We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but hotel is nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Andrews Hotel to your Saves list
Andrews Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, but hotel is nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is hard to find an inexpensive hotel in San Fransisco. But compared to other hotels Andrews Hotel is not on the expensive side.
The most positive about this hotel is the position. Just one block from Union Square.
The room itself was charming, but not especially comfortable. The building was from 1905, and the installations probably of the same age. The room was small and there was barely room enough for the king bed. (I had booked a suite, but got only a king room, but I won't blame Andrews Hotel for this; it was booked through 3rd party, and I suppose the error lies here).
The internet would only work in one corner of the room.
The bathroom was very small.
The hotel offers expensive valet parking, but it won't be much cheaper if you park yourself.
Breakfast was included. It consisted of very good French bakery, mini baguettes, croissants etc. But nothing else. So it could not keep you going for too long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    236
    76
    35
    14
See reviews for
36
216
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel room had old furniture and accessories. I would recommend purchasing new bed spreads, blinds, bed frame and paint the room white (it will make the room feel larger). The bathrooms are very small (but clean) if you were a bigger person you would struggle. The location is fabulous approx 5 mins from Union Square. San Fran is very expensive and this hotel was great for the price. Free wifi was very usefull.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Andrews hotel in July and had the worst hotel experience of my life. The hotel is old, dirty, smelly, and overpriced. The rooms had moldy green carpet and the tile in the bathroom had dirt caked in between each square. The hotel was also extremely noisy and the walls were paper thin.

Additionally, I had a very bizarre interaction with the older blonde lady who worked the front desk. After coming back from breakfast my key was not working, so I went downstairs to get a new one. (A common problem after reading other reviews on trip advisor). The lady said that the key probably thought I was already checked out. I said, "well, I was actually wasn't working last night as well." She asked if they issued me a new key last night. I said, " no, it took about 17 tries but I finally got it. I didn't have time to mess around with it again this morning." Her response was "well then the key did work now didn't it." I responded by saying that 1 for 17 tries with a key are not good odds. Her response..."life isn't fair." Although I'm obviously angry at this point, I bite my tongue and wait for my new key. When she hands it to me, I smile and walk back upstairs. She shouts after me and yells, "um, you're welcome." At this point, I calmly remind her that she is the one in the customer service industry and to act like it.

All she had to do was apologize for the inconvenience. Instead, she tried to pick a fight with a customer.

Save yourself. The rooms are gross, the staff is rude and incompetent, and I felt very unsafe the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The service we received when we first arrived at the hotel was excellent. The gentleman was very friendly and welcoming, and told us all we needed to know. The room was fairly small and the decor was slightly outdated, however we still found this to be a lovely hotel. The room had a TV and WiFi, and a ceiling fan. The ceiling fan suited us fine and we didn't feel the need for air conditioning, however the fan was quite noisy at night and took a bit of getting used to. One of our favourite things about this hotel was waking up to a complimentary breakfast laid out on the landing every morning. Breakfast consisted of orange juice/tea/coffee, fruit and a selection of pastries.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Union Square and has good transport links, however we had a couple of uncomfortable walks through the Tenderloin - an area of San Francisco with high levels of crime. Saying this, we never saw any trouble in this area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a lovely old building with character and style.The location was perfect for first time visitors to San Francisco easy walking distance to union square and all transport if you don't feel like walking. The room was fine beds very comfortable, faced the street so some late night noise for about 20 minutes as clubs closed, no internal noise The staff were very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Breakfast is basic but for a few days is fine. the lobby has hot and cold beverages available all day which is a nice touch. The adjoining restaurant is a must but do book as it is very popular.

Room Tip: suggest a room not facing the street if you are worried about night street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice while on business in San Francisco and this is a great hotel for my needs. The rooms are small, but that's all I need. The Andrews is a very affordable hotel in the heart of the city, and easy walk to Union Square, Chinatown, and the business district. Half the price of most of the downtown hotels, but definitely not half the quality if you ask me. There is a light array of fruits and bread available in the morning in the hallways of each floor, dependable and fast wifi, and very comfortable and clean rooms. Not to mention friendly and helpful staff. Everything I need while traveling alone on business, I will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in june 2013 .Picked this hotel for price and location so we were surprised with what we got although we may have had one of the smallest rooms there it was cosy. breakfast on the landing was almost breakfast in bed great touch. although no tea and coffee in rooms it was provided in the lobby which you could take to your room. Room was very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful would stay here again but in a larger room. Never tried the restuarant .but it was full every night the meals looked lovely so from that i would say it was good we wish we had tried it. Great start to our first holiday in america.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.