We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andrews Hotel to your Saves list
Andrews Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A small boutique hotel centrally located near Union Square. The rooms are small but have high ceilings with a fan. We had twin beds which was a unique experience, but not a problem.
The bath room is tiny! but clean. The breakfast, fresh baked breads, rolls and real OJ, was served just outside our door. It's served like that on every floor. The front desk staff was very helpful. Not the most comfortable hotel we've stayed in, but really nice for an older, smaller hotel in the middle of a big town. Our fellow guests were from France, Germany, Spain and
several other countries. Very interesting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    226
    71
    32
    15
See reviews for
35
209
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent hotel at a very good location not far from market st and the centre of San Francisco. The on site restaurant was excellent but reservations need to be made in advance since it is popular with non-residents. Helpful staff who can provide lots of useful information on local places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Hess, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ok for its 2.5 stars rating. Stay there if you only plan to get to the hotel for sleeping.
Location: centrally located, not pleasant to talk around at night, though.
Room: small, but ok. Clean, but very old carpets.
Bathroom: the main downside. Ridiculously small.
Heating: turned on upon request. I didn’t see an air-condition.
Breakfast: on each floor. Basic.
WiFi/Internet: free and working well
Dining: let’s of options around, plus Fino (Italian) at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have just spent four nights at the Andrews Hotel. We had read the reviews before we booked so knew the hotel was on the older side. For us, this was one of its attractions, others being its excellent location and the fact that we could walk to most places. The room was small but we had a large cupboard under the stairs that we could store our belongings in and also use as a changing room if we needed too. There was a shower over the bath and the bathroom was of reasonable size. We managed to sleep fine with the fan noise although we were on the road side and on the Saturday night it was very noisy until 3 am. Cheerful reception staff, free wifi and free evening glass of wine combined with the rest make it a hotel that we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

It's a very old and tired hotel but this is not what it bothered us the most. The shower is tiny and the shower head is extremely down, my husband had to almost kneel down to have a proper hair wash, really unacceptable. Also, the fan is really noisy so if you stay in summer get a pair of ear plugs or be prepared to get hot nights. The continental breakfast is in each floor so you need to take your breakfast in your room with no option. I found the bed comfortable but very hard pillows. Overall was ok but I wouldn't stay here again until they change the shower heads for normal size people.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Andrews for two nights in March, and I amazed that people actually rate this hotel as high as they do. This is obviously a very old hotel as the info sheet in the elevator describes it's history thru the decades...Yes, it's inexpensive, and yes it's in a pretty good location, but I was bitterly disappointed when I saw the room. Probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with an ancient bare bones bathroom. The tv was an antique dvd/15"flatscreen..by far the tiniest tv I have ever seen in a hotel room. The room was quite warm, with no thermostat control, just a ceiling fan that kept me awake...There has to be better options out there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Andrews. - It was at a great location (very close to union square and the cable cars/bart). The hotel is very old fashioned and our room had a very old feel to it. Iv'e seen that a lot of people have complained about the size of the bathroom - Ours was quite small - but the sink was a part of the room so we had more space in the bathroom. There is a continental breakfast served outside in the hall every morning - don't expect a lot of choice - but handy for those who are on a budget. We usually took fruit out with us as well. The Wi-Fi and coffee machine in the reception was very handy. Most of the staff were very lovely... there was an older male receptionist who was great - but the tall younger male receptionist is very patronising and didn't even lift his head to greet us when we arrived.

I would definitely stay here again due to the location - Ask for room 705 as there was no issues with noise etc.

Room Tip: 705 was a great and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Andrews Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.