We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, but you get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Hostel to your Saves list
Adelaide Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value, but you get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Adelaide for a week in Sept. We had a private room and bath. Be forewarned that the bed is a double, although we didn't have any trouble sleeping--it was quite comfy other than size. It's a bare-bones room. A bed, a nightstand, a dresser, and a safe (you have to supply the batteries.) I was quite disappointed after a long day of traveling not to have a TV to crash in front of, but I survived.
There are 5 computers with free internet that guests are free to use, though they are often occupied. We brought our laptop and had no trouble connecting to the network.
The bathroom was a fair size with a tile shower. It served us well, but I have to mention that the tile was coming up in some spots and stepping on chipped grout in the middle of the night is not fun. We also killed a handful of roaches.
Breakfast consisted of carbs--bagels, toast, english muffins, croissants--with various toppings--jam, butter, nutella, peanut butter.
We paid $100 a person for the room.
The location was the best part. It's within easy walking distance to the shopping on Market Street and other attractions in Union Square.
I would stay at the Adelaide again. Having to deal with the downfalls is certainly worth it considering it saved us hundreds of dollars to be able to spend having fun in the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    129
    58
    29
    37
See reviews for
13
60
174
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hostel was recommended to me by a friend. The common area is lovely but other than that we didn't have a good experience; We booked a room in the hostel but was sent to their "other building" which is in fact a different hotel, a block away. Therefore we couldn't really enjoy the "hostel" atmosphere because we were in a completely different building.
The room which we got was old and had dirty sheet (which were replaced after we complained).
The girls in the reception told us that there was no available room in the main building but this was not true. Only after we decided to leave the place after one night (instead of 3) they suddenly found a place for us in the main building.
They should tell people exactly what they are getting, because if you book Adelaide Hostel you do not want to stay in Dakota Hotel (the other building which we've been sent to).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is a great place if you.re looking for a very community-driven hostel with many opportunities to meet people through the many organized activities and intimate common areas. I almost felt like I was invading because it seemed that everyone knew each other very well. Also there was GREAT free breakfast, though very carb heavy. The common areas are very clean and relaxing and the place definitely has character.
The cons of this place is that it is SUPER-cramped. It's pushing it staying in a room of 6 people, it's hardly big enough to store just the luggage, let alone people. The bathrooms and showers, though clean, were hardly available. The free wifi was super slow, the computers always occupied, and the common areas were PACKED at all times. There was no AC and the rooms got incredibly hot and I ended up contracting a horrible cold of which all my other roommates had as well and I left early.

My experience wasn't the best but I still think it's a great place for young warrior-types looking to meet people and just needed a place to crash in NYC. Beware, a couple of people I met did get bed bugs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer space
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

The dorms are ok, nothing fancy but what could you expect? No towel incluced in the stay, bring your own, but clean linen. Very helpful staff. Open 24/7. Free internet, both lots of computers as well as wifi. Computers keyboards and mouses are not very clean, should really be cleaned now and then. Location is good, almost in the center of San Francisco, walking distance to many places worth seeing. Breakfast is not so fantastic for me as scandinavian, lots of different breads, marmelades, jams and peanutbutter, coffee and tea. Worth the money, but not much more. I could perhaps stay there again if I have a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Great location. Is genuinely easy walk to Union Square. Close also to China Town and Italian District. Helpful staff - nothing a problem. Rooms very clean and a good size.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

After having spent an amazing two weeks travelling around California and after having stayed in excellent low budget accommodation along the way we were extremely disappointed with the Adelaide hostel. Having read all the reviews on Trip advisor we thought we had picked the perfect place to stay! Originally we had 5 nights booked in a female dorm but extended it to six as we knew we'd find loads to do in San Francisco. On check in we were sent to the Dakota hotel which seems to be a sister hotel of the Adelaide and were given a double bed in a twin room instead of our dorm beds. We had to share the double bed and were told there would be other people sharing the other double bed. Later that night a male entered our 'dorm' having being told that was also his dorm. There were no beds left that night and we were all uncomfortable about the situation. He was finally assigned another room and at some stage in the middle of the night another girl was checked into our 'dorm'. Had there not been two friends travelling I am almost certain we would have been expected to share a double bed with strangers whether they be male or female!! Besides the disastrous sleeping arrangements the room had not been fully cleaned after the previous guests and the bathroom was filthy. The linen was not clean and we were convinced there were bed bugs and so did not sleep well at all. The room was located on the main road above a set of traffic lights and the noise was enough to keep anyone awake. The staff were unfriendly and did nothing when we discussed the sleeping arrangements. Following this first night we propmtly cancelled our following five nights and found a lovely low budget hotel for the same price we would have paid for the hostel!! The Adelaide hostel may have been better than the Dakota Hotel btu we didn't wait around to find out!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medvode
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Nice accomodation in city center. Rooms are clean despite not very roomy. Staff is kind and willing to help. I think it is a good price permormance choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.