We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Jackson Court San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2198 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in 2012 October. We were in the blue room (#8). It was a large room, new flat screen TV, large closet with dresser and 2 racks for suitcases and lots of hanging space for clothes. Bed (queen) was comfy. Bath had a good size shower, no bathtub. It was the first time we had been to a B&B. The entrance and common areas were very nice, deep rich dark wood and the area (Pacific Height) is surrounded with million dollar homes. Just stunning. We decided to walk to Fishermans Warf upon arrival to see the neighbourhood and get a feel for the city. It was downhill and we strolled and took about 35-40 minutes. All downhill. Returning I would recommend the bus as uphill .Breakfast was a nice start to the day it included, juice, milk, toast, coffee, muffins, croissants, yougart, granola, cereal. Tea and cookies are served at 3:30. We really enjoyed having tea in the library. We did not have a vehicle and we purchased the City Pass (we were there for 5 days), which was an awesome deal. Bus drivers so friendly and helpful. Bus stops close by. Be adivsed that evening buses (the #10) only runs mon to fri until 7pm. So you will need to walk a few short blocks back to the B&B if your returning back after that time. There may have been another bus but were not aware of it. It was our first visit to San Francisco so took a bit to understand the bus system. We loved the location, residential but close walk to Union St and shopping, a good stroll to Pier 39 and the house is authentic. I would stay here again for sure. The staff friendly, helpful. It was very quiet in the home, we did meet a few of the quests in the common kitchen at breakfast. There are trays to take your breakfast back to your room if you choose. As a reminder, this is an old home so dont expect modern furnishings and everything with straight clean lines (although tv's are new flat screen), the orginal hardwood floors squeak but its solid. The only thing I would state as not a positive was the blue wallpaper in bathroom could use a change and thats me just being picky.

Room Tip: We peeked into a couple of the other rooms when empty and I noticed the blue room was larger, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This B&B is located in the beautiful neighbourhood of Pacific Heights, away from the busy tourist areas. Evelyn and staff are welcoming, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable (although our final night in a double room on 3rd floor was challenging - tiny double bed).The breakfast options were fine, and it's nice to have the option of taking breakfast to your room, or eating in kitchen, and meeting other guests. Nearby Fillmore St (walking distance) had many excellent restaurants, and is far removed from the usual tourist options. The only challenge is parking in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at this B & B only one night, but we wished we had stayed longer. We were warmly greeted by Evelyn who checked us in. She was very helpful in making some calls regarding bicycles rentals, as we wanted to ride across the G.G. Bridge. (which was a lot of fun!)
Our room was on the third floor, so we had to carry the suitcases up ourselves as there is no elevator. It was not a problem as we are both quite fit. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with many beautiful antique pieces.
The breakfast was adequate.....it was a self serve breakfast in a very small kitchen on the second floor. There was fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, toast/bagels, juices, yogurt, jams. It was enough to choose from, but if you're looking for a full breakfast with service, this is not the place.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Jackson Court at the end of August. We found the room (queen on the 3rd floor) to be spacious and very comfortable. We did not have a car but found the bus system close by (the cable car was a 8 block walk but also easy) and easy to navigate so there was no problem getting around. There are plenty of restaurants 3 blocks away on Fillmore street as well as a small market. Breakfast is definitely continental (croissants, toast, instant oatmeal, fruit salad, juice and coffee) but plenty to eat. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is located in a converted mansion in Pacific Heights and is far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the city, yet a short distance to all the attractions. Our room was located on the 2nd floor and had a queen bed, leather sofa, flat screen tv& bathroom with a small shower. We were within walking distance to shops & restaurants on Fillmore St or Union St. Public transportation was 2-3 blocks away. The hotel offers free continental breakfast & afternoon tea daily. The staff is very helpful regarding transportation, directions, & restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved the Jackson Court. It's a beautiful building, the room was lovely, the bed was really comfortable. The only drawback was the continental breakfast was unremarkable. No protein other than highly sugared Yoplait yogurt. (Hard-boiled eggs would have been great.) And the kitchen in which it is served is cramped. That said I would stay here again, and just make plans to supplement my breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The photos don't do it justice. This is a converted mansion not of the ostentatious type but with beautiful proportions, detail and grace. Two blocks from the heart of Fillmore. Wonderful people. Lovely.

Room Tip: All good. Facing the street might be best though one room at the rear of the house right off the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Court San Francisco

Address: 2198 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jackson Court San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in stately Pacific Heights, the Jackson Court is a magnificent brownstone mansion built in 1900. An arched entrance and flower-lined courtyard welcome you to the understated elegance and serenity of Jackson Court. Each of the ten guestrooms is individually decorated in a blend of antiques and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jackson Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Court San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Jackson Court Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.