We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and hassle free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Save Saved
You added Adelaide Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adelaide Hostel
5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homely and hassle free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent a wonderful 3 weeks at the Adelaide hostel and enjoyed my stay so much I even returned for a second visit. PJ and his friendly staff are happy to help with any requests and the hostel's central location nestled in a little alleyway off the main drag are as much as you could ever hope for.

Free breakfasts are pretty good and the bunks in most rooms are spacious and private.

I'd happily recommend the hostel to any friends or family visiting SF in the future.

Room Tip: Golden Gates room in the basement is well placed for kitchen and veranda plus its a little cooler wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re glad you liked it so much you came back- it’s the kind of place which makes a lot of people become regulars, and part of the Adelaide family! PJ is always working hard to make it a special place to stay. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    92
    46
    23
    30
See reviews for
11
50
112
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The value for money is normal, I paid about 28 dollars per night on average including taxes. Breakfast is plentiful, coffee or tea, bagels, cream cheese, jam, a small bowl of fresh fruit. The kitchen is well equipped, although I recommend extending the time to cook at night. The rooms are comfortable, well distributed, clean sheets. No towels supplied, changed my original room because was in repair during that week. Front desk staff is usually attentive, not so the night staff. It has an atm machine in the main room, comfortable armchairs and tables, three desktop computers that work well without virus. If I return to San Francisco, it's probably me staying in this hostel again. Wifi service works very well overall including rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The style inside really fits in with what you'd expect of San Fran - and in an awesome historical lane too. Location was incredible - we walked almost everywhere, plus it was close to F-train, buses, cable cars and metro. Bars/restaurants etc all nearby too.
Staff were incredibly friendly and their daily breakfast is delicious and extremely generous!
Activities planned are great, especially the Wild SF walking tour!! But also nighttime activities - great for those wanting to meet people and on a budget.
Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you! We’re glad you got to enjoy the activities and the Wild SF walking tour! We try to offer as many free and fun things to do as possible so everyone can enjoy the city and meet new people regardless of budget! Come see us again the next time you’re in the Bay area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights here, we had a nice and clean private bedroom with our own bathroom , very quite even if it was near the hall. No place to hang cloths.The staff is friendly. Abundant breakfast. The location is excellent, but the parking nearby was extremely expensive. Anyway, best hostel we've ever been, we definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've stayed at Countless hostels and this is the best one I've been to in the U.S. Apart from the fact it is centrally located, it is also easy to get to from the airport. The staff are the biggest plus and create a fun atmosphere. What makes this place stick out is the activities that the hostel runs which are great and better still free! It means that single travellers such as myself get a chance to talk to other travellers instead of the usual situation where you have a room full of people all staring into their Ipad/Phones. Good Breakfast and rooms are clean and spacious. I hope to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you Sharon! We do try to make sure we are keeping a fun atmosphere, and one where you can get to know new people through the different activities we offer! We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a few hostels along the west coast and this was by far the best. Great location, well priced, but most importantly, great staff who put in a lot of work to look after guests and maintain a comfortable atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Adelaide is very centrally located. The staff are friendly and keep the building clean. I enjoyed the breakfast as well as the evening activities. There is a nice vibe. You can work in silence or chat with people. Lots of bathrooms. I liked the bunk bed setup. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much Mike! We recently upgraded our bunks and we’re glad you enjoyed them! Come and see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.