We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrews Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andrews Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco
1 review
“Holiday trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First visit to SF. Hotel was good value with helpful staff especially with arranging trips,shuttle etc. Particularly liked complimentary breakfast - and glass of wine! Room adequate and more character than bigger chains. Would visit again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    221
    65
    30
    15
See reviews for
32
202
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Andrews is just two blocks from Union Square (uphill, though), so location is not a problem. Haven't had issues with the size of the room (a bit small sized, but not tiny). Staff was ok but not particularly friendly. Breakfast included is also a plus, even though lacks variety.

Lack of A/C wasn't a problem as well. Room was very clean, no complaints about that. Only problem we had was related to street noise at night.

I'd surely be back if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The wife and I stayed at this hotel in August 2012. We really enjoyed our stay while we were here. The building itself was erected in 1905 (obviously remodeled since) which gives it some of that historic charm. The hotel is clean and our rooms were cleaned everyday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the fact that our continental breakfast was served on our floor so it was a quick walk to grab my coffee, fruit and pastry and back to my room.

The location is about 2 blocks from Powell street and 6 blocks from some good shopping and the BART/metro.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading off to our next stop. It was the end of June (2011), so it was very warm. We immediately turned on our ceiling fan to cool the room down, but it was broken. With no a/c, this was definitely an issue! The front desk sent someone up (it took about 20 minutes) to look at it, but it was unfixable and we had to be moved to another room.

It was very loud in the streets outside of the hotel, which is to be expected in the middle of a city. However, with no air conditioning we had no choice but to keep the window open all night. It was a no-win situation: poor sleep due to heat or poor sleep due to noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is the ideal location for touring around San Fran. The hotel was charming and clean. The rooms were small but the amenities such as the amazing Fino restaurant that provided complementary wine every evening and the stellar bfast place honey honey across the street made our experience awesome!! We would definitely stay here again! It was very close to the muni system and the cable cars, which allowed us to travel with ease to all the places we wanted to go in San Fran!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgehampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Weather was cool so no ac definatly not a problem. Room was very small and kind of felt grubby. Bathroom was very tiny and the light switch was located in the shower which freaked my husband (a contractor) out! Most of the front guest staff were very friendly and helpful, one guy was a little snotty and never looked up as you walked by. The elevator was small and should be only taken up, take the stairs down, its much more fun! Enjoyed the buffet each morning, although not the healthiest choices, it saved us having to get dressed and search for coffee outside, plus they provided trays for carrying extra cups (and real cups not paper). I bring my own pillowcases with me always and a pair of flip flops for walking around the room and Im glad I did. Can't fault the location, close to everything, even our car rental pick-up was only 2 blocks away! Price wasn't bad either for San Fran. Did notice it was a bit noisy outside in the alley, but I also bring ear-plugs with me which helped. We generally don't get house-keeping as I don't like people coming into our room for security reasons, but they were very kind in checking each day by slipping a note under our door and offering fresh towels which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Poorly operated and maintained. Mostly sympathetic staff seems hamstrung by a management/operator demonstrably unwilling to invest in badly needed repairs and improvements. Things don't work. Things need fixing or replacement. Pillow cases had synthetic fabric that felt like rubber. Rooms that would embarrass many similarly priced hotels are nevertheless offered to guests without hesitation or apology. This property is perfect for travelers who think cost trumps function and appearance.

Room Tip: Avoid any room facing Post St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Andrews Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.