We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. This was a steal from hotels.com at $139 a night. We arrived early and they stowed our bags for us and apologized for not having a room ready for us to check in to, which was very kind of them. Later in the evening, the front desk staff were kind, courteous, and professional, attending to our needs. There is not an icemachine, but the bellhop brought us some. The room is on the small side- but we expected this. While small, it is furnished modernly with a comfy bed. The shower was great with good water pressure. We were on the second floor so we did hear some noise from the cable cars as well as some of our drunken neighbors in the hallway. However, once they were in their rooms, it was quiet. Our flight did not leave until late at night and again, they stowed our bags for us. Good choice when in the city, within one block of union square with a walgreens directly across the street. We really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    126
    70
    17
    18
See reviews for
25
119
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved our stay at the Cartwright hotel! We booked through expedia and got a great deal compared to other central hotels. Although the rooms are fairly small, the closet was huge and we were able to hide all of our cases away. The room was also really clean and had bags of character.

The staff were most definitely some of the friendliest we met on our two week trip down the west coast. Really helpful and approachable and if you're looking to do the usual touristy stuff, ask for advice about ticket info at the front desk. You can buy bus tours directly from the hotel and there's none of the pushiness or hard sell that you often get in hotels. Location is also perfect - honestly don't think you can better for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has all the characteristics of an old hotel-- small rooms, small bathrooms, no central AC, dated decor, and minimal amenities. However, the location is one of the best in the city. It's close to the cable cars, and in walking distance to Market Street. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even got us a room with an air conditioner. Bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was no bigger than a closet. TV had more foreign channels than American, and there was no bar or restaurant in the building.

We had a decent experience here, but for the price, we suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for AC if you prefer it...most old hotels don't have it in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed there a couple of nights in early Sept 2013. We only booked for one night and the rate was 119.00 through Travelocity. We got a rate of 129 for the extra night, so we didn't feel we got hosed for not having two nights reserved. Parking was close and 30 bucks a night, so factor that into the cost.The staff was really nice and helpful and the location was central to everything we wanted to see. Eat at Lori's on the corner if you want good food that's close to the hotel. The room was small, but the closet was huge and they did an excellent job of utilizing the space available. We left our window open and weren't bothered by the street noise. Our last night there a drunk kept trying to access our room with his credit card, so after the staff took care of that problem at 2am, we couldn't get back to sleep so we left at 3 am. We were on a Harley taking a long road trip. We were the only people on the Golden Gate Bridge at that time of the morning which was pretty cool. So the early wake up call didn't bother us. Great Hotel, great city although I wouldn't want to live there!

Room Tip: I let the chips fall where they may, and got a great room, so I assume all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This really is a bad hotel for the price. My room smelt damp, it had no locks on the window despite looking straight onto a fire escape and no double glazing to block out the sounds of the street and nightclub across the road. Room furniture is old and run down. Rooms are very small. There is no restaurant or bar. Front desk staff are almost rude, and really not helpful. They just didn't care. And we paid $300 for this. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was really cute. It was very old fashioned, but not old and weathered. Bed were so comfy, the bathrooms are tiny though. Its in a fantastic location, literally 100 meters from a cable car stop and one of the main shopping strips in San Fran. would defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jlhudson 1986,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed our “great” location. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco. If you get the opportunity please like us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location but room was a little small and could definitely do with an update. Having said that my room had everything I needed and was clean, in addition the bathroom was well lit and always stocked with great bath products. In the mornings there was complimentary tea and coffee downstairs which was a pleasant surprise.
So close to Union Square, cable cars and all the fun, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear its_mares,

Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate the fact that your review was fair. We realize our rooms are small, that is why we focus on making them practical. Great bath products along with little perks such as complimentary coffee, tea and wireless help our guests find value. Plus we are close to “all the fun.” Although we will not be able to increase square footage, we are in the process of finalizing plans to renovate our hotel.

We hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco. Keep tabs of our renovation by liking us on Facebook.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#112 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#119 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#69 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#66 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#40 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.