We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in small space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Loyalton, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury in small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although this was about the smallest room I'd ever stayed in, the furnishings and staff more than made up for lack of walking around room. There was a comfortable bed with luxurious linens. The bathroom was also small, but there was plenty of hot water and citrus scented bath products that made me feel totally refreshed. There was Wi-Fi and computers for guest use off the lobby in a small private area. The fireplace, sofas and initmate bar made me feel more than welcome. The staff granted my every wish (nothing unreasonable), and I was within walking distance of many San Francisco attraction areas. And there was FREE garage parking!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. The fire escape showed that they exist. Take an upper floor for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    106
    63
    15
    16
See reviews for
22
96
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights this week and upon leaving, I can safely say we were pleased with our stay. That said, I'd like to point out a few things. For starters, it was annoying to learn that the parking garage is not located near the hotel. It is the street behind the hotel and quite a schlep with all your luggage in tow. We later learned that they allow a ten minute time of parking in front of the hotel to drop off luggage prior to parking and we took advantage of this option upon check out. This would not work for anyone who may be traveling alone. Once we were checked in, we headed to our room and immediately wanted to switch hotels. The room, while very clean, was at the end of a hall, shoved into a corner making for a very small and very odd shaped room. It was impossible to move around without bumping furniture or each other and we couldn't open the bathroom door if the closet was open or if anyone was sitting at the desk. The view was more scary than pleasant, being of an alley/rooftop and since we were on the corner of the building, our window looked straight into the window of the building next to us. I could literally reach out and touch their window. And because there wasn't any ac, the window would have to be open for any air to circulate. The bathroom, which was smaller than the closet, was so tight, I could sit on the toilet and fully wash my hands in the sink at the same time. Not that I actually did this but, it was possible should I have desired to do so. We decided that it would be too much of a pain to change hotels and we'd already paid in full so we decided to stick it out but to also see if perhaps we could switch rooms. The man at the desk was immediately accommodating, switching us to a new room and offering to assist with luggage. Our new room was perfect and all of our complaints about the first room were of no issue. The room had a much better layout and we could both easily move about the room. The view was of other buildings but at a distance, not within reach, so we felt safer in that regards when it came to having our window open. The bathroom too was more spacious and with a better layout. Overall, we were very comfortable following the initial room change. The hotel is old and charming. Very, very clean everywhere. Excellent location. Accommodating and eager to please staff. Reasonable prices. We would easily book a room here again so long as we didn't get stuck in a corner room again.

Room Tip: Get a mid hallway room, not a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First time in San Francisco and worst experience you can possibly imagine. Hotel staff came into our room even though our 'Do Not Disturb' sign was on the door. We were not in the room, but we knew someone had come in because they had left a bucket of ice. I told the front desk (Tai and Lilian) what happened and that I was unhappy, because 1. I have never had that happen in any hotel anywhere and 2. the bathroom door did not shut, so someone could have come in while I was in the shower with the door open.

Instead of apologizing, they argued with me that someone from my room had ordered the ice. When I told them that we were out at the time, they said that someone else must have given them the wrong room number. We asked why they would go in when no one answered the door. They said it was their policy to go in even if the sign was on the door! I said that was ridiculous and got even more angry. Then a shouting match ensued with me and the front desk women (Tai and Lilian). Ultimately a man came out claiming to be the manager (Ronnie). He asked me to talk to him outside (which I refused), then asked ME to calm down instead of immediately telling Tai to stop shouting. The whole time I was talking to the manager, Tai kept screaming at me from across the room and said things like "You need to get laid." Ultimately, my boyfriend and I left, since even the manager never acknowledged that what they did was wrong and no one ever ONCE said sorry, which is all I had expected.

If the manager handles situations by by telling guests to calm down when the hotel has done something wrong and never saying sorry, that says a LOT about the hotel for me. Honestly, I suspect they come in with the ice bucket to scope out the room and since it would be awkward to be caught leaving with the ice bucket, they leave it in the room and claim it was all a mistake. That is the only reason that Tai could have been so personally angered that I complained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros:
Cheap (especially relative to other nearby hotels)
Clean
All the essentials were present and in good order
Friendly staff

Cons:
Soft beds in which I could feel a bit of the springs
Nothing really above what's needed.
Some street noise early morning from trucks, etc.

Overall: I got this hotel at the last minute for a one night stay in SF somewhere near to Union Square. My criteria was that it was cheap, clean, and affordable. This hits each of those marks and for that it can't possibly be anything less than average. The reason I give it an "average" rating mainly is because the bed was soft and springs were noticeable through the sheets. The second slightly less significant con is that street noise is fairly audible (at least in the room I stayed in, which in fact didn't face street side).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We love coming to the Hotel Cartwright near Union Square. We have returned here again and again. The staff welcomes us like old friends. The rooms are small but charming. The beds and linens are dreamy. The pricing is very reasonable. Look for specials on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was my first time in San Francisco and this little hotel was in the perfect location! Edward at the front desk was an absolute pleasure to work with. I was on the 7th floor overlooking the hustle and bustle of the street, but it was still very quiet in the room. I am picky about my bed, and this one was to die in. Very comfortable and great linens. The rooms are small and beautiful with all you need. They also have safe deposit boxes available at the desk for personal use. Igor was willing and available for a private car for the same price as a taxi, which I took advantage of. Check out time was at noon giving me plenty of time to go out in the morning before my departure as well. There is a beautiful parlor with a fireplace and lounge area. I would return here time and again. I found this hotel on a coupon, but will be a customer for life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are looking for a short stay and want to be near Union Square, shopping, etc. this is a great option. Rooms are extremely small however still well equipped. Loved the quirky nature of the hotel and authentic features that appear everyeher from the lobby to the rooms themselves. Great value for money compared to some of the chain hotels around. The common areas are beautifully kept. No restaurant but the diner next door is a great option for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.