. and coffee making facilities in the sitting room.
Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, there are plenty of places for breakfast, Starbucks and a Seven Eleven just to name two. There is also a great Diner on the corner of Powell and Sutter where we had lunch with a discount voucher from the Hotel.

The staff organized a pickup to the airport for us so everything went very smoothly.
Hopefully, we can return to San Francisco sometime in the future and we will certainly stay at this very convenient located Hotel in the Union Square area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Ask when making your booking for your requirements and I am sure it will be attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.