We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Not For Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location Not For Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been to SF before and stayed in a different area. Because there is alot of shopping I thought this would be a great location to stay at. Here are my thoughts:

HOTEL IS GREAT IF:
- You are staying alone or are a couple that plan to sightsee and not spend time in the hotel.
- You like shopping, being close to many things like restaurants and urban city life.
- You do not require alot of space, but only a bed to sleep in.
- You are not super tall or claustrophobic.
- You have a small-medium dog.

NOT GREAT IF:
- You have a family or require significant amount of space. Rooms are clean but very small. It gets the job done.
- You do not like seeing or being around homeless/ druggies. I live in NYC so I am very familiar with city living but I had an unpleasant experience at the Walgreens (at the corner of hotel) with a homeless/crazy guy who threw something at me.
- You like to work out. There is no gym and I had to pay $15 (discounted rate) a day to go around the corner to use Club One. You can always jog as long as the weather is nice but for a good workout you spend more money.

Overall location really is great (homeless people aside). Hotel is very convenient with a Loris Diner at the corner, but walk 2 blocks and go eat at Honey Honey Crepes...delicious! Saks, Nordstrom, Macy's, and just about every type of store you can think of is within 2-6 blocks away. There is a 7-eleven across the street and a beer/liquor store just 2 stores down. Chinatown is within walking distance as well. Hotel has no restaurant but you can order in from a number of places.

I'd say that if you have never been to SF, you may be better off staying at a less "urban" area as it may scare you a bit. Fisherman's Wharf area is the most touristy and feels a little safer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower/tub combo. My tub although not big was deep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    99
    50
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
83
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites, which was enormous. The bathroom was bigger than some of the other rooms in this charming hotel. There were a few unwelcome quirks, with both of the televisions malfunctioning (and a surprisingly limited number of channels for any tv watchers out there). The former bar is missed - a quiet drink by the fireplace was always enjoyed. And, it would be a nice touch to have coffee available at all times, rather than the few hours in the morning. But, the cheerful staff, especially Lillian, cannot be beat. The location is perfect, a block or two away from the craziness of the Square but close enough to all modes of transportation, and easy access to cabs. Our son had a neighboring room, which was tiny but had the same quality of comfortable bed and pillows. While not a steal, this is a reasonable alternative to the large chains and provides a bit of the renown SF charm and history.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed two night Jan 28,29 2013 nice and clean, staff very friendly, Richard the doorman was excellent, as stated rooms are small but cute and comfy. Location could not be beat, Would stay here anytime and recommend it highly watch for deals on travelzoo we got our room for 109 a night , for San Francisco great price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Dwilsons5,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The entire team appreciated your comments regarding the comfy rooms and Richard was thrilled to get his name mentioned.

I am glad the Travelzoo promo worked out. We plan on running another Travelzoo promo towards the end of the year. If you get the itch to travel to San Francisco sooner, like us on Facebook and keep an eye on our website for other great deals.

Cheers,
Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times when staying in SF for a quick getaway. The 1st 2 times, the rooms, although very small, suited our purpose, especially since it's located very near the theater district and the beautiful shopping area of Union Square. It was great to be able to go downstairs to an adjoining room in the morning and have a nicely prepared continental breakfast assorted teas and coffee. Since our last visit they have done away with the breakfast and raised the room prices. This last time we visited, we got a room at the far end of a long, dark,narrow hall with a view of an alley. The bathroom was so small that you could use the toilet and brush your teeth at the same time. The king-sized bed was far too soft and had seen better days as I kept rolling into a 'rut' spot. They had also changed the former quality of the toiletries. The brand that was provided this time was much cheaper. I think our next visit to Union Square will be at the Palace Hotel. Same price range but much higher quality and standards. The Cartwright looks beautiful from the lobby, so it's very deceiving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the rate we had was good, but the best part was how quiet this hotel was at night. Easy to sleep. And although the hotel could be modernized, and there was a small problem with the sink backing up during the night, I would still stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back of the hotel for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear EastwestUSA,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the slight problem with your sink, but I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Although we are located in the heart of San Francisco, we are just off the beaten path enough to avoid some of the typical city congestion and noise. For those light sleepers we do have sleep kits available, however, the tip about rooms in the back is spot on.

We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco. Keep an eye on our website or like us on Facebook for great deals and packages.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Im not sure why this is a "boutique" hotel. Tiny rooms? Complimentary shampoo bottles that look more unique than Marriott brand? Cheesy wallpaper borders in the rooms? Don't get me wrong, the staff was nice (maybe slightly misinformed if your using a wotif voucher) and the bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and the lobby pleasant enough.... But our room was DOUBLE the price of a slightly nicer hotel that is a block and a half away with larger more tasteful rooms. They use the SAME parking lot. If I'm paying for a room, I am not going back here. Maybe if you're a tourist and don't know better, go here so you don't have to walk one extra block uphill from the BART station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear CynCuidad,

Thank you for your review and questions. I realize the term “boutique” has taken on a life of its own over the last few years. We look at the quintessential San Francisco boutique experience as one that brings back a little San Francisco history. Our building is 100 years old and the floor plan has remained pretty much intact. Many of our rooms are on the smaller side, but have maintained the charm of simpler times. We want our guests to enjoy an intimate hotel experience that larger box hotels can’t provide. Before you even step foot into the lobby you hear the sounds of Tony Bennett or Frank Sinatra. You are greeted with a comfortable and inviting lobby and a cozy fireplace where you can relax with a book or play board games. The staff thinks of you as a guest in their house, not a visitor to their place of employment. We provide you with necessary amenities, a quality bath and body product, plus free reliable wireless. We strive to provide you with a great nights rest in one of the most sought after locations in the world.

We typically price ourselves in line with similar boutique hotels and have great offers on our website or Facebook page. Hopefully you will find a great rate in the future that just might bring you back.

Yours in hospitality,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Professional, responsive staff and premium access to Union Square. The hotel was used for a business trip around conference in Union Square and worked out very well for us and our clients. Booking team was easy to work with and delivered on all that was offered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Anonymous0003,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The entire team was pleased to read all went well with your conference. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.