We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised, you cannot beat this place with a stick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Hostel to your Saves list
Adelaide Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Suzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As advertised, you cannot beat this place with a stick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The places is operated by a pleasant Irish man. The food offered in the morning is great, plentiful, and healthy.

The atmosphere where their lobby is is spectacular. I have stayed in hostels all over the Far East, but this was my first time to do so in the States, and I wasn't disappointed at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    128
    58
    29
    37
See reviews for
13
60
173
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are looking for a hostel i San Fran, go here. I have been travelling for tre months alone all over north/ south america, and stayed in many hostelst, but this one was really great! I went to all the big hostels the first week here, and i could say that this is really the best. This one is smaller, but has more atmosphere, is has a nice staff, nice cosy kitchen, and a perfect location downtown. The rooms were tidy and the bathrooms were clean! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 3 great nights there in january 2013! The location is perfect, near Union Square and the metro & bart station. The rooms are ok and the lobby as well. The kitchen is a really good to place to socialize, having a drink before going out, for the pub crawl organized by the hostel for example. The hostel also organizes some walking tour with locals (it's "free" but you have to tip) which are really great. Property is ok for an hostel and the breakfast is good.
I had great time there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great place! I stayed in a private room, in a separate building, but only metres from the main hostel. The room had lovely furnishings and was serviced every day, and the free breakfast was amazing! Superb location, 2 blocks from Union Square. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent two nights here during January 2013 and found the place to be generally a good stay if you're into staying in hostels. We stayed in the privete room which was very basic as expected. Not well cleaned, lacked effort but not horrifying. Only real complaint was the shower that felt like you were being pissed on. Common room was excellent. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were generally good except for one cranky lady who greeted us. Would stay there again, it was a pleasant stay and within walking distance of everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a private room with private bath in Jan. 2013 and enjoyed our stay there very much. Highlights included a hot breakfast with fresh fruit, free internet with plenty of computers available and a laid-back and very friendly vibe. Though we are middle aged college professors and older than most of the residents, we found everyone to be very approachable and helpful. Rooms are pretty basic but clean and the beds are comfortable. We had a room in the hostel itself but were never bothered by noise after hours. Every night there are activities organized and on some mornings there is also a free walking tour. We never visited the dorm part of the building, but other residents had good things to say about it, especially for the price. Long live the Adelaide!

Room Tip: Spring for the private room w/private bath. It's worth it. Also, book the shuttle from the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

woau!!! I recently stayed at adelaides hostel in Frisco. I have so many good things to say about this place that I dont know were to start but here it goes: it is clean, it is nice, the stuff is polite and efficient, the location is so great, many choices of rooms, free internet, good and cheap parking options. (16 dollars a day in Frisco is such a deal), great schudle service to airport, breakfast is so nice and abundant(on my last stay I had fruit, bread, coffee) This place is outstanding and recomend any body to stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Lane, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.