We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrews Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andrews Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Andrews. - It was at a great location (very close to union square and the cable cars/bart). The hotel is very old fashioned and our room had a very old feel to it. Iv'e seen that a lot of people have complained about the size of the bathroom - Ours was quite small - but the sink was a part of the room so we had more space in the bathroom. There is a continental breakfast served outside in the hall every morning - don't expect a lot of choice - but handy for those who are on a budget. We usually took fruit out with us as well. The Wi-Fi and coffee machine in the reception was very handy. Most of the staff were very lovely... there was an older male receptionist who was great - but the tall younger male receptionist is very patronising and didn't even lift his head to greet us when we arrived.

I would definitely stay here again due to the location - Ask for room 705 as there was no issues with noise etc.

Room Tip: 705 was a great and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    228
    67
    30
    16
See reviews for
32
201
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Andrews hotel whilst visiting San Fran and picked it due to its location and reasonable price compared to other hotels in the area.

I would agree with a below reviewer about wanting to give the hotel 3.5 stars for our stay. The hotel was quite old, which gave it a certain charm and atmosphere to it. The lift was over 100years old! However, there were a few fixtures and fittings that could be updated slightly (such as the wiring, double glazing etc.) and it was a little noisy. However, I can appreciate it benefits such as a great location and tasty breakfast being included. I would also definitely recommend the Fino restaurant attached to the hotel. We visited twice it was so good!

We really enjoyed our stay and wish we'd had a little longer in SF!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

On my first visit to San Francisco I wanted to stay "in the city" but didn't want to pay city prices considering that I planned to spend most days out sightseeing. The Andrews Hotel delivered on what it advertised: good location at a decent price, easy in and out - we did have a car on this trip - and just very convenient. It has "old world" charm. Like another reviewer we enjoyed slipping out to the hallway for that first cup of coffee without having to be fully awake or dressed for that matter!
We found our room to be acceptable although yes, it was noisy! We had a room right on the street but with earplugs we had no problem sleeping.
We enjoyed the location as we could walk almost anywhere. The restaurant inside the hotel was perfect after a long day of walking and "hiking the hills" of SF. We definitely will return to SF and would consider the Andrews again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just yards from Union Square. It is pretty old fashioned and has a nice ambience. We loved the old lift and the teas, coffees and water available in the reception area. Having continental breakfast available on each floor is a good idea. The complimentary glass of wine from Fino restaurant was a nice touch and the bar staff in Fino were very friendly.
The room was quite small but the bed was large, comfortable and clean. Just one gripe really, and that was in the (tiny) bathroom where the sink was badly cracked and chipped - a cracked sink does not a boutique hotel make! Please sort that - it is very off putting. So, all in all a pretty good hotel, good location and comfortable bed but maybe in need of some refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Andrews. We had hoped to spend it at the Chancellor (see the reviews there), but could not get them on consecutive nights. So, based on TA reviews we chose The Andrews.

First, the good news: the continental breakfast pastries are superb. Seriously, the pastries are holy-moly good. The location is within a few blocks of Union Square. The rates are very reasonable. Plus, you get a free glass (of quite good wine, BTW) each night. So, what's not to like?

Well, first of all, the noise from a nearby nightclub/restaurant nearby will keep anyone up, even if they're not a light sleeper. People stagger out for a smoke, well liquored-up, and converse at the top of their lungs. Then, in the early AM, the garbage scows troll by with all sorts of racket.

The rooms are very small (and we opted for the "comfortable queen"). In chatting with one of the guests over the free glass of wine, we discovered we were lucky....her room was even smaller. Lastly, we were there in February, and the room was HOT. We opened both of the available windows (one in the bath, the other in the main sleeping area) and it kept the room tolerable, at best. Importantly, there is no air conditioning in the rooms; heaven knows how hot it must get in the summer. Our room was also dimly lit.

The hotel is in bad need of an update. The carpeting in the halls is well-worn and well-stained. The appointments in the rooms are sorely dated, and not well-suited to 21st travelers. The shaker-style desks are super-small with barely enough room for one laptop, and lack adequate outlets (we ended up unplugging the DVD player, to snag another port), and the Wi-Fi is problematic at best.

It's certainly not a flea bag, and it does have its merits. Plus, its restaurant, Fino, is superb. But it's still not as good as other options nearby. If you go into your reservation knowing its limitations, you won't be disappointed. If you expect it to be as good as others in the area,well, you will be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not have a window facing out toward the "The Colonial" restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Andrews Hotel for a few days in February 2013. I have to say, on arrival the hotel is charming, vintage and unique. There was a table with water and coffee and a small check-in desk. The woman at the front when I arrived was great! I arrived early (check in at 3, I arrived at 11), and asked if i could leave my luggage at the desk. She checked to see if the room was clean, and said I might even be able to check-in early. Sure enough it was... "clean."On that note... I don't know if "clean" was really "clean." I'll touch on this later.

The room was no-frills, decor was dated, borderline creepy. The light switched buzzed, lights flickered on... like an old motel room. The bathroom was small, the toilet almost sat beneath the sink. I'm tall and my legs almost hit the piping under the porcelain sink. Shower didn't have a bath, but the water pressure was nice..... The draining.... WAS NOT. The sink would fill with water to the point where it almost spilled over.... showers were quick.

The bed was ok, the alarm clock didn't go off, and the carpet was dirty. There were socks that weren't mine, dust bunnies and although the house keeper was charming... she could have done a better job... OR the room shouldn't have been made available... although VERY courteous, it's still poor customer service to open a dirty room.

Still... I decided to give it a chance, after all the location was great.... besides the bordering Tenderloin district.... where I didn't feel to safe walking through to the MUNI.... and the loud guests behind the building SCREAMING and YELLING like drunken idiots on a Wednesday and Thursday night (Can just imagine a weekend). The room is close to a hub of transit. I Personally did NOT like Union Square... It was very commercial, I walked through it stopped at the diesel store and went on my way..... nothing interesting.

Would I stay here again? Maybe.... It'd be out of curiosity though.... to see if the experience was simply a fluke. The hotel is charming, from the elevator to the wonderful breakfast spread... The staff was mostly great... Wish i had names... all but one lady (who I actually think may have been the owner or manager.... she was very condescending).

All in all, if you can get the room for a discount... book... upon arrival check the cleanliness. Stay out of the tenderloin, and don't expect a quite sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building have noise from screaming drunks... No joke. Rooms in the front ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naharia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are a senior couple visiting the city for 2 days.
The location is excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There is a lift to help with the luggage.
The hotel is very clean and pretty with an antique atmosphere.
The only drawback was the breakfast served at the corridor, you need to carry what you choose to your room and there is not enough space to eat comfortably at the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Andrews Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.