We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartwright Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Cartwright Union Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“No Complaints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Before I booked this hotel, I read through the reviews and I have to say some of you made me laugh!!! Here is the deal with the Larkspur...Yes, the rooms are small but they are no smaller than most NYC apartments, at least the one I live in! haha. We stayed just for one night in late October 2012. For one night or a weekend, this place is fine. Only good for individuals or couples and defintely not for families because of the size.
The room/bathroom were clean and the bed was very comfortable with nice sheets. The location cannot be beat, as it is right in Union Square! We arrived a bit early and the staff placed our bags in a locked room. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The lobby was lovely and had an old charm about it.
Overall, this is a nice, old but charming, no frills hotel that is good for a couple of days in the beautiful bay city. I liked this hotel and would be open to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHUSmanager, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sarc1,

Thank you for taking the time to write an extremely fair review. Everything you said is right to the point an accurate. We pride ourselves in being authentic and transparent and you truly captured that in your review. We want to make sure each of our guests get a clean room and friendly service. We may not wow you with our rooms, but we know we are going to wow you with our location.

Please come visit us again. If you have a moment we would appreciate it if you like us on Facebook.

Sincerely,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    95
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
19
82
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There was a big conference on in town & this was one of the few hotels available within a couple of weeks notice of my trip.

The location is great, 2 minutes from Union Square, lots of shops, restaurants and an easy hop onto the cable car down to Fishermans Wharf. The staff were also great, super friendly & helpful - really couldn't do enough for you. There is also free WiFi which is a bonus.

I was however, disappointed with the room. It is small & outdated, the bathroom requires renovation & there is no way I would of used the bath. I do appreciate that this is an old building & there is sometimes only so much you can do without having to sink in massive investment.

Overall staff were great, great location, comfy bed & clean rooms but because of the dated decor I would say it was just average - a great base for a break but not for business if you intend at all to work in the room as you dont want to stay in there for long!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHUSmanager, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear jo_hearts_holidays.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the balance and honesty in your review. Like many of the boutique hotels in San Francisco our rooms are smaller due to our preservation of the hotels original floor plan. We offset the size of our rooms with an amazing location and service that “can’t do enough for you.” We take pride in offering a clean product and convenient amenities such as free reliable Wi-Fi.

With a new ownership group in place one of our main strategies is to renovate our rooms to make them more business friendly. We already have public space that is conducive to the business traveler, now we need to fine tune our rooms.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had attempted to stay at this property in April, but had issues receiving confirmation from the property about my best rate guarantee claim. In the end i reached out to the GM and as a goodwill gesture offered to honor the rate for a future stay during a similar peak season. I was able to book November veterans day weekend and had a wonderful stay. The front desk was very helpful in getting me checked in around 9am, which was awesome! The room though small is definitely enough space for 2 people, besides who goes to San Francisco to stay in their room all day?
Cons: The hotel recently changed names/operations to the Cartwright, this was not something I was notified of ahead of time. Not really a big deal other than the fact the property was no longer a part of Stash rewards program, so I lost out on some points there. There was a lot of signage for Larkspur Union square hotel everywhere on site and there were still a lot of picture frames with the stash rewards program benefits listed.
Finally at check in as I reviewed my folio I noticed that there had been a parking charge listed. Perculiar as there was no car on site. I mentioned this to the male at the front desk but he claimed that he had taken it off. Being a math maor I knew the total was still incorrect and I stated this to the gentleman but he continued to argue with me that he had adjusted the amount. I then asked him to take out a calculator which he refused to do so it was not untilI we had another staff member come by and she pointed out to him that he had not made the correction.

Room Tip: Room 501 serviced us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHUSmanager, General Manager at Hotel Cartwright Union Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Umailop,

Sorry for the delay in acknowledging your review. I truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad we were able to come to an understanding and honor the “Best Rate” program. Thank you for mentioning the efforts of the front desk to get you into your room early.

I apologize for the inconvenience regarding our name change. We sold on October 31st and had not converted much of the signage. A major portion of that has now been rectified. We are also very close to signing back on with Stash Rewards.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco and earning that five. Keep an eye on our Facebook page and website for updates on packages or events.

Sincerely,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartwright Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartwright Union Square

Address: 524 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Larkspur Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartwright Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cartwright Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartwright Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.